Author Topic: HP1742A -no display-  (Read 1974 times)

Offline tankoid1742Topic starter

HP1742A -no display-
« on: July 15, 2021, 05:15:24 pm »
noob here, I followed a few threads for the 1742, 1741 and 1740, and instead of grafting onto existing ones here is the quest :

The unit is clean, it was given by a neighbor after he said that the trace disappeared one day.

Tested the LVPS, board A16 and the only off number is TP6 at 4.78v instead of 120v. After discussing with a more knowledgeable tech, I replaced Q1, then Q2 with no changes. Our consensus is that the power transistor could be off... no way to test it at the moment... and may be somebody could give us some ideas may be a refnum for that power transistor

test schem and pict of transistor, the Ti one on the left side

Thank you
« Last Edit: July 15, 2021, 08:01:47 pm by tankoid1742 »

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: HP1742A -no display-
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2021, 10:40:26 pm »
Perhaps a shorted filter capacitor.  Tantalum capacitors have a bad reputation.

Turn off the power and measure resistance across the 120V supply (after discharging any capacitors).

The following users thanked this post: tankoid1742

Offline TurboTom

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2021, 05:44:54 am »
Input voltage to the regulator is present, and as per your measurements, there's no (significant) current flowing whatsoever. No drive signal to the pass thransistor / pre-driver as well. I'ld look for the problem around Q1/Q2. It may well be that a biasing resistor in the neighbourhood of these transistors has failed open, R6 would be my first suspect, maybe also R3. At least the voltage readings (if accurate) aren't a clear indication for a current limiting situation. To be sure, measure the voltage across R2. If that's close to zero (at least much less than 0.7V), then the current limit isn't active and the output rail isn't pulled down by an external fault (and vice versa).