Author Topic: Questions about RF test equipment  (Read 2023 times)

Offline jonalbertTopic starter

Questions about RF test equipment
« on: June 05, 2020, 08:08:46 pm »
I'm looking into purchasing some RF test equipment so that I can do some design work at home. My current job doesn't offer any RF design opportunities and I was thinking that this might be my only way to get into the design field (and out of test engineering).

There are some spectrum analyzers with tracking generators on Amazon for $5k, but I've never used GOWE or RIGOL products before. I was hoping that someone on here would have some advice.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Questions about RF test equipment
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2020, 09:46:04 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

An indication of the frequences you will be working with would be helpful to narrow in on suitable gear.
You might like to research Siglents SVA models as just a single box contains a spectrum analyser, TG and VNA.
Great if you have limited room on the bench.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2020, 10:18:32 pm »
I second the suggestion for a VNA although a VNA usually has a higher noise floor. A spectrum analyser with a tracking generator isn't very useful for RF design work. For RF design work you'll also want to know the phase so you can measure the complex impedance.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline Elasia

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2020, 11:05:36 pm »
I'll just leave this here... something a few of us have been working on for our home labs

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ssa3000x-spectrum-analyzers/msg3084766/#msg3084766

Offline eevcandies

• Regular Contributor