Author Topic: I've bought a broken scope haven't I ?  (Read 68858 times)

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
Re: I've bought a broken scope haven't I ?
« Reply #275 on: January 25, 2016, 02:48:07 am »
That's a pretty typical power supply.  It has some useful features built in, such as output selection: Independent, Series (for dual rail - and it seems it turns into a tracking supply  :-+) plus Parallel for those higher current requirements.

Not sure about the quality side of things (I have no experience with Tenma), but a supply like that will be useful to have on any workbench.

Offline anengTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #276 on: February 09, 2016, 01:12:17 pm »
Well...  Things are still on hold until I get a power supply!  I held out for several on eBay but was outbid, and since then they have become rarer than rocking horse poop.  Typical!

After a couple of weeks of waiting, an old Farnell unit has turned up.. Faulty, of course!  I do have the schematic for it though, and it looks relatively simple compared to the Trio scope.  The question is... Do I bid on it, and end up with another box to fix? :-)

He had to fix the supply to fix the function generator to fix the scope to fix the... Hang on - I can't even remember what the original thing was I got the scope for!

I must say, I am tempted - if it goes for a cheap price.  Apparently one channel is pegged at 30v and the other doesn't work at all.

The problem is - you all know where I'm going to come for help don't you? :-)

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #277 on: February 09, 2016, 01:41:18 pm »
Whirlpool?

There's also a song on my mind - but making the lyrics fit isn't coming easily.............
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 01:43:37 pm by Brumby »

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #278 on: February 09, 2016, 01:45:45 pm »
Hang on - I can't even remember what the original thing was I got the scope for!

Please ... if you remember, let us know.  I can add it to the song lyric....  ;D