Author Topic: Repair of a Tektronix DPO4034 with faulty main board  (Read 3242 times)

Offline elektronchikaTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Elektronchika's blog
Repair of a Tektronix DPO4034 with faulty main board
« on: September 17, 2015, 10:00:13 am »
Hello everyone,

I'm an electronics engineer, and I like to also do some staff at home. I'm offered to buy a Tektronix DPO4034 with faulty main board. The scope starts but cannot boot and reports a bus failure with one of the acquisition chips. The current owner says this is a main board problem. I wonder if someone else had a similar problem, how he solved it? Or what do you think about repairing this scope at home? I ask all you guys, before buying the scope for advise.

Best regards,
Lazar

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Repair of a Tektronix DPO4034 with faulty main board
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2015, 10:07:09 am »
If you can get it for free go for it, otherwise just buy a Rigol 1000Z series.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline TiN

• Super Contributor
    • xDevs.com
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2015, 10:08:31 am »
Depends on price :)
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Let's share T&M documentation? Upload! No upload limits for firmwares, photos, files.

Offline elektronchikaTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Elektronchika's blog
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2015, 10:09:16 am »
It's not for free, it's still expensive - more than 3000 Euro. But I can try to reduce the price, once I think it's wordy.

Offline TiN

• Super Contributor
    • xDevs.com
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2015, 10:12:07 am »
Then it's worthless.
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Let's share T&M documentation? Upload! No upload limits for firmwares, photos, files.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2015, 10:16:53 am »