Author Topic: Impressive Keysight 1000X series (EDUX1002G modded) SPI triggering rate  (Read 9546 times)

Offline TKTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
I recently ran a test comparing the SPI triggering and decoding speed of Keysight EDUX1002G (modded to DSOX1102G) and Siglent SDS1104X-E

The details of the test was posted in a different thread:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/everyday-bench-scope-a-3-way-race-edux1002a-gds-1054b-sds1202x-e/msg2412507/#msg2412507

Summary of test: STM32 nucleo board running @ 180MHz.  45MHz SPI clock.  The test outputs 50,000 full cycles of 8 frames from 1 byte to 8 bytes.  When a button is pressed, it sends a frame with 1 byte with value 0x3F.  Normally one of the 8 frames has byte value 0x37 in the same position.

Conclusion: Keysight was able to trigger 50,000 times per second when triggering on byte value 0x37.  Siglent SDS1104X-E triggered 3,000 times.  The difference is due to the fact that the Keysight is doing Serial triggering and decoding in the ASIC and the Siglent implemented it in software after the memory was sampled.

In initial tests, I used a GWInstek GDS1054B and Micsig TO1104 with similar results to the Siglent SDS1104X-E, all of them have serial triggering and decoding implemented in software.

The following users thanked this post: Keysight DanielBogdanoff

Online 2N3055

• Super Contributor
It would be interesting to see MSO5000 and RTB2000 doing this. :popcorn:

What code and Nucleo board you use?
I would like to try this on 3000T to see if mask is faster..

Offline TKTopic starter

• Super Contributor
I am using STM32F446 nucleo board.  I am using STM32CUBEMX and AC6 SystemWorkbench (Free IDE). 

You need to disable LD2 (on board LED) to be able to enable SPI1 to run at maximum of 45MHz.

I am getting an MSO5074 next week for the purpose of running the same test.

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
I may try with the SDS5034X.