Author Topic: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?  (Read 46150 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3681
  • Country: de
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #75 on: December 28, 2019, 09:35:45 pm »
Rigol isn't to blame for anything here. I suspect the PEBKAC.

It is always the case, we've seen too many.

In this case, it seems the primary problem lies with the current online version of the Riglol key generator. Three people have now confirmed that it is broken. Archived versions of the offline keygen seem to be the only fallback solution at them moment?
 

Offline Masimo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #76 on: December 28, 2019, 10:46:17 pm »
Well, that is fixable (on line code). I would have returned the scope, had it not been updated. I have had it for 4 days, only.
 

Offline Masimo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #77 on: December 28, 2019, 11:03:13 pm »
Thanks to all who commented! This is an excellent group of Engineers.
 
The following users thanked this post: Gandalf_Sr

Offline clonecrp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • http://theclonestore.com
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #78 on: January 04, 2020, 02:25:39 am »
Greetings Gents !
I also have recently purchased a A DS1054Z (received Tuesday just before the 1st) ... Everything was opened with exceptions
As the only 2 features that were not yet unlocked in my Rigol 1054z 04.04 software version are:
 - 500 uV / division
 - 100 Mhz BW

Had the same failure on acquiring a key - http://www.gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/ produced  ...  too log error :(

My SW Version is 00.04.04.SP3 Where can I get "riglol.exe" keygen.

Thanks in advance ...
clonecrp
 

Offline TurboTom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 907
  • Country: de
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #79 on: January 04, 2020, 03:37:51 am »
One page back!  ::)

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/is-rigol-ds1054z-still-hackable/msg2847598/#msg2847598

Use the "DSER" code, 500µV won't work properly on the DS1000Z hardware.

Good luck.
 
The following users thanked this post: clonecrp

Offline clonecrp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • http://theclonestore.com
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #80 on: January 04, 2020, 12:08:19 pm »
Tom:

Thanks .... Looks like i missed it ..... had a ling day  |O

Gotta' go to work .... will report progress on my return .... :D

clonecrp


Tom: Update ! Got a good key now ... had to fiddle around a bit but have success ... dashes and all.

I read pauls directions from November (info below - not sure how to place a a reference link yet)

paulc_6969
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
Reply #45 on: November 18, 2019, 10:59:07 pm

He provided directions via Telnet Client ... my scope came with all options on except 100MHz --

Do you know any other methods to change bandwidth ... little rusty here on Telnet  ...   :-\

Please advise...
Thanks!
Doug
« Last Edit: January 05, 2020, 05:02:39 pm by clonecrp »
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11388
  • Country: 00
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #81 on: January 04, 2020, 01:32:27 pm »
Where can I get "riglol.exe" keygen.

There's a download link on the riglol page...

 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3681
  • Country: de
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #82 on: January 04, 2020, 01:47:06 pm »
Where can I get "riglol.exe" keygen.

There's a download link on the riglol page...

As discussed in the last handful of posts, the current online version is broken -- is the downloadable version OK?
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11388
  • Country: 00
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #83 on: January 04, 2020, 01:57:14 pm »
As discussed in the last handful of posts, the current online version is broken -- is the downloadable version OK?

It seems to be the HTML/JavaScript that broke, I'm sure the exe file will be OK.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2020, 01:58:49 pm by Fungus »
 

Offline Paul_V

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: au
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #84 on: January 05, 2020, 01:23:23 pm »
Can confirm the http://www.gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/ page does not work but the http://www.gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol-103d/ page does.
Ran keys for all options and successfully generated them.
I haven't installed the 100mHz option yet as I have just received the scope this week, all other options were already installed.
I won't install the 500µV which is reported not to work correctly.
 
The following users thanked this post: Fungus, ebastler

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11388
  • Country: 00
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #85 on: January 05, 2020, 01:36:26 pm »
I haven't installed the 100mHz option yet as I have just received the scope this week, all other options were already installed.

The options can be removed very easily, too.

I won't install the 500µV which is reported not to work correctly.

Correct.
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
  • Country: ro
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #86 on: January 05, 2020, 02:16:48 pm »
It's better to install all the options, it doesn't hurt.  Anyway, they can be removed instantly with the SCPI command:
Code: [Select]
:SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall
About the 500uV option, (on my oscilloscope) it works, just that it's "fake".  It's not a new amplifier step for 500uV, it looks more like a screen 2 x vertical zoom for the traces only.  It was rarely used, mostly because DS1054Z is noisy, but why not having it installed?  When it's not selected, the 500uV option doesn't affect the oscilloscope in any way.

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11388
  • Country: 00
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #87 on: January 05, 2020, 02:28:49 pm »
but why not having it installed?  When it's not selected, the 500uV option doesn't affect the oscilloscope in any way.

Because it's pointless and it's very easy to go "too far" when you just spin the knob downwards. Better to have it stop at 1mV.

 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1869
  • Country: us
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #88 on: January 05, 2020, 02:55:15 pm »
It's better to install all the options, it doesn't hurt.  Anyway, they can be removed instantly with the SCPI command:
Code: [Select]
:SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall
About the 500uV option, (on my oscilloscope) it works, just that it's "fake".  It's not a new amplifier step for 500uV, it looks more like a screen 2 x vertical zoom for the traces only.  It was rarely used, mostly because DS1054Z is noisy, but why not having it installed?  When it's not selected, the 500uV option doesn't affect the oscilloscope in any way.

Consider yourself LUCKY then.
Since the 500uV range is NOT part of calibration, the trace may NOT even be on the screen.
Let alone centered.
Then you have the hassle of uninstalling it.
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
  • Country: ro
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #89 on: January 05, 2020, 03:20:23 pm »
It helped me a couple of times, even if the 500uV/div is just a software zoom.

Was useful while looking at very faint signals flooded by noise, by implementing a crude lock-in amplifier with the oscilloscope:
- set the acquire mode to 'Average'
- sync the scope from a clean signal correlated with the faint signal to visualize
- for 'Averages' values bigger than 64 the results were astonishing
- the trace settle to one pixel wide, and the signal of interest become crystal clear, even if at first the signal was looking like white noise.

500uV was useful to me to visualize with ease signals just a couple of pixels height.  I only very rarely go to 1mV/div setting, so no problem for me if by mistake I turn the knob to 500uV/div.

I guess it's a matter of personal preferences.   :)

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1869
  • Country: us
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #90 on: January 05, 2020, 03:39:50 pm »
It helped me a couple of times, even if the 500uV/div is just a software zoom.

Was useful while looking at very faint signals flooded by noise, by implementing a crude lock-in amplifier with the oscilloscope:
- set the acquire mode to 'Average'
- sync the scope from a clean signal correlated with the faint signal to visualize
- for 'Averages' values bigger than 64 the results were astonishing
- the trace settle to one pixel wide, and the signal of interest become crystal clear, even if at first the signal was looking like white noise.

500uV was useful to me to visualize with ease signals just a couple of pixels height.  I only very rarely go to 1mV/div setting, so no problem for me if by mistake I turn the knob to 500uV/div.

I guess it's a matter of personal preferences.   :)

NO!
It is a matter of being ABLE to adjust the vertical offset to be ABLE to SEE the trace at all.
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2553
  • Country: ro
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #91 on: January 05, 2020, 03:55:37 pm »
MarkF, that reply was to Fungus reasons of not installing the 500uV, my bad for not making that clear.

Forgot to mention that on 'Average' mode, the software zoom become important, because instead of showing steps of minimum 2 pixels (like in the 'Normal' acquire mode) on 500uV/div with averaging mode the minimum amplitude steps are 1 pixel, so one can see 50uV signal variations, which would not be possible to see at 1mV/div.

I didn't know some oscilloscopes can't keep the trace in view on 500uV/div, sorry to hear that.  Mine can, maybe somebody else is lucky, too, so why not try it first.  If it doesn't work, all the options can be removed then installed again without the 500uV one.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2020, 04:02:54 pm by RoGeorge »
 

Offline iw1996

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #92 on: January 08, 2020, 12:02:31 am »
Here's an achive of the tool including binaries, downloaded shortly after I bought my DS1000Z. Maybe it works, didn't re-test it. If running the windows binary, you have to use a command prompt (cmd) and enter the parameters in the command line.

Good luck!

I was kept getting the 'ERROR: INVALID PRIVATE KEY LENGTH!' on riglol site, but I was able to generate keys successfully with the binaries that you provided.
Thank you for your forward-thinking and for sharing it with us.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2020, 12:15:50 am by iw1996 »
 

Offline clonecrp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • http://theclonestore.com
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #93 on: January 08, 2020, 01:11:46 am »
Just to put it out there. I have just bought a Rigol 1054 because of the posts on this site to hack.
Mine arrived with everything activated EXCEPT the 100MHz feature.

I was really hesitant to go ahead and do the hack because of the pre-activation and upon careful inspection the firmware version was more recent than anything i could find.
After a time I just said WTF, let's see. I used the links on this forum.  entered the the code and it worked fine. Did not lose the other pre-activated features and it did add the 100MHz feature.
By-the-by, I actually used an iPhone 4s to get to this forum, followed the link to the Keygen site. carefully read the activation code generated. (made some screenshots) and then did the hack...

There has been discussion that Rigol has intentionally allowed people to hack this model..I think I have also mentioned it. It seems that Rigol is now selling them all pre-activated for all except the 100MHz because I carefully inspected the packaging. it was clear, that the it was still originally shipped from Rigol.

However don't blame me if your effort gets screwed up...it is always at your own risk,

Cheers!!

Greetings From the Beautiful Banks of Lake Erie in Pennsylvania !

I just received my new DS12054z just after Jan 2020 ... all options were factory installed and I have the same f/w as you. I am a bit reluctant to activate as you did ....

I see in your writing you generated the keys (DSEA or DSER) and installed the 100 MHz update via scope keypad using your keys ?

And that was about it ... correct ?

Elsewhere in the thread it is recommended to uninstall the factory upgrades. Then activate with key via telnet.

I assume all is well with your scope all options are official and the screen shows the 100MHz model number....

Am I correct ?

Please advise...
Thanks !
Doug
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1869
  • Country: us
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #94 on: January 08, 2020, 03:00:36 am »
Greetings From the Beautiful Banks of Lake Erie in Pennsylvania !

I just received my new DS12054z just after Jan 2020 ... all options were factory installed and I have the same f/w as you. I am a bit reluctant to activate as you did ....

I see in your writing you generated the keys (DSEA or DSER) and installed the 100 MHz update via scope keypad using your keys ?

And that was about it ... correct ?

Elsewhere in the thread it is recommended to uninstall the factory upgrades. Then activate with key via telnet.

I assume all is well with your scope all options are official and the screen shows the 100MHz model number....

Am I correct ?

Please advise...
Thanks !
Doug

Each option and the bandwidth is just a bit in memory.  It is either ON or OFF.
Setting it ON a second time does NOT disable the option.

  DS1000Z ECC private key: 6F1106DDA994DA   <-- DO NOT ENTER IT INTO THE RIGLOL KEY GENERATOR
                                                IT SHOULD POPULATE CORRECTLY WHEN YOU ENTER YOUR SERIAL NUM.

  DSAB - 00011 10000 00000 00001 - Advanced Triggers
  DSAC - 00011 10000 00000 00010 - Decoders
  DSAE - 00011 10000 00000 00100 - 24M Memory
  DSAJ - 00011 10000 00000 01000 - Recorder
  DSBA - 00011 10000 00001 00000 - 500uV Vertical  <-- DO NOT ENABLE

  DSEA - 00011 10000 00100 00000 - 100MHz

  DSER - 00011 10000 00100 01111 - All options except 500uV/div

There is NO need to uninstall all options before setting the options you want.
Just get your key with DSER and enter it into your scope.
It does NOT matter if it is entered through the scope front panel or via SCPI commands.

The ONLY way to uninstall an option is via the SCPI :SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall command.

The RIGLOL 1.03d site is:  http://www.gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol-103d/
When entering your serial number and options, make SURE to CLEAR the boxes before entering your info!
Hit the 'ENTER' key after entering both your serial number and option code.

There is a download at the bottom of the page if you wish to go that route.

« Last Edit: January 08, 2020, 09:55:06 pm by MarkF »
 

Offline clonecrp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • http://theclonestore.com
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #95 on: January 08, 2020, 11:53:26 pm »
Mark:

Thanks for the prompt reply ...  :)

Great explanation ...

I will upgrade software then load the DSER code via Keypad next...

Will let you know how it goes !

Warmest Regards,
Doug
 

Online Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1744
  • Country: us
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #96 on: January 09, 2020, 10:12:59 am »
@clonecrp,
The codes that are generated by riglol are the same codes that you would get if you bought them from Rigol so yes, the info screen shows them as 'official'.  The bandwidth upgrade reflects as a different model number being reported e.g DG1104Z.  It also makes no difference if you enter the codes via the keypad or by SCPI command.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline clonecrp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • http://theclonestore.com
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #97 on: January 09, 2020, 11:13:00 pm »
@clonecrp,

Gandalf

The codes that are generated by riglol are the same codes that you would get if you bought them from Rigol so yes, the info screen shows them as 'official'.  The bandwidth upgrade reflects as a different model number being reported e.g DG1104Z.  It also makes no difference if you enter the codes via the keypad or by SCPI command.

Gandalf:

I am inclined to think then that .... well...  if one wanted to return the scope to original (options all on with exception of 100 & 500Mv).... do you have to perform an uninstall then, re-install the options as received with exception of 100Mhz .... but ? would that then return the scope to M/N DS1054 or would the 100MHz flag still be set ?

Thoughts Please

Thanks !
Doug
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3681
  • Country: de
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #98 on: January 10, 2020, 06:29:51 am »
If you uninstall the 100 MHz option, the 100 MHz option will be uninstalled. ;-)

And yes, that will revert the model number to DS1054Z.
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11388
  • Country: 00
Re: is Rigol DS1054Z still hackable ?
« Reply #99 on: January 10, 2020, 07:43:20 am »
if one wanted to return the scope to original (options all on with exception of 100 & 500Mv).... do you have to perform an uninstall then, re-install the options as received with exception of 100Mhz ....

Yes. Options can't be removed individually.


 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf