Author Topic: Is there a way to tell if my oscilloscope's FFT is HW or SW?  (Read 1665 times)

Offline ballsystemlordTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Is there a way to tell if my oscilloscope's FFT is HW or SW?
« on: December 04, 2022, 01:06:16 am »
Hello,
I'm an oscilloscope newbie, so go easy. Mine is an MSO5000 series scope. I'm curious if it's FFT is HW or SW. The official specs don't even mention the scope's FFT rate, which can be found in their description of their YT videos' dealing with FFT comparisons. It's FFT rate is 1Mpts.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 04, 2022, 01:13:14 am by ballsystemlord »

Offline pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
Re: Is there a way to tell if my oscilloscope's FFT is HW or SW?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2022, 06:51:38 am »
It's FFT rate is 1Mpts.

Probably a typo.  >:D

Don't know if it is done in hardware or in software, but I do know that the 1Mpts is not expressing the rate :)

It is the number of samples the FFT is calculated on. The more samples used the smaller the frequency interval between the bins. Depending on the sample rate this gives the frequency resolution of the FFT. At 1GSa/s it means the bins are 1KHz apart. The highest one representing 500MHz and the lowest 0Hz.

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2022, 06:57:59 am »

a) What's the difference in practice?
b) It's not a "real time" FFT if that's what you're thinking of by "rate".

Offline wasedadoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2022, 06:58:32 am »
Software running on hardware.

Offline pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2022, 07:27:37 am »
Software running on hardware.

Software always needs hardware, otherwise it is vaporware :-DD

I guess ballsystemlord is wondering if the FFT is done in the FPGA with a dedicated bit of hardware design or on the main processor with standard processor instructions.