Author Topic: Judging by teardowns, which cheap PSUs are better - "Korads", UNI-T, PeakTech?  (Read 3148 times)

Offline midixTopic starter

• Contributor
I'm looking for a hobby-level 0-30V 5A PSU for working with Arduinos, Raspberry & clones, small motors, LED strips etc., and also occasional laptop repairs & experiments.

In my local shops, the low-budget options are mostly UNI-T UTP3315TFL, UTP3315TFL-II, UTP1305, and those well-known Korad clones (from a company named RND) - 320-KD3005D and variations.

I managed to find teardown videos for both UNI-T and Korads, but I'm not experienced enough to judge the quality in comparison:

https://youtu.be/g94mpom2Ahs  (Dave's famous Korad teardown)

https://youtu.be/yjcoc74NBDw?t=202  UNI-T UTP3315TFL-II
https://youtu.be/qjOIns3mwO8?t=409 UTP1306S
No teardowns for UTP1305 :(

So, what would you suggest, which ones seem to be a better build with more reliable components (especially the main power circuits & transistors)?

I have read about Korad issues here on the forum, but not much info about UNI-T.
Maybe it is better to have a Korad clone with known issues and recipes for fixing them instead of UNI-T with unknown pitfalls. On the other hand, UNI-T seems to be a somewhat known brand and they might have more responsibility about their products, unlike that "RND".
« Last Edit: June 19, 2021, 06:29:57 pm by midix »

Offline masterx81

• Frequent Contributor
RND are rebranded Korad, not clone. I have ka3305p and kel103, and they work as they should. The UI is awful  :palm:

• Contributor
The pricing is somewhat confusing, when trying to judge the quality.

For example, when looking at models with about the same specs (30V 5A) UNI-T models are 50% more expensive than RND, and PeakTech are 50% more expensive than UNI-T.