Author Topic: Keysight New instruments  (Read 35847 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Keysight New instruments
« Reply #150 on: March 01, 2021, 11:37:10 pm »
I can appreciate the new kind of housing, it saves a lot of space on the workbench (depth).

At home I have a Tek TDS2024. (I bought it new, well before Rilent came out with 2 GHz sampling/200 MHz 'scopes for $500. I think it was really the only option back then!) Despite the limited triggering, low memory depth and small screen, it still works well enough. That it's not very deep is a bonus, I can fit it in tight spots.

At the day job I have a DPO3054. It's also not a very deep 'scope so it fits in packed benches. (Sometimes you work away from your usual bench.)

My HP1660E logic analyzer takes up much more bench space. Actually, it takes up zero bench space as it's been on the top of a bookshelf for years. I have no need for a logic analyzer any more.

Prices are better for hobby purposes but what when Keysight doesn't sell to private persons anymore...

Here in the Colonies I can buy whatever Keysight product I want, up to the limits of my credit cards!

Offline floobydust

• Super Contributor
« Reply #151 on: March 02, 2021, 06:27:23 pm »
Deal-breaker on the EDU36311A PSU is the danger when charging a battery. It appears there is an OVP crowbar that trips if the PSU is connected to a battery and power is switched off. When power is switched off, the reference drops and the OVP wrongly thinks O/P voltage is too high, OVP activates and sadness results, as the user manual mentions.
So you must use a series diode to charge batteries. What a hassle and loss of precise charging voltage.
Some techs first switch off a PSU, then disconnect the leads. This is bad if there is a battery or load with huge capacitance connected, the backfeed can kill a pass-transistor and control circuitry.

Offline SilverSolder

• Super Contributor