Author Topic: HP 54645D CH A2 no response when its vertical position knob rotated  (Read 1001 times)

Offline Test PointTopic starter

Greetings all...

New guy on the forum. I ran across this forum while I was searching for any hints as to repairing the problem with the scope.

I've been an E Tech for over 35 years repairing pro-sound equipment so I'm not afraid to tear into this if I need to. I can't seem to find a "real" service manual on this yet. I'll need to contact HP/Agilent and see if I can get one.

Long story short...the place I work at was getting rid of this scope because of the problem noted in the subject line. I figured I'd check here first rather than reinvent the wheel and see if someone can point me in the right direction. The A1 channel works fine so if I need to, I can do an A-B comparison and see where the signal is going bonkers.

Thanks
« Last Edit: May 16, 2019, 10:42:46 pm by Test Point »

Offline PaulAm

• Frequent Contributor
There is no service manual for this scope other than "replace board ...".  Unfortunately HP never released any schematics.

I have one of these but I've never opened it up so this is just a guess.  Those things are just rotary encoders, so it could be a bad encoder, bad connection or, worst case, something on the main board.  You could open it up and swap the Ch1 and Ch2 vertical encoders and see if the problem follows.

I think the odds are good for a bad encoder but you won't know until you open it up.

There is no service manual for this scope other than "replace board ...".  Unfortunately HP never released any schematics.

I have one of these but I've never opened it up so this is just a guess.  Those things are just rotary encoders, so it could be a bad encoder, bad connection or, worst case, something on the main board.  You could open it up and swap the Ch1 and Ch2 vertical encoders and see if the problem follows.

I think the odds are good for a bad encoder but you won't know until you open it up.