Author Topic: Fluke 83 no beep (sound)  (Read 2308 times)

Offline txutxyTopic starter

Fluke 83 no beep (sound)
« on: April 08, 2020, 06:52:39 pm »
Hello! First of all, congratulations on this great forum, it is very helpful.
I am an engineer in Spain, I am very happy with my Fluke 83, it works like the first day, everything except the sound. Now it does not make any sound (beep, continuity, over voltage, etc).
I have opened the fluke, but I do not know which integrated is in charge of sending a frequency for the sound, since I do not see a buzzer either.
If someone can guide me, it would be a great help.
Thanks in advance, greetings!

Offline coromonadalix

• Super Contributor
Re: Fluke 83 no beep (sound)
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2020, 07:15:10 pm »
I would check the dial contacts, clean them,  i have 2x 83 at my job   they do funny things until i clean the contacts, i use them a lot i mean a lot, they are almost worn out

The beep is not working, or the beep engage in other functions etc ... sometime the display is stuck   etc ...

Before doing something check the dial, bad solders, bad contacts, good batteries, and the battery clip sometime does funny thing too, changed them twice in each meter already ...

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2020, 10:53:01 pm »
I have opened the fluke, but I do not know which integrated is in charge of sending a frequency for the sound, since I do not see a buzzer either.
The service manual for the Fluke 80 series I is online.  It has schematics and everything.  Page 2-9 describes what components are used and how it works.

http://bama.edebris.com/manuals/fluke/87/

Your piezo buzzer is on the back of the case. Check/clean the contacts.

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2020, 12:49:11 pm »