Author Topic: LCR-T4 MTester v2.07 LCR Meter - Black Block Issue - How to program ATMEGA328P?  (Read 64841 times)

Offline gorgaminTopic starter

• Contributor
Does anyone know of a fix for the following issue:

LCR-T4 MTester v2.07 LCR Meter - Black Block Issue

Turns on with quickly saying MTester v2.07, quickly displays "contrast" and then one solid black block and no backlight. Can't test at all. Think the firmware has an issue. Anyone have any ideas on how to flash through SPI?

I'm arranging a replacement through the seller on ebay, but in the meantime I thought I'd tinker with it.

Its almost as if the "contrast" part wants to go into a menu of some sort. I read through the original plans and it seems there is an option to add a rotary pulse encoder for menu access. Would adding this help?

http://www.mikrocontroller.net/wikifiles/8/8f/Ttester_eng111k.pdf
2.2.5 Using of a rotary pulse encoder - p11

I'm guessing corrupt firmware, but I've got no experience with SPI or ISP serial flashing. I've flashed firmware through JTAG before though.
This is the ATMEL ATMEGA328P based one.

Battery is still good at 8.9v (these testers work fine down to 6.5v)

The non-working backlight should be a dead giveaway that something isn't right. I've checked the SMD components and they seem ok.

Any help would be vastly appreciated. And if I'm doing something daft, please tell me.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 06:28:22 pm by gorgamin »
"Well engineered projects are indistinguishable from crazy ideas." - WHT

Offline CustomEngineerer

• Frequent Contributor
Re: LCR-T4 MTester v2.07 LCR Meter - Black Block Issue
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2016, 06:00:56 am »
I seem to remember reading about people having an issue like that early on in the master thread https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/$20-lcr-esr-transistor-checker-project/