Author Topic: List your test equipment "scores" here!  (Read 470611 times)

SNMoore, 0culus, dirt road, gnavigator1007 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PaulAm

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 651
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1025 on: December 09, 2016, 12:50:12 am »
Picked up a repairable Tek 454A on a local craigslist sale for $30.  Guy said is was fine other then the "picture tube" [sic}.  Gotta love nontechies.  A quick look showed a crisped resistor on the regulator board and a blown LV fuse.  It won't be going into the "easiest repair ever" thread, but shouldn't be too difficult to bring back to life.

As a bonus, it was an IBM scope which is a neat piece of history.
 

Offline ZeTeX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 598
  • Country: il
  • When in doubt, add more flux.
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1026 on: December 09, 2016, 05:58:48 am »
Notice how most of the scores are from people in America, specifically USA.
its hard for us who live in a dirt-hole score an equipment on eBay without paying 200$ for shipping itself.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16935
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1027 on: December 09, 2016, 09:32:10 am »
True but even then you can get better deals from the US then on a local market. Over a decade ago I paid $350 for shipping a logic analyser I won on Ebay for $66. Besides that you can also find nice deals from Asia. OTOH recently I missed out on some nice DC loads because shipping was just too cumbersome and the seller decided to sell to someone who picked them up.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Berni

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
  • Country: si
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1028 on: December 09, 2016, 05:22:45 pm »
Yeah its common to pay over 200 bucks to ship some big boatanchor piece of equipment from the US. But sometimes you find a deal so good that its worth it even with the shipping.

Another thing is that the seller has to know how to pack big heavy equipment properly. When not packed properly one decent drop of the box on the right corner can cause quite a bit of damage when the thing weighs like 20kg. When it has to get here from the US that makes it go trough more "nodes" where the post office gorillas throw the boxes from one vehicle to the next. And yes the term "throw" is the one to use judging by some of the shipping horrors that made it to my door.

Luckily the old gear tends to be made out of metal so a lot of the damage can be fixed by taking it apart and bending it back (Luckily damage on gear i bought was always just cosmetic).

In case anyone is wondering crumpled up newspaper is NOT fine for shipping a 30kg power supply overseas.
 

Online Cubdriver

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2264
  • Country: us
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1029 on: December 09, 2016, 06:03:16 pm »
Yeah its common to pay over 200 bucks to ship some big boatanchor piece of equipment from the US. But sometimes you find a deal so good that its worth it even with the shipping.

Another thing is that the seller has to know how to pack big heavy equipment properly.

...

In case anyone is wondering crumpled up newspaper is NOT fine for shipping a 30kg power supply overseas.

Yeah, for something that heavy you'd definitely want to step up to butcher paper as packing material.   ;)   :P

What some people consider to be adequate packing simply boggles my mind sometimes.  The Electro Instruments DVM I got from the 'bay a while back springs to mind.  It basically had NO packing - the guy folded up and hot glued corrugated cardboard around it.  (Though I suppose it could be argued that he made a custom box for it...   :palm: )

-Pat
If it jams, force it.  If it breaks, you needed a new one anyway...
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5852
  • Country: 00
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1030 on: December 09, 2016, 06:19:29 pm »
Few BNC accesories for my T&M stuffs, not the top tier brand though, but good enough and should be adequate for hobbyist use.

- Full metal BNC feed thru 50 Ohm termination, not sure it's capability at GHz range though, but my requirement < 100 Mhz should ok right ? So sick & tired of using separate BNC T connector + 50 Ohm terminator.

- Panel mount isolated BNC female connector, not sure when or where I'm going to use it  :-//, its the "isolated" feature made to grab few of them.  :palm:

- Right angle BNC male connectors, had been wanting these for quite a while, no more stressing those hanging short coax wires when used at T&M equipments.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2016, 06:34:47 pm by BravoV »
 

Offline PTR_1275

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 493
  • Country: au
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1031 on: December 09, 2016, 07:00:22 pm »
Few BNC accesories for my T&M stuffs, not the top tier brand though, but good enough and should be adequate for hobbyist use.

- Full metal BNC feed thru 50 Ohm termination, not sure it's capability at GHz range though, but my requirement < 100 Mhz should ok right ? So sick & tired of using separate BNC T connector + 50 Ohm terminator.

- Panel mount isolated BNC female connector, not sure when or where I'm going to use it  :-//, its the "isolated" feature made to grab few of them.  :palm:

- Right angle BNC male connectors, had been wanting these for quite a while, no more stressing those hanging short coax wires when used at T&M equipments.

Where abouts did you get the feedthroughs from and how much were they? My stuff only goes upto 10MHz for signal generators, or 100MHz for the scope, so I don't need anything rated to GHz either.
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5852
  • Country: 00
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1032 on: December 09, 2016, 07:34:57 pm »
Where abouts did you get the feedthroughs from and how much were they? My stuff only goes upto 10MHz for signal generators, or 100MHz for the scope, so I don't need anything rated to GHz either.

Aliexpress, just search for "P7001 BNC" , currently only one shop sells this, at least from my search.

Remember, I'm not affiliated with this shop, and priced at $8.55 for two pieces (free s/h).

I haven't throughly test it yet, but a quick DMM check they're spot on at 50 Ohm.

Here, a close up shot (not resized), just in case you need to take a quick glance on the metal finishing b4 ordering, not bad imo.
 
The following users thanked this post: bitseeker, bjcuizon

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: ca
  • GHz
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1033 on: December 09, 2016, 08:01:22 pm »
They are on banggood.com as well.

I ordered a pair and will sweep them when they arrive.
VE7FM
 
The following users thanked this post: bitseeker, bjcuizon

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5852
  • Country: 00
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1034 on: December 09, 2016, 08:07:52 pm »
They are on banggood.com as well.

I ordered a pair and will sweep them when they arrive.

Great  :-+, looks like they're identical to mine, looking forward to see the sweep result, and if you don't mind, please share it at a new thread.

Offline Berni

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
  • Country: si
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1035 on: December 09, 2016, 09:04:08 pm »

Yeah, for something that heavy you'd definitely want to step up to butcher paper as packing material.   ;)   :P

What some people consider to be adequate packing simply boggles my mind sometimes.  The Electro Instruments DVM I got from the 'bay a while back springs to mind.  It basically had NO packing - the guy folded up and hot glued corrugated cardboard around it.  (Though I suppose it could be argued that he made a custom box for it...   :palm: )

-Pat

Have not had something packed quite that bad, hope it didn't get too beat up.

But looking at the other end of the spectrum i seen some amazing packing jobs. For example that SMU that just cost me a fortune in the stupid triax cables came packed in a huge box with the instapack foam bags all around it a good 15cm thick. Naturally the unit got here without a single scratch from shipping despite the box exterior looking like it got a good beating.

Having a look at the sellers ebay store can give you a hint about the packing to expect. If the store if full of large test gear and they have a reasonable ebay rating you can be sure they will pack it properly (They likely already learned the hard way the importance of packing heavy stuff). When the seller sells various little non technical nick nakcs expect your shiny new bit of gear to get a bit banged up. Something to keep in mind when buying a piece of gear in like new condition (Tho it sure was satisfying peeling the screen protection film off a Keithley 2015 DMM that i scored for cheep).
 

Offline neil t

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: au
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1036 on: December 09, 2016, 09:47:36 pm »
Thanks for the info on the feed thru's  people. :-+
 

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1037 on: December 10, 2016, 02:01:07 am »
Aliexpress, just search for "P7001 BNC" , currently only one shop sells this, at least from my search.
Thanks for the tip.  :-+
 

Offline rastro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 348
  • Country: 00
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1038 on: December 10, 2016, 06:56:36 am »
I just received two Fluke 27/FM DMM's for $30.00 ... Delivered!
They are both in very good shape.  Installed a 9V battery and tested them out.  Everything works, very accurate, safety fuses intact. 
The vendor even did great job insta-packing the 2 units. 

Should have a couple of low cost Keithley 197's coming from the same vendor - Hopefully more good news.
 

Offline svenk177

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: de
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1039 on: December 11, 2016, 01:20:23 am »
Recently I acquired a HP 8616A signal generator for around 30€. It can be adjusted to frequencies between 1.8-4.5 GigaCycles (who uses Hz anyway?).
I retrofitted a IEC-C13 connector on the back, as I could not find a suitable cable for it. Probably I should also swap some of the electrolytic capacitors in it.
 
In the future I want to get more into RF stuff, so I will be looking for more gear like this  :-+
 

Offline Marc M.

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1040 on: December 11, 2016, 02:43:01 am »
I picked this up for $79.00 (+$150 freight, taxes, etc)  8).  It was a gamble because I could make out in the out of focus picture that it had a Defective tag on it.  Upon arrival, I was able to read the tag: 200A Switch Bad.  It was up for Cal the previous month which it failed presumably due to the bad 200A switch which wouldn't stay latched. Where in the world was I going to find a replacement ganged switch??? I desoldered the switch assy. and got a number off one of the switches.  Individually in stock at Digikey for $2-3 each.  Upon closer inspection, the shaft of each switch was symmetrical so I simply flipped the locking plate and spring the other way round, put it back together, and I now have a fully functioning 600V / 400A / 4Kw DC load  ;D.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2016, 04:47:36 am by Marc M. »
Don't replace the cap, just empty the filter!
 

Offline Falkra

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 172
  • Country: fr
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1041 on: December 11, 2016, 04:18:14 am »
Excellent ! And very nice piece of equipment, well done !
 

Online Vgkid

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2484
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1042 on: December 11, 2016, 04:23:49 am »
Show us the load bars on the backside.
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan
 

Offline Marc M.

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1043 on: December 11, 2016, 04:50:53 am »
Show us the load bars on the backside.
Ahhh, you like the backside do ya?  It won't disappoint if you like 'em big  ;)


Edit: Arrgghhh, I'm such an idiot |O.  I hate preview not showing the attached pics.  Got up and realized I stuck the wrong pic in there missing your arse shot.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2016, 03:51:22 pm by Marc M. »
Don't replace the cap, just empty the filter!
 
The following users thanked this post: Falkra

Offline karoru

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 196
  • Country: pl
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1044 on: December 15, 2016, 09:17:06 pm »
Recently I acquired a HP 8616A signal generator for around 30€. It can be adjusted to frequencies between 1.8-4.5 GigaCycles (who uses Hz anyway?).
One calls them "kilomegacycles", not this new "giga" rubbish:))
 

Online Vgkid

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2484
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1045 on: December 22, 2016, 07:53:15 pm »
L&N URS, 4393. Bet no one knows what it is/ owns one.
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan
 

Online VK5RC

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2187
  • Country: au
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1046 on: December 22, 2016, 08:15:11 pm »
Isn't it a precision set of resistor dividers, Leeds and Northrup Universal Ratio Set? Looks beautifully built.
One on eBay http://www.ebay.com/itm/Leeds-and-Northrup-Universal-Ratio-Set-Cat-4393-w-Lid-/291774334846?hash=item43ef1b077e:g:cyYAAOSwagdXR1EA
What sort of accuracy do you get out of it?
Whoah! Watch where that landed we might need it later.
 

Offline Sbampato12

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 211
  • Country: br
    • Sbampato.com
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1047 on: December 22, 2016, 11:00:25 pm »
I've found in scrap yard.
About US$ 30-40, as-is.

Arriving home, it was only two slow 0,7A fuse, and it works!

Need some cleaning now.
 

Offline vinicius.jlantunes

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: br
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1048 on: December 23, 2016, 04:42:18 am »
Sbampato12 - I am always amazed that you manage to find anything at all in our country. I constantly monitor the usual websites for test equipment and all sorts of things hoping to ever find a bargain / reasonable deal, but am never lucky! The few I came across in the last few years (like a wavetek sig gen) I wasn't able to land. The only piece of test equipment I ever bought used in Brazil was an Agilent E3634A power supply - the seller was clueless though and didn't pack it right, so it got broken in-transit. No worries, I managed to buy a replacement front panel but after a few weeks of light usage it died. I am yet to succeed in my repair attempts.

Bottom line - if you ever come across something you don't want, ping your fellow country man here  ;D

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16935
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1049 on: December 23, 2016, 06:11:24 am »
I picked this up for $79.00 (+$150 freight, taxes, etc)  8).  It was a gamble because I could make out in the out of focus picture that it had a Defective tag on it.  Upon arrival, I was able to read the tag: 200A Switch Bad.  It was up for Cal the previous month which it failed presumably due to the bad 200A switch which wouldn't stay latched. Where in the world was I going to find a replacement ganged switch??? I desoldered the switch assy. and got a number off one of the switches.  Individually in stock at Digikey for $2-3 each.  Upon closer inspection, the shaft of each switch was symmetrical so I simply flipped the locking plate and spring the other way round, put it back together, and I now have a fully functioning 600V / 400A / 4Kw DC load  ;D.
I would have liked getting that deal because I really could use such a DC load for a project :'( I missed out on a couple of 6kW DC loads a couple of months ago.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf