Author Topic: List your test equipment "scores" here!  (Read 484219 times)

jazzmann and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline rsjsouza

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3339
  • Country: us
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2550 on: August 02, 2019, 01:31:20 am »
I got a few weeks ago a Tektronix digitizer TWD120 for the price of shipping. Really nice kit, but hard to setup (uses SCSI2 interface, Win3.11 application) and noisy, but it is quite a journey to my past of SCSI expert among a sea of IDEs...

Photos and a few comments are shown at the post below.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/tektronix-twd120-100mhz-dual-channel-digitizer-teardown-opinions/msg2548746/#msg2548746

At the moment I am trying to make it work on a laptop Dell Inspiron 2200 with a PCMCIA SCSI card APA1450 - no joy so far. I may need a BusToaster or a APA1480.
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com

Oh, the "whys" of the datasheets... The information is there not to be an axiomatic truth, but instead each speck of data must be slowly inhaled while carefully performing a deep search inside oneself to find the true metaphysical sense...
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7853
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2551 on: August 02, 2019, 03:13:17 am »
Well...  8)



What is that ginormous Keithley back there?
I TEA.
 

Online Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1432
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2552 on: August 02, 2019, 07:57:31 am »
The Official Biggest Boy In Ice-Tea Town...

Keitley 707 with 3x 7076 cards ;)
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 
The following users thanked this post: bitseeker

Offline Black Phoenix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: hk
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2553 on: August 02, 2019, 08:06:07 am »
What's the use you intent to do with that datalogger?
 

Online Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1432
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2554 on: August 02, 2019, 08:15:19 am »
Eh? It's a switch matrix?

Sell it ;)
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Offline ArthurDent

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 828
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2555 on: August 02, 2019, 05:42:17 pm »
I know a lot of you guys have the big higher end stuff, but I'm just a home hobbyist. 

I just picked up a GW Instek GPD-3303S for $199. (+$20 shipping) I was considering a brand new one at well over twice the price.  I'm pretty excited to have gotten it.



By coincidence I also bought one of the GPD-3303S supplies on eBay from that same seller in Maryland and it arrived today. They are a nice supply and in good condition.

If you check the forums you will see that there are 2 versions of this supply where the newer one was redesigned so both the GPD-3303S three output and the GPD4303S four output could use a lot of common parts, including the same main circuit board. From what I read it appears that there was a bug that crept in with the new design that caused some problems. Both you and I got the older version that works like it should. My supply seems to be pretty darn close but I think I'll go through the long calibration procedure in the service manual and check everything out. 
 

Offline YU7C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: cs
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2556 on: August 02, 2019, 06:11:34 pm »
Well...  8)



Excellent composition, shades, light, ...,. Guy you have a talent!

Vojiskav
 

Offline dcbrown73

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2557 on: August 02, 2019, 06:44:12 pm »
By coincidence I also bought one of the GPD-3303S supplies on eBay from that same seller in Maryland and it arrived today. They are a nice supply and in good condition.

If you check the forums you will see that there are 2 versions of this supply where the newer one was redesigned so both the GPD-3303S three output and the GPD4303S four output could use a lot of common parts, including the same main circuit board. From what I read it appears that there was a bug that crept in with the new design that caused some problems. Both you and I got the older version that works like it should. My supply seems to be pretty darn close but I think I'll go through the long calibration procedure in the service manual and check everything out.

Nice, mine arrived pretty tightly dialed in too.  I believe it said they were refurbishing them.   So far I'm very happy with it.
Why exactly do people feel I should have read their post before I responded?  As if that was necessary for me to get my point across.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7853
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2558 on: August 02, 2019, 09:12:01 pm »
I know a lot of you guys have the big higher end stuff, but I'm just a home hobbyist. 

I just picked up a GW Instek GPD-3303S for $199. (+$20 shipping) I was considering a brand new one at well over twice the price.  I'm pretty excited to have gotten it.



By coincidence I also bought one of the GPD-3303S supplies on eBay from that same seller in Maryland and it arrived today. They are a nice supply and in good condition.

If you check the forums you will see that there are 2 versions of this supply where the newer one was redesigned so both the GPD-3303S three output and the GPD4303S four output could use a lot of common parts, including the same main circuit board. From what I read it appears that there was a bug that crept in with the new design that caused some problems. Both you and I got the older version that works like it should. My supply seems to be pretty darn close but I think I'll go through the long calibration procedure in the service manual and check everything out.

Correct. The newer model, which doesn't have any gaps between channels, has an overshoot issue. I don't recall any more which channel it was. The older models is fine. I do recall there was a thread with some potential fixes to the overshooting, in case anyone has the problematic variation.
I TEA.
 

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Country: mx
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2559 on: August 09, 2019, 01:50:20 am »
3 fluke dmms $66.90usd free shipping, they just needed cleaning. now i need find a 8012a and a 8010m-05  ;D

best regards


Pio
« Last Edit: August 09, 2019, 01:53:43 am by yo0 »
 

Online artag

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 364
  • Country: gb
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2560 on: August 12, 2019, 07:46:22 pm »
I think I spot a Marconi 2370 spectrum analyser. Seriously weird bit of kit with a very early storage technology. Didn't realise they'd got across the Atlantic. And maybe a Gould storage scope above the Keithley ?

« Last Edit: August 12, 2019, 07:48:49 pm by artag »
 

Offline Neomys Sapiens

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1151
  • Country: de
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2561 on: August 13, 2019, 08:46:16 pm »
Good grab. The Gossen Mavo30 will leave me again into a lady engineer's hands, as I shot myself a TekMeter THM560 for 100.-
That was a good deal.
I bought the THM565 a while back a little more.
Do you have the computer adaptor for yours?
 

Online Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1432
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2562 on: August 14, 2019, 05:20:55 pm »
Didn't realise they'd got across the Atlantic.

Apparently they did ;) Unfortunately without the connecting cable. |O

Quote
And maybe a Gould storage scope above the Keithley ?

Wiltron/Anritsu 5447A scalar 20GHz system. Doesn't boot yet, though.
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Online Dek

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2563 on: August 14, 2019, 08:31:11 pm »
My 3457a arrived and looks OK.
The mains filter had already spued its guts, not too much mess compared to some I've seen and now replaced.
Battery voltage OK.
Quick test using my basic hand DMM and the 3457 appears to work on DCV DCI and resistance. AC ranges to check.
So far so good :-)

Dek
 

Online Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1432
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2564 on: August 14, 2019, 08:55:06 pm »
Schafner with RIFA inside. Love those. Spill guts all over the place, sticky as hell.
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Offline Ysjoelfir

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 407
  • Country: de
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2565 on: August 23, 2019, 10:31:00 pm »
Just scored this nice Thermo Hygrograph für a whopping 20€. It was "defective" and according to the seller the motor was "not working".
So, after I received it, I replaced the old, leaky battery and... well.. suprise suprise, it works. Needs to be calibrated though. I don't think that I have 15%rh inside here (and 70% after completely soaking the horse hair...).



Greetings, Kai \ Ysjoelfir
 

Offline L_Euler

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2566 on: August 28, 2019, 01:33:37 am »
Tek TM502A w/toolbox insert
Tek AM503B in perfect condition
Tek A6302 current probe

All functioning correctly and in really nice condition $225 shipped. Initially I just wanted the two slot chassis for calibration of other TM modules. With the outer cover removed the module internals are accessible without extender cards.
There's no point to getting old if you don't have stories.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17459
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2567 on: September 20, 2019, 11:30:51 am »
I just pulled the trigger on oscilloscope number 15 (if I got the count right)... this time it is a Lecroy Wavepro 7200A in 'for parts' condition for $400 on Ebay. Looks complete from the pictures but the front bezel is broken. See what the mailman drags in. This would be my first real (not rebadged) Lecroy oscilloscope.

839870-0

The display doesn't work so I hope the VGA output on the rear shows some signs of life.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2019, 11:34:31 am by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Commander_Spock

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: fr
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2568 on: September 20, 2019, 12:00:02 pm »
Received this old 100 Ohms precision resistor bought on ebay (50usd + shipping).
This had been built by Rivlin Instrument Ltd and i found on the internet they closed in 1973.
Looking at the serial number appearing on the top i see it end with /70 so i guess this had been build in 1970.
I know that resistor precision evolve around time and saw somewhere that NIST consider that after 25 years their characteristics start to be very stable... if all this is true as this baby is now 48 years old it should be very stable and reliable over time...

If you look one of the screw is masked by somekind of red something that bear the initial of the company proving nobody ever opened it...
I tried to test it with a brymen bm869s give 100.86 ohms and a unit-t 61e shows 100.95 ohms (both measured made using the same wires) and even if this is not 4 wires measurement it looks good so far... will need to find somebody owning a better multimeter to try a 4 wire measurement... or will have to wait i buy one..

If anybody know more about this equipment or own one will be happy to get comments...

« Last Edit: September 20, 2019, 01:35:00 pm by Commander_Spock »
 

Online Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1432
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2569 on: September 20, 2019, 12:35:47 pm »
I just pulled the trigger on oscilloscope number 15 (if I got the count right)... this time it is a Lecroy Wavepro 7200A in 'for parts' condition for $400 on Ebay. Looks complete from the pictures but the front bezel is broken. See what the mailman drags in. This would be my first real (not rebadged) Lecroy oscilloscope.

(Attachment Link)

The display doesn't work so I hope the VGA output on the rear shows some signs of life.

I'm interested in that bezel, regardless of the state.

Display: got two of them (kinda) a while a go, both with bad CCFL tubes. Should have VGA in that case.
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17459
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2570 on: September 20, 2019, 01:30:00 pm »
I just pulled the trigger on oscilloscope number 15 (if I got the count right)... this time it is a Lecroy Wavepro 7200A in 'for parts' condition for $400 on Ebay. Looks complete from the pictures but the front bezel is broken. See what the mailman drags in. This would be my first real (not rebadged) Lecroy oscilloscope.

(Attachment Link)

The display doesn't work so I hope the VGA output on the rear shows some signs of life.
I'm interested in that bezel, regardless of the state.

Display: got two of them (kinda) a while a go, both with bad CCFL tubes. Should have VGA in that case.
If it is just the CCFL then it will be a simple fix. I have a few CCFL to LED conversion kits somewhere so I could put these to good use. Fingers crossed. I'm not looking for a big fixer-upper project right now but could use the bandwidth for an ongoing project.

Can't help with the bezel though; I'd like to keep it. I can probably glue it together.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2019, 01:32:50 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Online lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2571 on: September 20, 2019, 02:04:13 pm »
I just pulled the trigger on oscilloscope number 15 (if I got the count right)... this time it is a Lecroy Wavepro 7200A in 'for parts' condition for $400 on Ebay. Looks complete from the pictures but the front bezel is broken. See what the mailman drags in. This would be my first real (not rebadged) Lecroy oscilloscope.

Congrats! Recently I've also scored similar scope (DDA-3000 - essentially WP7300A), although not that cheap :) It came without the bezel entirely, so I had to go through the ordeal of 3D printing, gluing, poly putty, sanding, painting etc. Worked out, but not very pretty - my poor manual skills. (Big thanks to Mechatrommer for providing the 3D model).

I wouldn't worry about the display - you will probably want to upgrade the PC parts and put new XGA panel (like I did) or even iPad Retina panel anyway (see the big DDA3000 modding thread).
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17459
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2572 on: September 20, 2019, 10:45:50 pm »
Why do I suddenly get the idea to mill a new bezel from wood?  >:D
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2026
  • Country: hr
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2573 on: September 20, 2019, 11:31:51 pm »
Why do I suddenly get the idea to mill a new bezel from wood?  >:D

LOL!! Deluxe edition...
 

Online Cubdriver

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2325
  • Country: us
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2574 on: Yesterday at 12:03:56 am »
Why do I suddenly get the idea to mill a new bezel from wood?  >:D

LOL!! Deluxe edition...

Add some harvest gold tassels to frame the display, and you can go full-on 70s era pimped-out scope!

-Pat
If it jams, force it.  If it breaks, you needed a new one anyway...
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf