Author Topic: List your test equipment "scores" here!  (Read 491257 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline MasterTech

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 881
  • Country: 00
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2575 on: September 21, 2019, 02:34:16 am »
That bezel is easily repairable, get some fine wire mesh (https://www.twpinc.com/80-mesh-t316-stainless-0037), cut small strips with scissors, put them to red glow with a small torch, and quickly apply the srip at the back of the bezel with tweezers just where the crack is. If you do it properly the heat melts the plastic and embeds the mesh inside, giving you a durable and strong bond, unlike glues
 
The following users thanked this post: Berni, nctnico

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2576 on: September 21, 2019, 10:35:09 am »
Why do I suddenly get the idea to mill a new bezel from wood?  >:D

I actually had the idea to have a batch of these bezels run and sell them for, say, 100€/pop. Might still do that some day..
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17630
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2577 on: September 21, 2019, 10:42:30 am »
Why do I suddenly get the idea to mill a new bezel from wood?  >:D

I actually had the idea to have a batch of these bezels run and sell them for, say, 100€/pop. Might still do that some day..
For that price I expect a chrome trim  8)
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: 2N3055

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15977
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2578 on: September 21, 2019, 10:45:56 am »
I just pulled the trigger on oscilloscope number 15 (if I got the count right)... this time it is a Lecroy Wavepro 7200A in 'for parts' condition for $400 on Ebay. Looks complete from the pictures but the front bezel is broken. See what the mailman drags in. This would be my first real (not rebadged) Lecroy oscilloscope.

The display doesn't work so I hope the VGA output on the rear shows some signs of life.
A brave move after all your comments over the years about LeCroy's lack of Peak detect.
I'm sure it will serve you well.  :)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17630
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2579 on: September 21, 2019, 11:27:00 am »
I just pulled the trigger on oscilloscope number 15 (if I got the count right)... this time it is a Lecroy Wavepro 7200A in 'for parts' condition for $400 on Ebay. Looks complete from the pictures but the front bezel is broken. See what the mailman drags in. This would be my first real (not rebadged) Lecroy oscilloscope.

The display doesn't work so I hope the VGA output on the rear shows some signs of life.
A brave move after all your comments over the years about LeCroy's lack of Peak detect.
I'm sure it will serve you well.  :)
Well.. I didn't buy it as a general purpose oscilloscope but purely for the bandwidth / signal analysis capabilities. I don't expect to use it often. The price was just too good to let it pass.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2019, 11:29:21 am by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2580 on: September 21, 2019, 11:48:07 am »
Why do I suddenly get the idea to mill a new bezel from wood?  >:D

I actually had the idea to have a batch of these bezels run and sell them for, say, 100€/pop. Might still do that some day..
For that price I expect a chrome trim  8)

I payed more for one some time ago. 3D printing one is more expensive if you have it done and looks worse. What you have there is a machine of a few k€. If you want to sell it, you can probably up the price a few hundred 100€ with a decent bezel. Eh, well, don't have the cash for it right now. And maybe I'll add chrome trim  :-DD
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2581 on: September 21, 2019, 12:59:18 pm »
I payed more for one some time ago. 3D printing one is more expensive if you have it done and looks worse. What you have there is a machine of a few k€. If you want to sell it, you can probably up the price a few hundred 100€ with a decent bezel. Eh, well, don't have the cash for it right now. And maybe I'll add chrome trim  :-DD

After I made mine I found this auction:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/273985841170

So that might be an option for you, no messy work needed and 48h of 3D printing.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17630
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2582 on: September 21, 2019, 01:02:33 pm »
Sorry but I wouldn't pay $70 for that. Does anyone have a 3D model for the bezel? I can ask the company I outsource 3D design & printing to if they can print it in one piece and see how much it will cost.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Online Martin.M

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 631
  • Country: de
  • in Tek we trust
    • vintage Tek collection
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2583 on: September 21, 2019, 03:43:03 pm »
P6042, for a handshake.

 

Offline lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2584 on: September 21, 2019, 09:11:09 pm »
Sorry but I wouldn't pay $70 for that. Does anyone have a 3D model for the bezel? I can ask the company I outsource 3D design & printing to if they can print it in one piece and see how much it will cost.

Courtesy of Mechatrommer:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/upgrading-mainboard-in-lecroy-dda-3000-(aka-wavepro-7300a)/msg2060719/#msg2060719

I also wouldn't pay $70, that's why I printed it myself with PLA, but had to do in 6 parts, so then gluing, putty, sanding, painting, mess etc. I thought about "outsourcing" it as you say, it would be nice to have it SLS printed in one piece, but these outsource 3D printing shops charge min 40 GBP and probably much more for such big model and that's probably not even SLS, just FDM for that price.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17630
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2585 on: September 21, 2019, 09:43:53 pm »
Sorry but I wouldn't pay $70 for that. Does anyone have a 3D model for the bezel? I can ask the company I outsource 3D design & printing to if they can print it in one piece and see how much it will cost.

Courtesy of Mechatrommer:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/upgrading-mainboard-in-lecroy-dda-3000-(aka-wavepro-7300a)/msg2060719/#msg2060719

I also wouldn't pay $70, that's why I printed it myself with PLA, but had to do in 6 parts, so then gluing, putty, sanding, painting, mess etc. I thought about "outsourcing" it as you say, it would be nice to have it SLS printed in one piece, but these outsource 3D printing shops charge min 40 GBP and probably much more for such big model and that's probably not even SLS, just FDM for that price.
Thanks for linking to the 3D models. I just mailed the model to my '3D printing guy'. See what he comes up with...
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17630
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2586 on: September 24, 2019, 04:04:22 pm »
Well the 7200A has arrived!
There is output on the VGA port at the rear but during boot it gives a blue screen and then resets. I'm going to try a fresh install on an SSD first.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2587 on: September 24, 2019, 06:26:02 pm »
Well the 7200A has arrived!
There is output on the VGA port at the rear but during boot it gives a blue screen and then resets. I'm going to try a fresh install on an SSD first.

Remember to preserve D:\Calibration directory from the original HDD!
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17630
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2588 on: September 24, 2019, 08:49:51 pm »
Well the 7200A has arrived!
There is output on the VGA port at the rear but during boot it gives a blue screen and then resets. I'm going to try a fresh install on an SSD first.

Remember to preserve D:\Calibration directory from the original HDD!
That is going to be a problem... Meanwhile I managed to re-install Windows XP on an SSD and start the oscilloscope software but I have found some issues:

1a) The factory calibration data is missing. It seems there is an extra partition on the original drive but Windows XP says it is not formatted; I guess the calibration data is stored here. I have not made any attempts to restore the partition.
1b) I ran the self calibration routine. Is this enough to have some basic calibration or are the factory calibrations mandatory?
2) The oscilloscope keeps clicking relays and the waveform update is really slow. A new trace every few seconds.
3) Channel 2 seems to have a problem with the attenuation. Channels 1, 3 and 4 seem consistent
4) The traces appear to be very noisy (full bandwidth) coupled 1MOhm from the aux output (1kHz 1V)
5) I tried to run the self tests from the service menu but it says failed immediately without a message

There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2589 on: September 24, 2019, 09:19:31 pm »
1a) The factory calibration data is missing. It seems there is an extra partition on the original drive but Windows XP says it is not formatted; I guess the calibration data is stored here. I have not made any attempts to restore the partition.

Try some file/partition recovery with your favourite tool of choice. The directory is normally hidden.

1b) I ran the self calibration routine. Is this enough to have some basic calibration or are the factory calibrations mandatory?

Yes and no. In theory there is, on some scopes, a backup of these files in some EEPROM memory on the acquisition board. See more in this great thread:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/lecroy-x-stream-calibration-data-and-storage/

2) The oscilloscope keeps clicking relays and the waveform update is really slow. A new trace every few seconds.
3) Channel 2 seems to have a problem with the attenuation. Channels 1, 3 and 4 seem consistent
4) The traces appear to be very noisy (full bandwidth) coupled 1MOhm from the aux output (1kHz 1V)

Without calibration files all bets are off - I had for example bad trigger threshold levels on one of my scopes when I forgot about Calibration.

In the service menu open the log viewer and inspect all the types of logs for errors, maybe some clue will be there. Maybe it is both messed up calibration and real HW faults.

5) I tried to run the self tests from the service menu but it says failed immediately without a message

I'm not aware of any tests in the service menu apart from FP tests - be very careful there anyway. AFAIR all self tests happen at app startup.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17630
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2590 on: September 24, 2019, 09:34:05 pm »
Thanks for pointing to that thread. At least I know I have to get that partition recovered somehow.

Edit: Progress! I swapped the channel 2 attenuator with the aux attenuator and now the channels work. I took the opportunity to clean the contacts between the attenuators as well. Now all channels seem to work (at least in 1M Ohm mode). Getting the channel 2 attenuator out was a major PITA. There is a threaded standoff which got lose instead of the screw. In the end I managed to get it lose but I nearly got to the point to just try and break the screw. I'm not a fan of Lecroy's mechanical design 'skills'.

Edit2: In the process I have found a burned tantalum capacitor.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2019, 12:41:31 am by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline AngraMelo

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 212
  • Country: br
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2591 on: September 25, 2019, 12:16:24 am »
Following the kiss and tell spirit:

A Newtronics 200MSTPC AM-FM-Sweep/Pulse/ Function Generator for free. Guy sold to me and it didnt work on arrival. He was very nice and gave me the money back. I found a ton of cold solder joints and problems is fixed.

A Advantest Universal Counter TR5821 for $50. It was listed as needing 100Vac (Japanese model?). Here in Brazil is all 220Vac and 110/137Vac So I pulled the trigger anyway. When it arrived I opened it up and the main power transformer has all the taps necessary. Moved a couple of wires and now it is a 220Vac unit!

A Fluke 87-V, swapped a random old guitar pedal for it. Came broken, wouldnt turn off and displaying BATT. Fixed the damn thing with the help of you guys!

Yesterday was the last one. A Tektronix TDS-1001c-30edu. Nice 2 channels and 30mhz scope, looks brand new. Guy wanted $100 but was happy with $50.
 

Offline CJay

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3313
  • Country: gb
  • M0UAW
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2592 on: September 25, 2019, 09:11:54 am »
M0UAW
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2593 on: September 25, 2019, 09:50:37 am »
Thanks for pointing to that thread. At least I know I have to get that partition recovered somehow.

Edit: Progress! I swapped the channel 2 attenuator with the aux attenuator and now the channels work. I took the opportunity to clean the contacts between the attenuators as well. Now all channels seem to work (at least in 1M Ohm mode). Getting the channel 2 attenuator out was a major PITA. There is a threaded standoff which got lose instead of the screw. In the end I managed to get it lose but I nearly got to the point to just try and break the screw. I'm not a fan of Lecroy's mechanical design 'skills'.

Edit2: In the process I have found a burned tantalum capacitor.

I have found worn RF relays to cause excessive noise in the past as well.

EDIT: On other LEcroys, I found slow updates to be cause by having a loth of math overlays/traces/calculations to be active.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2019, 10:04:24 am by Ice-Tea »
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2594 on: September 25, 2019, 10:13:46 am »
Thanks for pointing to that thread. At least I know I have to get that partition recovered somehow.

Edit: Progress! I swapped the channel 2 attenuator with the aux attenuator and now the channels work. I took the opportunity to clean the contacts between the attenuators as well. Now all channels seem to work (at least in 1M Ohm mode). Getting the channel 2 attenuator out was a major PITA. There is a threaded standoff which got lose instead of the screw. In the end I managed to get it lose but I nearly got to the point to just try and break the screw. I'm not a fan of Lecroy's mechanical design 'skills'.

Edit2: In the process I have found a burned tantalum capacitor.

Good progress. By all channels work you mean all but aux? If reseating and cleaning fixed all (all!) of them I'd undo the swap - the calibration files are matched to each FE I think.

BTW, check the big DDA-3000 thread, maybe with Converter's help you can hack it to 7300A
 

Offline Neomys Sapiens

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1208
  • Country: de
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2595 on: September 25, 2019, 08:48:04 pm »
P6042, for a handshake.

(Attachment Link)
What did you use to shake the hand?
 

Online ArthurDent

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 860
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2596 on: September 29, 2019, 08:52:48 pm »
This is related to test equipment "scores" even though it isn't actually test equipment. We were at a antique/junk store today when my wife pointed out what looked like a large roll of steel wire but she noticed it said 'Kester Solder' on the spool. The spool was over 15 pounds of 40/60 alloy .081" (2mm) rosin core solder. While I'd prefer 60/40 and smaller diameter solder getting over 15 pounds of solder for $10 isn't something I'm going to pass up!

 

Offline rsjsouza

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3386
  • Country: us
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2597 on: September 29, 2019, 10:06:00 pm »
This is related to test equipment "scores" even though it isn't actually test equipment. We were at a antique/junk store today when my wife pointed out what looked like a large roll of steel wire but she noticed it said 'Kester Solder' on the spool. The spool was over 15 pounds of 40/60 alloy .081" (2mm) rosin core solder. While I'd prefer 60/40 and smaller diameter solder getting over 15 pounds of solder for $10 isn't something I'm going to pass up!
That is certainly quite interesting. One detail, though: I always heard about soldering going "old" after some time and losing its best features. I have never seen any real "proof" about this, but I wonder if the drit/grime on is outer layer would be the main reason. What do you think?
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com

Oh, the "whys" of the datasheets... The information is there not to be an axiomatic truth, but instead each speck of data must be slowly inhaled while carefully performing a deep search inside oneself to find the true metaphysical sense...
 

Offline Ysjoelfir

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 421
  • Country: de
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2598 on: September 30, 2019, 06:47:23 am »
That is certainly quite interesting. One detail, though: I always heard about soldering going "old" after some time and losing its best features. I have never seen any real "proof" about this, but I wonder if the drit/grime on is outer layer would be the main reason. What do you think?

Right now I am using up a spool of at least 30 years old solder. (it already existed when I was born..) Works a treat if you keep your iron clean. sure, modern solder is better in many ways, but that stuff is definitely still useable.
Greetings, Kai \ Ysjoelfir
 

Online beanflying

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3673
  • Country: au
  • Toys so very many Toys.
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #2599 on: September 30, 2019, 07:00:11 am »
I found this crusty old spool of 5 core a few months back in one of Dad's toolboxes that would have been circa 40 years old or more. Smokey as all get out as it has a high flux content but works fine. I still have some on another formerly 2kg spool my Uncle gave me over 30 years ago that is my normal heavier solder.

Leaded all the way - sorry EU members >:D
Coffee, Food, R/C and electronics nerd in no particular order :)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf