Author Topic: MDO3000 hacking  (Read 70772 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline analogRF

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 611
  • Country: ca
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #175 on: September 16, 2020, 12:35:12 am »
Hi
I know that 1GHZ option will not upgrade the BW without HW replacement but what exactly happens if one enables this option on a MDO30x4 ?
will the scope be out of cal? will it pass SPC? will is pass self test?
I dont care if the BW does not go higher than 500MHz but I would like to have the 5Gs/s sample rate
 

Offline analogRF

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 611
  • Country: ca
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #176 on: September 22, 2020, 09:47:42 pm »
I got my MDO3014 today and, thanks to the people in this thread, it is now liberated from all that marketing junk  :) :) :-+
I also upgraded the firmware to 1.30 (from 1.22) after the mod and then ran SPC

Before the mod, I measured the 3dB BW and it was actually around 250-260MHz  :o  did anybody notice that before?
After the upgrade it is 570-580MHz on all channels  >:D >:D :-+  the scope can trigger stably up to 700MHz

All other options also work. The SA works up to 3GHz and it is a very nice handy thing to have but it never replaces a real SA at all.
It has a pretty good noise floor and pretty accurate readings. However there are two visible spurs at 1.25GHz and 2.5GHz which is obvious why...

The integrated AFG is very very limited (no sweep and no modulation and low amplitude) clearly it is because they wanted to save their AFG market


However, I am still wondering what happens if 1GHz option is selected? Will the scope fail self test or SPC? Is it possible to exactly go back to the previous state (500MHz) with no consequence?
Did anybody ever try the 1GHz option?

I dont care about not reaching 1GHz but I want to have the 5Gs/s and <1ns/div. is that possible?

 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4967
  • Country: gb
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #177 on: September 23, 2020, 01:55:08 pm »
I dont care about not reaching 1GHz but I want to have the 5Gs/s and <1ns/div. is that possible?

IME not just by using the 1GHz or bandwidth upgrade options. I believe there's a hardware change on the analog board, but how the scope know I don't know. If you try to use the 1GHz or BW5T10 options for example, it just goes back to 100MHz on my MDO3014.
 

Offline analogRF

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 611
  • Country: ca
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #178 on: September 23, 2020, 01:59:30 pm »
I dont care about not reaching 1GHz but I want to have the 5Gs/s and <1ns/div. is that possible?

IME not just by using the 1GHz or bandwidth upgrade options. I believe there's a hardware change on the analog board, but how the scope know I don't know. If you try to use the 1GHz or BW5T10 options for example, it just goes back to 100MHz on my MDO3014.

oh, so you have tried it? so basically nothing happens and goes back to stock, right?


by the way when I was trying to measure the 3dB BW of the scope,  I realized that it is wrong to rely on the scope's RMS measurement reading. Only rely on the pk-pk reading or even better just rely on the pk-pk with your own eyes. The RMS measurement goes way off as the frequency is increased even way below the 500MHz, this measurement is not accurate anymore
 

Offline analogRF

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 611
  • Country: ca
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #179 on: September 23, 2020, 02:01:53 pm »
I thought only the front end is different than the 1GHz version but the acquisition parts are the same, i mean same ADC etc...so I was hoping to get the 5Gs/s at least...too bad
 

Offline analogRF

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 611
  • Country: ca
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #180 on: September 23, 2020, 02:37:31 pm »
I dont care about not reaching 1GHz but I want to have the 5Gs/s and <1ns/div. is that possible?

IME not just by using the 1GHz or bandwidth upgrade options. I believe there's a hardware change on the analog board, but how the scope know I don't know. If you try to use the 1GHz or BW5T10 options for example, it just goes back to 100MHz on my MDO3014.

probably there are some ID resistors that must be changed too...still I think the only difference must be just he front end, so 5gs/s should be possible...
 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4967
  • Country: gb
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #181 on: September 23, 2020, 03:26:04 pm »
I thought only the front end is different than the 1GHz version but the acquisition parts are the same, i mean same ADC etc...so I was hoping to get the 5Gs/s at least...too bad

Yes, that's the analog board. Take a look at the service manual. The ADCs are on the main acquisition board.

Edit: see: https://youtu.be/VFX47ZGOn_o?t=1551

« Last Edit: September 23, 2020, 03:47:27 pm by Howardlong »
 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4967
  • Country: gb
Re: MDO3000 hacking
« Reply #182 on: September 23, 2020, 03:45:14 pm »
I dont care about not reaching 1GHz but I want to have the 5Gs/s and <1ns/div. is that possible?

IME not just by using the 1GHz or bandwidth upgrade options. I believe there's a hardware change on the analog board, but how the scope know I don't know. If you try to use the 1GHz or BW5T10 options for example, it just goes back to 100MHz on my MDO3014.

probably there are some ID resistors that must be changed too...still I think the only difference must be just he front end, so 5gs/s should be possible...

This is different behaviour to the MDO4054C-SA6 I have, I can upgrade that to 1GHz & 5GSa/s by installing the appropriate options, and it works, however it displays a red error at the top of the screen about calibration which can be temporarily disabled, but it comes back on after a reboot.

MDO4000C upgrade to 1GHz:
Code: [Select]
gen.py MDO4054C C012345 500MHz DVM DDU AFG BW5T10 MSO TRIG EMBD COMP ENET USB PWR AUDIO AERO AUTOMAX LMT VID SEC

Edit: I have attempted a calibration on the MDO4000C but it gets stuck at one of the many dozen tests close to the end, and I don't have the right documentation to tell me where I might be going wrong.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2020, 03:55:29 pm by Howardlong »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf