Products > Test Equipment

Medical Grade Iso Transformer Mod - question (again)

(1/2) > >>

psap:
I have searched and read and watched on this topic but they all seem to be a little different and I am new at this. Could you please take a look at my annotated pic and let me know if I am doing this correctly?

The application is for safely testing vintage stereo amplifiers. I will also have a variac (soon) and will make the popular light bulb current limiter.
The device in question is another cheap surplus hospital grade iso transformer.

I have disconnected the coil secondary ground and all of the grounds to the outlets including the one to the outlet neutral (don't worry I will insulate all of those connectors). I have left the chassis ground from the incoming power cord. The outlets are still grounded to the chassis from their mechanical connection. So I still have continuity from the mains ground plug to the secondary outlet ground lug.

So, have I done all that I can do and now still need to use a 3-2 plug adapter for the DUT? If I understand all the lessons, you don't want the DUT ground the same as the mains - right? which this still is - yes?

Gregg:
Before you get too complacent thinking feeling safe about your personal safety as well as keeping your gear from letting out sparks and smoke; you need to really understand what an isolation transformer does and even more important, what it doesn’t do as well as how to wire everything appropriately.  You probably will get a lot of safety cautions on this forum.
A good and concise discussion is on the DigiKey website:
https://www.digikey.com/en/articles/the-basics-of-isolation-transformers-and-how-to-select-and-use-them
The wire you labeled ‘coil secondary ground’ is a Faraday shield that should be grounded to the ‘mains ground’.