Author Topic: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z  (Read 413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sudobash

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« on: April 23, 2019, 06:37:12 pm »
Hi all,

Been a lurker here, but I've got an issue that I can't solve on my own now. I have gotten a new scope for work that I am 90% happy with, but I have a few issues with. I have a MSO1104Z (My work bought it so it is not a hacked one either). My main use is the logic analyzer, and I want to download the data to my computer to use sigrok and other custom tools on. I can save a CSV to a flashdrive, but that takes several minutes(!) to complete, and ain't nobody got time for that!

I got really excited trying out SCPI commands on it, and I (thought) that I had figured out how to download the LA data. I've been using these commands:

Code: [Select]
:STOP
:WAV:MODE RAW
:WAV:FORM BYTE
:WAV:SOUR D0
:WAV:STAR 1
:WAV:STOP 120000
:WAV:PRE?
0,2,1200,1,1.000000e-09,2.300000e-07,0,0.000000e+00,0,0
:WAV:DATA?
 #9000001200


I thought that this would dump out the D0-D7 LA values as byte bitmasks. That is what the DS1000Z Programming Guide suggests to me. But it just outputs the header #9000001200 and no data.  :(

I've retried this with :WAV:SOUR CHAN1 and it worked as expected. I piped the data I got through hexdump -e '1/1 "%1u\n"' and into gnuplot and I got a graph just like what I saw on the screen. But I need the LA values, not the voltage probe ones.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there some workaround for this? Anybody with a DSO1104Z scope (or upgraded equivalent) able to reproduce this?

Thanks!

Edit: I should also mention that with :WAV:SOUR CHAN1 I have only been able to get proper results with :WAV:MODE NORM not :WAV:MODE RAW
Edit2: Perhaps I should also say that I am going at this over Ethernet with nc 10.0.0.74 5555
« Last Edit: April 23, 2019, 06:51:10 pm by sudobash »
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9728
  • Country: 00
Re: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2019, 08:15:21 pm »
It probably doesn't like your value for "STOP"

Try querying STOP and see what it says. Try reading a smaller amount.


« Last Edit: April 23, 2019, 08:16:57 pm by Fungus »
 

Offline sudobash

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2019, 09:08:11 pm »
Thanks for the reply. By "STOP" do you mean ":WAV:STOP"? I just tried 1200, 500, and even 12 with no difference (except the #9000001200 header changed)
 

Offline smithnerd

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 101
  • Country: gb
Re: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2019, 09:54:42 pm »
Try setting :WAV:SOUR D0 as the first operation?
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8941
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2019, 10:04:06 pm »
i think he meant :STOP up above. you have to give DSO sometime to really in STOP mode before getting data. retry by either

1) removing that :STOP command but manually press STOP button on DSO, until it really stopped then run the get data command. see if any difference.
2) after :STOP command, do loop by checking :MODE (iirc) command, if it returns "STOP" then proceed with data download.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/upload-a-full-mso7000-la-buffer/msg2072149/#msg2072149
ymmv.
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline sudobash

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2019, 11:41:58 pm »
@Mechatrommer
Quote
i think he meant :STOP up above. you have to give DSO sometime to really in STOP mode before getting data. retry by either

1) removing that :STOP command but manually press STOP button on DSO, until it really stopped then run the get data command. see if any difference.

I made sure that the Stop button was lit red before I tried running my commands.

@smithnerd
Quote
Try setting :WAV:SOUR D0 as the first operation?

I tried that, and got the same results:

Code: [Select]
:WAV:SOUR D0
:WAV:MODE RAW
:WAV:FORM BYTE
:WAV:STAR 1
:WAV:STOP 100
:WAV:DATA?
 #9000000100


All the examples I see are using ":WAV:SOUR CHAN1"
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9728
  • Country: 00
Re: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2019, 06:46:27 am »
Thanks for the reply. By "STOP" do you mean ":WAV:STOP"? I just tried 1200, 500, and even 12 with no difference (except the #9000001200 header changed)

Yes.

You're seeing "#9000001200" in the reply so obviously it's not accepting the ":WAV:STOP 120000" command.


 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9728
  • Country: 00
Re: Need help getting :WAV:DATA? on MSO1104Z
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2019, 06:50:48 am »
Edit: I should also mention that with :WAV:SOUR CHAN1 I have only been able to get proper results with :WAV:MODE NORM not :WAV:MODE RAW

That's very suspicious, I'd start investigating there.

I don't have an MSO but I've definitely read data in RAW mode, no problem.

Edit2: Perhaps I should also say that I am going at this over Ethernet with nc 10.0.0.74 5555

That's the preferred way to do it.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf