Author Topic: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.  (Read 61322 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #350 on: May 30, 2020, 07:59:01 pm »
Okay you've convinced me. ^-^
So no Riglol at all with this unit..
Just a model change and we're done. (all the options plus the clearer screen)
I know it's been said before but since the DP832 doesn't come with the LAN I guess the SCPI command is to be executed via the UltraSigma software, yes?

If so I need to be on a Windows PC to do it.
 

Online RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2378
  • Country: ro
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #351 on: May 30, 2020, 08:24:04 pm »
No.  All the hardware is present in all units.  DP832 or DP832A are identical in hardware no matter what options they had at the buying moment.  You will have both LAN and RS232, and LXI and everything, and in either case you won't need ultra sigma anyway.  Nobody uses that.   ;D

The only difference between a DP832 and DP832A is the front panel that is painted in many colors for the DP832A version.

You'll have everything possible like it would be with the most expensive DP832A.

Stop warring and in the meantime read the user manual and the programming manual, or even better before the manuals (if you plan to control the power source remotely) search online for introductory info about the SCPI standard.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2020, 08:32:11 pm by RoGeorge »
 

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #352 on: May 30, 2020, 08:30:00 pm »
No, I mean in order to initially get my DP832 to change to the "A" model wouldn't I need to connect it w/USB in order to send the command?

Since it won't come with the LAN option enabled I can't just insert the USB drive, connect it to my LAN and nc or telnet the command into it..

 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1644
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #353 on: May 30, 2020, 08:35:40 pm »
You can use Riglol to add LAN to a DP832 and then Telnet to it via LAN to do the model change.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #354 on: May 30, 2020, 08:39:38 pm »
True , but I was thinking in terms of keeping all changes reversible just in case.
It's very nice that you can essentially enjoy all the extra features of the "A" variant without losing your warranty.
But I could always try the USB method and the UltraSigma software for just once.
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1644
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #355 on: May 30, 2020, 10:11:25 pm »
You can change it back to a DP832 and then issue a SCPI command to remove all options.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #356 on: May 30, 2020, 10:12:24 pm »
Oh, I didn't know that.
Great!Thanks:)
 

Offline jcfoto

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: fr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #357 on: June 02, 2020, 09:25:50 am »
Hello.
Thanks for guy' that made an fantastic work. My news devices, bought in spring 2020, are betters whith yours reserches :      :clap:
DP832 -> DP832A - news colors but, also (must !) better définited ( mV and mA)
*IDN? -> RIGOL TECHNOLOGIES,DP832,DP8Cxxxxxxxxxxxx,00.01.16

DG1022Z -> DG1062Z - Sinus fréquency max = 60MHz ( saw with scope) and memory up to 16 MB in no limit trial mode.
*IDN? -> Rigol Technologies,DG1022Z,DG1ZAxxxxxxxxxxxxx,03.01.12

One note for DG : square waveforms aren't particulary correct at frequency upper than 1MHz ( transitions are curve !!!). Sinus at 60MHz very correct.
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1644
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #358 on: June 02, 2020, 10:03:43 am »
Zut alors jcfoto, c'est fantastique! Bonne chance.

translation...
Damn jcfoto, that's fantastic! Good luck.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #359 on: June 02, 2020, 11:21:24 am »

One note for DG : square waveforms aren't particulary correct at frequency upper than 1MHz ( transitions are curve !!!). Sinus at 60MHz very correct.

Ι've noticed that as well on my DG1022z; one would think that "upgrading" it to dg1062z would also scale upwards how the square responds for frequencies > 1MHz but it hasn't changed much.
The relationship should be linear since the square is a sum anyways so essentially doubling the BW would also double the limit of a nice square output.
If it was 1meg before, now it should be at least double that.

I've not tested a "before" and "after" to be sure but I too think that square is the same.

With the 25MHz limit an acceptable square output of around 1MHz maybe be expected since a square inherently consists of infinite harmonics to start with and technically *any* BW is not enough to represent it but it's weird that changing the upper BW limit didn't improve the square output much (enough to be noticeable at least)..

EDIT:
I've had a problem (user error probably) after upgrading so for anyone experiencing the same it might be of help.
The peak to peak value was not consistent all the way up to 60MHz.
I had to revert to factory settings in order to have a proper voltage output all the way up to the limit.
But that did not improve the square I think.
Τhen again, the scope also has a BW limit so..
I'd need to change the model back to 1022 and take a diff measurement of some sort to at least have a reference point.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 11:40:16 am by belzrebuth »
 

Online PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4342
  • Country: nl
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #360 on: June 02, 2020, 11:40:14 am »
The specification for all the DG10* models say "Square: 1 μHz to 25 MHz" so I would not expect anything to change.
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 
The following users thanked this post: belzrebuth, Elasia

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #361 on: June 02, 2020, 11:41:46 am »
Yes..
So it's only a higher freq sin the only difference between these models..
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1644
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #362 on: June 02, 2020, 01:30:00 pm »
On my DG1062Z, the square wave output is only a square wave at 10 MHz and then the rise fall times are pretty long (11 nS), by the time it gets to 25MHz, it's pretty much a sine wave.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Offline jcfoto

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: fr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #363 on: June 09, 2020, 03:57:53 pm »
I'd made two recents "print screen" of my DS2202E scope ( full options !) from DG upgraded :
Sinus 59MHz -> Very little Frequency and voltage modulation. It's correct. 5vcc
Square 15MHz -> Very ... funny square signal, is'nt it ? Correct up to 5MHz. 5vcc
For hight frequency square signals, i use µ controlers ( more efficient).

On join "print screen", scales and samples of scope may be readable.
 

Online PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4342
  • Country: nl
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #364 on: June 09, 2020, 05:11:56 pm »
15, 25 and 50MHz square from an upgraded DG4062 on a MSOX3054:

1001522-0

1001524-1

1001526-2
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: se
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #365 on: June 10, 2020, 11:49:38 am »
Just an observation which slightly worries me.

After updating the DP832 from firmware 00.01.16.00.00 to 00.01.16.00.02 I also configured the analog boards by doing the HELP-HELP-M4-M2-M1 and HELP-HELP-M4-M2-M2. Interestingly, the analog version went down a tick after that.

Before upgrading, the analog version was 03.02.05.03.02.05, but after the upgrade it was 03.02.04.03.02.04. It irks me a little bit.
 

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #366 on: June 10, 2020, 01:10:58 pm »
I also configured the analog boards by doing the HELP-HELP-M4-M2-M1 and HELP-HELP-M4-M2-M2.

Sorry but what's this?
This configuring of the analog boards I mean..Wheere did you find this key-pattern?
Is it mentioned in the manual?
I have a problem with my DP832 so it couldn't hurt to try it.

About your problem:
Could you try to downgrade the firmware and then redo the above?

 

Offline edgelog

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: se
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #367 on: June 10, 2020, 01:15:40 pm »
I also configured the analog boards by doing the HELP-HELP-M4-M2-M1 and HELP-HELP-M4-M2-M2.

Sorry but what's this?
This configuring of the analog boards I mean..Wheere did you find this key-pattern?
Is it mentioned in the manual?
I have a problem with my DP832 so it couldn't hurt to try it.

About your problem:
Could you try to downgrade the firmware and then redo the above?

You’ll find this key sequence in earlier messages, but I think I’ve seen it in older release notes as well.

I’m not really having a problem, just a little bit confounded by the version numbers, so I’m not going to downgrade again. Not unless I run into some problem down the road.
 

Offline Fabse

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: de
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #368 on: June 20, 2020, 07:34:23 am »
Hey guys,
can someone pls post the whole compilable source code for the 16M option? I am no coder and I tried my best, but i can not get this thing to compile. I would really appreciate any help :)
 

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #369 on: June 20, 2020, 09:12:21 am »
What operating system are you using?
I could sent you an Linux compiled executable.
 
The following users thanked this post: Fabse

Offline Fabse

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: de
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #370 on: June 20, 2020, 09:32:13 am »
Hello belzrebuth,
a linux executable would be perfect. I guess that's all I need :)
Thank you very much!
 

Offline belzrebuth

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: gr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #371 on: June 20, 2020, 10:22:14 am »
Hello belzrebuth,
a linux executable would be perfect. I guess that's all I need :)
Thank you very much!

Here you are!
 
The following users thanked this post: Fabse

Offline czecht

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP831
« Reply #372 on: June 22, 2020, 02:43:05 am »
I have DP831 and I like to hack it to all updates. Where can I find the information?
Can I just use the DP832 - are they hardware wise the same or not?
Thank you guys!
Tony
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1644
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP831
« Reply #373 on: June 22, 2020, 10:16:15 am »
I have DP831 and I like to hack it to all updates. Where can I find the information?
Can I just use the DP832 - are they hardware wise the same or not?
Thank you guys!
Tony
DP831 and DP832 are different hardware but clearly the DP832 is based on the DP831.  I don't know for sure but I bet that the 'magic' USB stick will allow you to turn a DP831 into a DP831A but not a DP832(A).
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Online TurboTom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 752
  • Country: de
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #374 on: June 22, 2020, 04:18:55 pm »
It works for the DP811 so there's no reason why it shouldn't work with the DP831 which is much closer design-wise to the DP832 than the DP811...
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf