Author Topic: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.  (Read 45240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Trident900fi

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: fr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #225 on: May 26, 2019, 09:41:00 am »
To update your Rigol DL3021 to DL3021A, here is the complete procedure, without the need of buying the LAN option...
You need:
-Computer with RS232 port
-USB stick formatted in FAT32 with the file keyfile.bin from Tossu (many thanks for the hack !)
-Cross cabel RS232 female-female (2->3; 3->2; 5->5)
-Free software Termite from Compuphase (https://www.compuphase.com/software_termite.htm)

Connect everything together. Start the computer first and launch Termite.
Termite Serial port settings:
-Port COM1 (depend on your computer)
-Baud rate 9600
-Data bits 8
-Stop bits 1
-Parity none
-Flow control none
-Forward none
-Transmitted text Append CR-LF

Turn on the DL3021
To check the connection, you can try to type *IDN? in the Termite command line.
He will return the model of your device.
Type in Termite :PROJ:SET MODEL,DL3021A
That all  :D

 

Online Wintel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #226 on: May 26, 2019, 07:29:44 pm »
To update your Rigol DL3021 to DL3021A, here is the complete procedure, without the need of buying the LAN option...
You need:
-Computer with RS232 port
-USB stick formatted in FAT32 with the file keyfile.bin from Tossu (many thanks for the hack !)
-Cross cabel RS232 female-female (2->3; 3->2; 5->5)
-Free software Termite from Compuphase (https://www.compuphase.com/software_termite.htm)

Connect everything together. Start the computer first and launch Termite.
Termite Serial port settings:
-Port COM1 (depend on your computer)
-Baud rate 9600
-Data bits 8
-Stop bits 1
-Parity none
-Flow control none
-Forward none
-Transmitted text Append CR-LF

Turn on the DL3021
To check the connection, you can try to type *IDN? in the Termite command line.
He will return the model of your device.
Type in Termite :PROJ:SET MODEL,DL3021A
That all  :D

Can hack the DC Load DL3021 to DL3031A?  Like the DG811 to DG992?

 

Offline Trident900fi

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: fr
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #227 on: May 26, 2019, 10:11:25 pm »
To update your Rigol DL3021 to DL3021A, here is the complete procedure, without the need of buying the LAN option...
You need:
-Computer with RS232 port
-USB stick formatted in FAT32 with the file keyfile.bin from Tossu (many thanks for the hack !)
-Cross cabel RS232 female-female (2->3; 3->2; 5->5)
-Free software Termite from Compuphase (https://www.compuphase.com/software_termite.htm)

Connect everything together. Start the computer first and launch Termite.
Termite Serial port settings:
-Port COM1 (depend on your computer)
-Baud rate 9600
-Data bits 8
-Stop bits 1
-Parity none
-Flow control none
-Forward none
-Transmitted text Append CR-LF

Turn on the DL3021
To check the connection, you can try to type *IDN? in the Termite command line.
He will return the model of your device.
Type in Termite :PROJ:SET MODEL,DL3021A
That all  :D

Can hack the DC Load DL3021 to DL3031A?  Like the DG811 to DG992?
No, it's not possible, it's not the same hardware inside...
Maybe, if you add the missing components  ;)
 

Offline joad

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: se
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #228 on: June 01, 2019, 06:13:59 pm »
Where do I find the script för extracting all scpi commands like on the DP 800 "dp800_all_commands.txt"

Im looking for scpi commands for calibrating the DL3000.
 

Offline tossu

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: 00
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #229 on: June 06, 2019, 07:52:53 pm »
Where do I find the script för extracting all scpi commands like on the DP 800 "dp800_all_commands.txt"

Im looking for scpi commands for calibrating the DL3000.

There is no fully automated script unless someone else has made one.

Here is a list of commands I have extracted from some version of the DL3000 firmware. There seems to be a bunch of calibration related commands. I hope you will find those usefull.
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #230 on: June 07, 2019, 03:11:26 pm »
This isn't working for me, I tried 2 different USB drives, formatted FAT32 with just the xxx.bin file on them and my gear says it sees a USB drive.

I am directly connected by LAN and can see my DP832 and DG1022Z in RigolBildschirmkopie after search, I can select them then connect to with the SCPI Commant terminal, issue the *IDN? command to them and see the expected response when I hit [Send & Receive] but when I try to send :PROJ:SET MODEL,DP832A/DG1062Z, in both cases I get a response of...

"There was an error when sending the SCPI command" and after that, the device I just tried to send the :PROJ:SET MODEL,XXXX command to is not seen in RigolBildschirmkopie after search until I cycle power.

I tried using telnet via an admin-level windows powershell (Win 10) but that hangs after I type "telnet 10.0.0.xxx 5555".

Any ideas?
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline PeDre

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: at
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #231 on: June 07, 2019, 03:21:31 pm »
"There was an error when sending the SCPI command" and after that, the device I just tried to send the :PROJ:SET MODEL,XXXX command to is not seen in RigolBildschirmkopie after search until I cycle power.

This error is displayed if the device does not confirm that it has received the command. Unfortunately the Rigol devices do not comply with the VXI (LAN) and USBTMC standard.
In this case the command was sent correctly.

Peter
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #232 on: June 07, 2019, 03:41:21 pm »
"There was an error when sending the SCPI command" and after that, the device I just tried to send the :PROJ:SET MODEL,XXXX command to is not seen in RigolBildschirmkopie after search until I cycle power.

This error is displayed if the device does not confirm that it has received the command. Unfortunately the Rigol devices do not comply with the VXI (LAN) and USBTMC standard.
In this case the command was sent correctly.

Peter
Thanks for the reply but the device is not changed to the new model?
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 865
  • Country: pt
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #233 on: June 07, 2019, 03:49:36 pm »
Any ideas?

Try linux to send the command.
 

Offline _Wim_

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 734
  • Country: be
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #234 on: June 07, 2019, 03:56:58 pm »
Thanks for the reply but the device is not changed to the new model?

For the DG1062, the command is :PROJ:STAT MODEL,DG1062Z  (not SET, but maybe both work). I seem to remember I had to put a space between model and the modelnumber :PROJ:STAT MODEL, DG1062Z
 

Offline _Wim_

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 734
  • Country: be
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #235 on: June 07, 2019, 04:00:32 pm »
Any ideas?

Are you sure you can see the contents of the USB key from the Rigol device? You can try to save a file to the key first to ensure you can correctly read the usb key (the Rigol deveices are very picky about the USB keys)
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #236 on: June 07, 2019, 04:45:20 pm »
Any ideas?

Are you sure you can see the contents of the USB key from the Rigol device? You can try to save a file to the key first to ensure you can correctly read the usb key (the Rigol deveices are very picky about the USB keys)
I tried to save a file to the USB drive on the DP832 and it worked just fine.
I tried the :PROJ:STAT MODEL, DG1062Z command via RigolBildschirmkopie and it gave the same error.

I might have suspected firmware upgrade differences but it seems unlikely I'd get the same issue on both if device itself were the problem and the DG1022Z and the DP832 are pretty recently updated (not quite the latest).

Maybe it's the USB drive.  Is there some way I can check that the keyfile.bin file is in the correct location?
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #237 on: June 07, 2019, 05:00:42 pm »
When I send :PROJ:STAT MODEL, DG1062Z to the DG1022Z it (briefly) says on the DG1022Z screen
"error generated by remote interface command"
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #238 on: June 07, 2019, 05:04:18 pm »
Any ideas?

Try linux to send the command.
I'm running up my (old) Ubuntu 16.04 laptop up, what do I need to run to get to the place where I can send a SCPI command to the Rigols?  I'm not a Linux person.
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 865
  • Country: pt
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #239 on: June 07, 2019, 05:06:00 pm »
Any ideas?

Try linux to send the command.
I'm running up my (old) Ubuntu 16.04 laptop up, what do I need to run to get to the place where I can send a SCPI command to the Rigols?  I'm not a Linux person.

You telnet to 10.0.0.xxx 5555 and write the command directly.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2019, 08:53:52 am by tv84 »
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #240 on: June 07, 2019, 05:22:34 pm »
I get into Ubuntu terminal with Ctl-Alt-T and get to a command prompt, it didn't recognize telnet

So I tried sudo apt-get install xinetd telnetd and it prompted me for password then it says...

"Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

As I said, I'm not a Linux person

[EDIT] I got past that, I was able to run sudo apt-get install -y xinetd telnetd

and it seemed to work but now I can't get telnet to run when I try to...

telnet 10.0.0.128:5555 I get

"could not resolve 10.0.0.128:5555: name or service not known"

I tried rebooting
« Last Edit: June 07, 2019, 07:14:37 pm by Gandalf_Sr »
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline smithnerd

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 101
  • Country: gb
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #241 on: June 08, 2019, 04:24:10 am »
Replace the colon with a space:

Code: [Select]
telnet 10.0.0.128 5555
host:port is a common convention for many UNIX tools, but not telnet (it is ancient).
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 865
  • Country: pt
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #242 on: June 08, 2019, 08:48:41 am »
host:port is a common convention for many UNIX tools, but not telnet (it is ancient).

My bad!  |O   (addicted to automatic logins...)


Assuming that the IP of your DG is 10.0.0.128, do:

"nmap -p- 10.0.0.128" in the linux prompt
« Last Edit: June 08, 2019, 08:56:03 am by tv84 »
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #243 on: June 08, 2019, 02:16:49 pm »
OK, so I can telnet to the DP832 from Linux.

nmap -p- 10.0.0.128 gives the following open ports... 80,111,617,618,619,555 all /tcp and the line for 5555 is...

5555/tcp open  freeciv

I can "telnet 10.0.0.128 5555" and get a message saying "connected to 10.0.0.128"

I can issue *IDN? and get the expected response but when I issue the command ":PROJ:SET MODEL,DP832A the screen of the DP832 flashes up a box saying "remote command incorrect" and there's no response on the telnet terminal.

Tried 2 different USB drives (still may be the issue) and I tried putting the USB drive(s) in before and after boot up.
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #244 on: June 08, 2019, 02:21:39 pm »
Trying the DG1022Z I can telnet to it and issue the ":PROJ:STAT MODEL,DG1062Z" command but again, the screen pops up with an "error generated by remote interface command" pop up message
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #245 on: June 08, 2019, 02:40:14 pm »
OK, all issues solved!

The problem was the USB drive; I tried a 3rd drive, an old Verbatim 2GByte drive - I don't know if this was a cause of my problems but when I formatted the other 2 drives from Windows 10 Explorer, the allocation unit size was set to 4096 and when I formatted the Verbatim, I changed it to "Default Allocation Size" and gave the drive a volume label of "Rigol"; then I copied the single keyfile.bin file to it.

I plugged it in while the equipment was still running and went through all the previous steps in Ubuntu terminal and this time I got no error messages on the PSU or AWG and no response on the telnet terminal after issuing the :PROJ:SET/STAT commands but the *IDN? command revealed that the changes had been successfully applied, in the case of the DP832(A), it needed a reboot before it would respond.

I used the :PROJ:STAT to do the DG1022Z and :PROJ:SET to do the DP832, no space was needed after the comma e.g.
:PROJ:STAT MODEL,DG1062Z works fine

Thanks for all the help guys :D
« Last Edit: June 08, 2019, 06:43:45 pm by Gandalf_Sr »
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 

Online bd139

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11604
  • Country: gb
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #246 on: June 08, 2019, 11:00:50 pm »
Confirmed another DG1022Z upgraded to DG1062Z





Hardware is definitely ok. Flat response to 60MHz. Couldn't get USB stick to work properly to start with. Used diskpart to create a 2Gb partition at the start of the USB disk and formatted it FAT32 quick, then added keyfile.bin. Telnet did SFA other than throw errors. Assumed it was windows' telnet client being crap so I knocked up a small C# program to send the command:

Code: [Select]
using System;
using System.IO;
using System.Net.Sockets;

class Program
{
    static void Main(string[] args)
    {
        using (var client = new TcpClient("192.168.178.31", 5555))
        using (var networkStream = client.GetStream())
        using (var writer = new StreamWriter(networkStream))
        using (var reader = new StreamReader(networkStream))
        {
            writer.AutoFlush = true;
            writer.Write(":PROJ:STAT MODEL,DG1062Z\n");
            Console.WriteLine(reader.ReadLine());
        }
    }
}

Bingo! Big thanks to the reverse engineers  :-+
 

Offline 1anX

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Country: au
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #247 on: June 09, 2019, 12:13:39 am »
Can you please detail how to use the C program to hack the DG1022Z.
I have a DG1022Z unit that I would love to run at 60MHz.
Just need a sequence of (simple) steps I can follow to get there. Any help much appreciated!
 

Offline FuzzyOtter

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: ca
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #248 on: June 09, 2019, 04:13:12 am »
Long time listener, first time caller. Massive thanks to tossu for sharing his efforts here and helping the rest of us. I bought myself a DP832 some time ago and while it's been a fantastic bench supply, I was annoyed that it lacked the multi-colour display abilities of it's big brother. Your discovery is exactly what I was hoping for! I was able to apply the change quickly and easily. It's a relatively minor quality of life improvement, but it has made the power supply feel complete!

I wanted to share a few notes for others just in case anyone gets snagged up:

  • The USB drive must be formatted as FAT, not FAT32 or exFAT. On Windows, USB sticks with a partition size over 4GB in size will not show "FAT" in the possible format options. To get around this, you can use Window's Disk Management utility (Run "diskmgmt.msc" from a Run dialog or type it in the Start menu) to delete the single large partition, and then create a new one 3.5GB or smaller. This will let you format it as FAT. I have no small USB sticks kicking around and was forced to do this, and I can confirm it works just fine.
  • I could not get the Windows telnet client to work... it would sit on the "Connecting to..." stage forever. The DP832 was pingable on the network, and the IP address + port was correct, so I am not sure what the issue was. I ended up using PuTTy to connect via telnet and issue the SCPI command, which worked perfectly.
  • All of the licenses that I applied before this modification were still there afterwards.

Thank you again!
 

Offline Gandalf_Sr

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 885
  • Country: us
Re: Need help hacking DP832 for multicolour option.
« Reply #249 on: June 09, 2019, 12:01:25 pm »
Can you please detail how to use the C program to hack the DG1022Z.
I have a DG1022Z unit that I would love to run at 60MHz.
Just need a sequence of (simple) steps I can follow to get there. Any help much appreciated!
What forms of computer do you own?  There are only 2 'challenges':

1. Get an (old) USB stick formatted correctly
2. Get some form of telnet communicating with your DG1022Z via LAN (or maybe USB).

You can Google telnet and find all sorts of options - windows 10 command prompt worked for me after adding telnet to windows but it's sort of clunky as there are no success messages after typing telnet <IP_address> 5555 (e.g. 10.0.0.123 5555) you just see a blank screen but, once you have telneted to your DG1022Z, try the *IDN? command and you should see a line of information returned like...

Rigol Technologies,DG1022Z,DG1ZAxxxxxxxxx,03.01.12

If you get this far, all you have to do is create and plug in the correctly formatted USB stick to the front of your DG1022Z and issue the command...

:PROJ:STAT MODEL,DG1062Z

If you're successful, you will get no response over telnet and there will be no messages on the screen of the DG1022Z.
If you see an "error generated by remote interface command" briefly popping up on the DG1022Z screen, then you probably have an issue with your USB drive.

How to create the USB stick and how to telnet are covered in multiple places in this thread.

One thing I've noticed is that saved configurations through the store>browser menu won't load after upgrade with an 'incorrect format' message.  You have to recreate and resave over the old stored info and then it works so some may want to take pictures of your saved configs.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2019, 12:05:28 pm by Gandalf_Sr »
I'd like to make the world a better place but they won't give me the source code
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf