Author Topic: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)  (Read 21394 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OE2WHP

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • Country: at
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #75 on: May 17, 2018, 08:05:36 am »
I can confirm that after the update (and an auto calibration -- needed three attempts until it passed), the traces are exactly centered on the trace markers. Have never seen that before on my DS1000Z since I purchased it some four years ago. They were always riding slightly above the markers. Seems like Rigol finally took care of one of the "minor annoyances" that could still make a difference...

I had the same issue and also noticed the better trace alignment after the update but there are still strange things going on with the alignment. Depending on which of the 4 channels are activated, they again jump slightly above the trace marker. When all channels are active they are all aligned perfectly. When I switch them on separately at least channel 2 is again slightly above the trace marker but jumps back to zero when I also switch on channel 3.

Strange.... anyone else?
 

Offline bitwelder

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 825
  • Country: fi
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #76 on: May 17, 2018, 11:24:31 am »

It has just been placed unencoded:

And looking at the timestamps, I assume they haven't yet changed the file for the DS2000A

 

Offline borjam

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 761
  • Country: es
  • EA2EKH
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #77 on: May 17, 2018, 02:46:02 pm »
I can confirm that after the update (and an auto calibration -- needed three attempts until it passed), the traces are exactly centered on the trace markers. Have never seen that before on my DS1000Z since I purchased it some four years ago. They were always riding slightly above the markers. Seems like Rigol finally took care of one of the "minor annoyances" that could still make a difference...

I had the same issue and also noticed the better trace alignment after the update but there are still strange things going on with the alignment. Depending on which of the 4 channels are activated, they again jump slightly above the trace marker. When all channels are active they are all aligned perfectly. When I switch them on separately at least channel 2 is again slightly above the trace marker but jumps back to zero when I also switch on channel 3.

Strange.... anyone else?
Same here with channel 2. Also, results are much better if you leave the scope powered for half an hour or so. I guess they have been tweaking some thermal compensation.

 

Offline Synthtech

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 179
  • Country: au
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #78 on: May 20, 2018, 10:29:22 am »
I ran the update today and then calibrated and now for the first time ever when I turn on all four channels the traces are completely aligned on top of one another with no signal input. I just see a single line. Nice.
 

Offline Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 502
  • Country: ca
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #79 on: May 20, 2018, 12:05:24 pm »
I ran the update today and then calibrated and now for the first time ever when I turn on all four channels the traces are completely aligned on top of one another with no signal input. I just see a single line. Nice.

Are the traces aligned to the index of the channel anywhere on the display vertically? Meaning, if you move them up or down do hey stay aligned?
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Offline Adrian_Arg.

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 216
  • Country: ar
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #80 on: May 20, 2018, 12:31:51 pm »
No, it tends to be misaligned. :-[
 
The following users thanked this post: Miti

Offline Synthtech

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 179
  • Country: au
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #81 on: May 20, 2018, 07:49:24 pm »
I ran the update today and then calibrated and now for the first time ever when I turn on all four channels the traces are completely aligned on top of one another with no signal input. I just see a single line. Nice.

Are the traces aligned to the index of the channel anywhere on the display vertically? Meaning, if you move them up or down do hey stay aligned?

I only looked at alignment of all four traces at the zero line with no inputs connected. I am not sure what you mean by moving the traces up or down vertically. Are you talking about alignment between the channels with each other or alignment with graticule lines? How can I move all four channels together vertically?
« Last Edit: May 20, 2018, 07:52:39 pm by Synthtech »
 

Offline Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 502
  • Country: ca
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #82 on: May 20, 2018, 10:04:50 pm »
Move them one by one and overlap the channel indexes on the middle, on the top most and on the bottom most grid line. Do you see a single line aligned to the indexes in all three cases? I would be surprised if you do. Not even Tek is so perfectly aligned.
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #83 on: May 24, 2018, 09:18:01 pm »
v00.04.04.03.05  2018/04/28
     - Fixed the login bug of lxi-web

With the last Version 00.04.04.04.05 the login is now working.

You can read the password with this SCPI command:
   :LAN:PASSword?

The »Network Settings« login window ...
with
user: rigolan
password: 111111

« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 07:47:27 am by ankerwolf »
 

Offline Fkossy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ru
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #84 on: May 25, 2018, 09:13:36 pm »
Hello,
Sorry for my English.
I would like to know from you, why the zero level binding disappears from channel marker?
My signal is a square of 13 volts DC.
Probe to the 1X setting and when i turn vertical sensitivity to 200mV and lower, signal is shifted up and down, zero level binding with channel marker disappears, and I can not move signal to see its zero level,    
since for ranges of 200mV and below, the offset range is only +- 2V.
Probe switched to the 10X and when i turn vertical sensitivity to 500mV and lower, signal is shifted up, zero level binding with channel marker disappears, but I can moving the signal manually to see the zero level.

This my problem or is it a bug?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 09:31:07 pm by Fkossy »
 

Offline Adrian_Arg.

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 216
  • Country: ar
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #85 on: May 26, 2018, 03:02:34 pm »
Hello,
Sorry for my English.
I would like to know from you, why the zero level binding disappears from channel marker?
My signal is a square of 13 volts DC.
Probe to the 1X setting and when i turn vertical sensitivity to 200mV and lower, signal is shifted up and down, zero level binding with channel marker disappears, and I can not move signal to see its zero level,    
since for ranges of 200mV and below, the offset range is only +- 2V.
Probe switched to the 10X and when i turn vertical sensitivity to 500mV and lower, signal is shifted up, zero level binding with channel marker disappears, but I can moving the signal manually to see the zero level.

This my problem or is it a bug?

The rigol series ds1054z does not support 500mV, so advise to use the DSER option to unlock it, for the little information that you give that problem I do not have it, because if I use the probes in X1 the maximum that I can test is 1mv.

in spanish
el rigol serie ds1054z  no soporta 500mV, por eso aconsejan usar la opcion DSER para desbloquearlo, por la poca informaqcion que das ese problema  yo no lo tengo, ya que si uso las sondas en X1 lo maximo que puedosetear es 1mv
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10218
  • Country: 00
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #86 on: May 26, 2018, 03:27:07 pm »
The rigol series ds1054z does not support 500mV

Sure it does. Maybe you mean 500uV. :popcorn:


since for ranges of 200mV and below, the offset range is only +- 2V.

Correct. If your signal has more than 2V of DC offset then you cannot view it in DC mode.

Do you need zero? You can switch to AC mode and see all of the signal.

b) Using probes on 1x mode is not normal usage. It can cause many problems:


« Last Edit: May 26, 2018, 03:34:45 pm by Fungus »
 

Offline Fkossy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ru
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #87 on: May 26, 2018, 08:39:29 pm »
Thanks for your answers, but would like to know why the zero level binding disappears from the channel marker and what is reason?
500mV, NOT 500uV!
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: ca
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #88 on: May 26, 2018, 10:16:01 pm »
v00.04.04.03.05  2018/04/28
     - Fixed the login bug of lxi-web

With the last Version 00.04.04.04.05 the login is now working.

You can read the password with this SCPI command:
   :LAN:PASSword?

The »Network Settings« login window ...
with
user: rigollan
password: 111111


I tried it and it did not work?
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #89 on: May 26, 2018, 10:32:48 pm »
With the last Version 00.04.04.04.05 the login is now working.

The »Network Settings« login window ...
user: rigolan
password: 111111


I tried it and it did not work?

Use it in the web-interface with any browser with your actual IP:
http://192.168.1.12/DS1000Z_NetworkSettings.html

« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 07:46:46 am by ankerwolf »
 

Online TurboTom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 655
  • Country: de
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #90 on: May 26, 2018, 10:44:19 pm »
Hi Fkossy,

I cannot find the information in your contributions what firmware you're on and if your scope is "improved"...

Anyway, I'ld always recommend to do a self calibration once in a while (maybe every six months) and after the instrument has been moved to a different location (temperature area). Before performing the "->Utility->(PgDwn)->SelfCal", always let the instrument warm up for an hour or so. If it fails, just try again, on my scope it may take a few attempts to pass (don't know if this is normal but after it passed, the instrument always works satisfactorily).

Moreover, in order to start testing it may be a good idea to press the ->Storage->default keys to be sure to have the scope in a known configuration unless you are sure you want to continue with the last configuration (if it is set up like that).

Good luck and enjoy your DS1000Z

Cheers,
Tom
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: ca
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #91 on: May 26, 2018, 11:21:18 pm »
With the last Version 00.04.04.04.05 the login is now working.

The »Network Settings« login window ...
user: rigollan
password: 111111


I tried it and it did not work?

Use it in the web-interface with any browser with your actual IP:
http://192.168.1.12/DS1000Z_NetworkSettings.html

Ummmm.....

 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: ca
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #92 on: May 26, 2018, 11:26:23 pm »
The :LAN:PASSword? SCPI command was successful....

 

Offline szpila

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: pl
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #93 on: May 26, 2018, 11:43:40 pm »
On my unit, I use "rigolan" as username. "rigollan" didn't work for me.

Wysłane z mojego Redmi 4X przy użyciu Tapatalka

 
The following users thanked this post: Dwaine

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10218
  • Country: 00
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #94 on: May 27, 2018, 01:20:03 am »
Thanks for your answers, but would like to know why the zero level binding disappears from the channel marker and what is reason?

Calibration?
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: ca
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #95 on: May 27, 2018, 05:02:02 am »
On my unit, I use "rigolan" as username. "rigollan" didn't work for me.

Wysłane z mojego Redmi 4X przy użyciu Tapatalka

Thanks.   That worked.
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 363
  • Country: ee
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #96 on: May 27, 2018, 08:00:25 am »
Interesting...
If you open SparrowApp in "Notepad" there is rigollan in 3 places
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #97 on: May 27, 2018, 08:21:46 am »
On my unit, I use "rigolan" as username. "rigollan" didn't work for me.
Thanks.   That worked.

Oh, that was the trick!
In the SparrowAPP.out you can find "rigollan" nearby "111111"

But "rigolan" is the right username.

 

Offline Fkossy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ru
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #98 on: May 27, 2018, 08:41:53 am »
Hi Fkossy,

I cannot find the information in your contributions what firmware you're on and if your scope is "improved"...

Anyway, I'ld always recommend to do a self calibration once in a while (maybe every six months) and after the instrument has been moved to a different location (temperature area). Before performing the "->Utility->(PgDwn)->SelfCal", always let the instrument warm up for an hour or so. If it fails, just try again, on my scope it may take a few attempts to pass (don't know if this is normal but after it passed, the instrument always works satisfactorily).

Moreover, in order to start testing it may be a good idea to press the ->Storage->default keys to be sure to have the scope in a known configuration unless you are sure you want to continue with the last configuration (if it is set up like that).

Good luck and enjoy your DS1000Z

Cheers,
Tom

Thanks for your answers, but would like to know why the zero level binding disappears from the channel marker and what is reason?

Calibration?


Hi TurboTom, Hi Fungus,

My firmware 00.04.04.03.02, аll options are open from the seller, except 100MHz.
I performed the calibration two times after two hours.
Zero level disappears from the channel marker when probe 1X setting and vertical sensitivity 200mV and lower and probe 10X vertical sensitivity 500mV and lower.
With the sensitivity above everything is fine.

Signal square, DC voltage 13 volts, channel DC input

« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 09:07:37 am by Fkossy »
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10218
  • Country: 00
Re: New firmware Rigol DS1000Z 00.04.04.03.05 2018-05-09 (2018-02-28)
« Reply #99 on: May 27, 2018, 09:25:24 am »
Does it happen on other channels?

This might be distortion caused by overdriving the input amplifier. Op amps take time to recover if you apply a signal which is far out of their specified input range.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/ds1054z-distortion-issue/
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf