Author Topic: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?  (Read 445205 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online Aldo22

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 833
  • Country: ch
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1850 on: April 20, 2024, 10:39:48 am »
I have found a small bug and would like to know if it is a known issue or if it has been introduced as part of a recent update.

It's really a detail for a $130 scope. I'm still amazed what it can do.

When I turn on the track mode for the cursor in FFT mode, the measuring point (X, frequency) is always shifted slightly to the right, like in the picture in the attachment.
Where dB is highest is not the correct frequency.
AX should be at 9.900KHz, not 9.928 etc. As you can see correctly on the second picture, with the manual measurement.

Really a detail for such a cheap scope, but it would be nice if it worked properly. Reminds me of the TinySA markers.

Did this work with an earlier firmware?

Thank you!
 

Offline OLderDan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: au
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1851 on: April 21, 2024, 06:50:12 am »
This can be reproduced with 3209 fw also.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2024, 06:59:27 am by OLderDan »
 
The following users thanked this post: Aldo22

Online Aldo22

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 833
  • Country: ch
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1852 on: April 21, 2024, 10:08:09 am »
This can be reproduced with 3209 fw also.

Thanks for testing!  :-+

I've had the Hantek since last November and only today did I discover the "Autoscale" or "Auto range" mode.  :palm:
It's hidden under the menu that pops up when you press the "Auto Set" button and a signal is detected.
A bit difficult to access, but nice to have.

Note to self: RTFM
  :-/O
« Last Edit: April 21, 2024, 10:14:53 am by Aldo22 »
 

Offline OLderDan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: au
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1853 on: April 23, 2024, 05:42:30 am »
Lol, my rtfm moment was when I discovered I can centre the trace horizontally and vertically by pushing the knobs! Most useful on the awg going from 10mhz to 1khz! I am really enjoying the dso2d10 warts and all, and I am very happy with my purchase. I bought a fnirsi 1014d at the same time to compare, but sent it back just for the lack of trigger options. The math function and the trigger on pattern has been great to expand my usage of the two channels.
 
The following users thanked this post: Aldo22

Online Aldo22

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 833
  • Country: ch
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1854 on: April 23, 2024, 08:46:30 am »
Lol, my rtfm moment was when I discovered I can centre the trace horizontally and vertically by pushing the knobs! Most useful on the awg going from 10mhz to 1khz!
Yes, turning the encoders is very tedious when it comes to larger ranges (DDS frequency, FFT center, pulse trigger value etc.).
For these cases I have made a Linux tool for "home use" using SCPI, because I simply prefer entering numbers with the keyboard to turning knobs.
 

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
frequency displayed in Hz
« Reply #1855 on: April 24, 2024, 07:43:09 pm »
DSO 2C10
Please tell me . How can I set the frequency to always be displayed in Hz (even if it is 10000Hz or 1,000,000Hz)?
Do I need to change the firmware for this?
 

Online Aldo22

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 833
  • Country: ch
Re: frequency displayed in Hz
« Reply #1856 on: April 25, 2024, 10:23:24 am »
Please tell me . How can I set the frequency to always be displayed in Hz (even if it is 10000Hz or 1,000,000Hz)?
Do I need to change the firmware for this?

This is not possible with normal settings, afaik.
Maybe DavidAlfa can tell you something about the firmware question. I don't know whether this is possible with reasonable effort.



Today I discovered something new that I didn't know.
Is it possible to generate a single 20ns pulse with the AWG of the Hantek?
Yes it's possible and it looks very OK.

EDIT: Second screenshot: Same signal, but green has a 2m long coax cable.
It seems to "arrive" 11.4ns later  ;)

Third screenshot: Almost identical length of cabling.
320ps delay between the channels. Not bad at all.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2024, 09:39:27 pm by Aldo22 »
 

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: frequency displayed in Hz
« Reply #1857 on: April 26, 2024, 08:48:26 pm »


This is not possible with normal settings, afaik.
Maybe DavidAlfa can tell you something about the firmware question. I don't know whether this is possible with reasonable effort.



His experiments killed the apparatus. Now I'm fiddling with dsoflash((
Who has a backup using dsoflash For DSO 2C10?

« Last Edit: April 26, 2024, 08:54:48 pm by Pin240 »
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6073
  • Country: es
Re: frequency displayed in Hz
« Reply #1858 on: April 26, 2024, 09:03:07 pm »
His experiments killed the apparatus.
Sorry, maybe you wanted to mean YOUR experiments killed the apparatus? :)

Who has a backup using dsoflash For DSO 2C10?
Because this question demonstrates absolute lack of reading and reckless behavior, there's a HUGE FAQ explaining virtually everything.

»  What not to do  «

»  Screwing up your system because you thought you were smarter than anyone, so no reading of any kind was needed.
»  Coming here to blame us for your fuck-up because of the above.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2024, 09:08:19 pm by DavidAlfa »
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: frequency displayed in Hz
« Reply #1859 on: April 26, 2024, 09:06:33 pm »
It's my own fault. I read the documentation. Several times everything went well.

His experiments killed the apparatus.
Maybe you wanted to mean YOUR experiments and lack of reading killed the apparatus? :)

platform-tools gives an error message

ERASE PARTITIONS...
Erasing 'boot'                                     FAILED (remote: 'invalid NAND device')
fastboot: error: Command failed

Failed to erase the memory!
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6073
  • Country: es
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1860 on: April 26, 2024, 09:09:34 pm »
What have you done to end like this?
New models have a new flash IC (GD5F1GQ5UEYIG), current platform-tools are not compatible.

Read:
https://4pda.to/forum/index.php?showtopic=1018961&st=4420#entry128822095
« Last Edit: April 26, 2024, 09:13:03 pm by DavidAlfa »
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1861 on: April 26, 2024, 09:16:34 pm »
What have you done to end like this?
New models have a new flash IC, current platform-tools are not compatible.

I have a backup using dso3kb_backup_builder.upk and edited \dso\app\phoenix
 

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1862 on: April 26, 2024, 09:22:15 pm »
Thank you! I found the dump.
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6073
  • Country: es
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1863 on: April 26, 2024, 09:31:11 pm »
I uploaded Semenich56 GD5F1GQ5UEYIG dump into DSOFlash folder.
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 
The following users thanked this post: Pin240

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1864 on: April 26, 2024, 09:35:15 pm »
I uploaded Semenich56 GD5F1GQ5UEYIG dump into DSOFlash folder.

Thank you. Already found and restored.

If you have time, can you describe how to modify the graphical interface?
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6073
  • Country: es
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1865 on: April 26, 2024, 09:36:29 pm »
I can't, I don't know.

Try disassemblying phoenix in Ghidra, that's how I did everything, but it takes ages to find anything out and even more to modify, it's anything but easy.
Read the hacking thread, specially this message.

I would start by searching "Hz", "KHz", "MHz" strings in the binary and finding where they're being used.

To avoid further bricking you can make a simple script that restores phoenix after several boots.
USB console will probably fail to work if phoenix crashes but give it a try.

Create a file named "S11_restore_phoenix.sh" in the root of the USB drive.
Ensure it uses UNIX new line format!
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh

# Read file, increase counter
import /etc/phoenix_count
PHOENIX_COUNT=$(($PHOENIX_COUNT + 1))

if [ $PHOENIX_COUNT -lt 3 ]; then
  echo "PHOENIX_COUNT=$PHOENIX_COUNT" > /etc/phoenix_count
  sync
fi

# Restore after 3 boots
if [ -f /dso/app/phoenix_bak ] && [ $PHOENIX_COUNT -gt 2 ]; then
  pidof phoenix dbus-daemon | xargs kill -9
  cp /dso/app/phoenix_bak /dso/app/phoenix
  chmod +x /dso/app/phoenix
  sync
  reboot -f
fi

Add this to do_other_update:
Code: [Select]
# Make phoenix backup and copy the restore script

if [ ! -f /dso/app/phoenix_bak ]
  cp /dso/app/phoenix /dso/app/phoenix_bak
  cp /mnt/udisk/S11_restore_phoenix.sh /etc/init.d/
  chmod +x /etc/init.d/S11_restore_phoenix.sh
else
  # reset counter, start over
  rm /etc/phoenix_count
fi

# Copy your modded phoenix from usb drive
cp /mnt/udisk/phoenix /dso/app/
chmod +x /dso/app/phoenix

Copy the modded phoenix to the root of the USB drive and run do_other_update with Script launcher.

Working or not, after 3 boots (Wait until the second Hantek logo shows up, then another 5-10 seconds) the original file will be restored.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2024, 10:13:07 pm by DavidAlfa »
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1866 on: April 26, 2024, 09:46:10 pm »


I would start by searching "Hz", "KHz", "MHz" strings in the binary and finding where they're being used.
I found them in Phoenix and in some xml files.
 

Offline OLderDan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: au
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1867 on: April 28, 2024, 07:19:27 am »
I have just learned what the ref save and recall does and was wondering if there was any way to reposition the image or do I continue to setup the trace in the position I want the reference image to be displayed.
I wish there was a more complete help system for this oscilloscope, some of the inbuilt pages are empty and the only way I even understood what save and recall a ref even did was an out of context comment on a you tube video I was watching!
I finally understand the connection to time in ms ns and the actual frequency in Hz thanks to experimenting with my dso2d15, and even more useful, how to convert between SI units while measuring a capacitors charge rise to determine its value, I discovered the use of zooming the screen when looking at a long uart packet, and using the two probe tips and math function to make differential readings.

Maybe there is room in this thread for a RTFM tips section?
 

Online Aldo22

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 833
  • Country: ch
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1868 on: April 28, 2024, 09:07:42 am »
I have just learned what the ref save and recall does and was wondering if there was any way to reposition the image or do I continue to setup the trace in the position I want the reference image to be displayed.
The reference waveform is simply a kind of screenshot of a trace. You can't do anything with it other than look at it, afaik.
The “FM” says:

2.9
3. Reference
The scope saves the waveform data in memory in “.ref” format. Up to 9 Ref files (No.1~No.9) can be stored in the internal
memory. The stored Ref can be recalled, a total of 2 Refs can be recalled. At recall, the Refs will be displayed on the screen
directly, at the same time, the time base, volt/div and level position when saving the Refs file are displayed. When the Refs is
not needed, you can select “Close”.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2024, 09:12:59 am by Aldo22 »
 

Offline OLderDan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: au
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1869 on: April 28, 2024, 06:27:25 pm »
I was watching a new YouTube dso2d15 unboxing and noticed the icon display for the awg at the bottom of the screen switched between a B and G at different times. I also noticed the screenshots here by Aldo show a B in some and G in others, and mine always shows G no matter what settings I have tried,
Any ideas what the different letter B or G signifies?

EDIT: gotta love serendipity... If you read post #1857 there is a clue!  I found how to change it to B(urst) mode!!!! Thanks again Aldo.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2024, 06:42:06 pm by OLderDan »
 
The following users thanked this post: Aldo22

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1870 on: April 29, 2024, 07:41:41 am »

Working or not, after 3 boots (Wait until the second Hantek logo shows up, then another 5-10 seconds) the original file will be restored.

Thanks for the script
 

Offline Z_E_V_S

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: ua
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1871 on: April 29, 2024, 06:18:12 pm »
This can be reproduced with 3209 fw also.

Do you have new 3209 firmware?
What software version does your oscilloscope have?
There is no update on the huntek site.
 

Offline Pin240

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
frequency displayed in Hz
« Reply #1872 on: April 30, 2024, 06:07:14 pm »
|O I tried running ghidra. Assembly or C language is clearly not my thing. I just can't figure out where to find this variable. Found a match and got stuck at this point.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2024, 06:13:06 pm by Pin240 »
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6073
  • Country: es
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1873 on: April 30, 2024, 06:41:12 pm »
You're doing nothing there!
I have no clue where the frequency is processed, and I really don't feel like wasting a whole day trying to find it, sorry!
All I can help with: Ghidra / Search / Instruction operands, search "Freq=%.2lf%s".
That will lead to the function that seems to manage it.

Also: this goes to the hacking thread. Don't mix stuff, please keep it tidy!
« Last Edit: April 30, 2024, 07:02:01 pm by DavidAlfa »
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 

Offline OLderDan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: au
Re: New Hantek DSO2X1X models?
« Reply #1874 on: May 01, 2024, 10:49:34 am »
This can be reproduced with 3209 fw also.

Do you have new 3209 firmware?
What software version does your oscilloscope have?
There is no update on the huntek site.

I posted it in the shared folder on Dave alphas linked Google drive. It was from hantek for my 2 week old dso2d10 in response to it locking up. It is the most recent software but will also update the firmware to 3209
« Last Edit: May 01, 2024, 10:54:31 am by OLderDan »
 
The following users thanked this post: Aldo22, Z_E_V_S


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf