Author Topic: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510  (Read 70955 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online hwj-d

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 593
  • Country: de
  • The economy of capitalism has NO social mission!
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #700 on: August 16, 2019, 07:33:12 pm »
How to remove the .txt extension? I cannot just rename it in windows 10  :-//
Is it a win10 question?
Switch on the extensions here:
The german goverment has fired his own nation and all his citizens
 

Offline drummerdimitri

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 382
  • Country: lb
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #701 on: August 17, 2019, 12:18:21 am »
How to remove the .txt extension? I cannot just rename it in windows 10  :-//
Is it a win10 question?
Switch on the extensions here:

Thanks but it doesn't really help when it's in German!
 

Online Mr. Scram

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7700
  • Country: 00
  • Display aficionado
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #702 on: August 17, 2019, 12:26:57 am »
Thanks but it doesn't really help when it's in German!
Really, some initiative would help.
 
The following users thanked this post: TiN, thm_w, hwj-d, JxR

Online JxR

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 205
  • Country: us
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #703 on: August 17, 2019, 12:57:45 am »
Thanks but it doesn't really help when it's in German!

This should answer your question and help you with future computer problems.  :-+

Turn on file extentions
 
The following users thanked this post: drummerdimitri

Offline drummerdimitri

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 382
  • Country: lb
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #704 on: August 18, 2019, 07:23:03 pm »
How can I tell if the touchscreen is the culprit or a bad firmware?

Easy, when you have a buttons that do not respond anymore, go to the webinterface an try to click it with your mouse.
If it works you know it's the touchscreen.
(keep in mind that dragging with the mouse doesn't work very well, so you cannot test that)

And also if you pressed "copy to  power up" in run scripts with a bad script it could put it in a bad situation every time you reboot. (not sure if that is erased with a reset or if you have to overwrite it)
Attached the default "empty script" you can load. (remove .txt)

I ran the script on the DMM yesterday and have had no issues using it so far. Hopefully it will remain that way  :clap:
 

Offline AG7CK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: th
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #705 on: August 19, 2019, 02:14:49 am »
I want to use DMM6500 together with a HPAK 34970A Switch Unit/DAQ. The 34970A has internal 6.5 digit DVM card and a 34902A 16ch 250ch/s multiplexer module. With two meters and a precison shunt, it should be possible to measure simultaneously voltage and current up to the sample rate of the 34970A (varies for 6.5/5.5/4.5 digits / slack in synchronization by Delay/External Trigger).

In GPIB this should be simple, but I would like to try to do something with a Raspberry Pi "tablet" I had shelved away. I bought an RJ45 cable and got the DMM6500 web front panel up on the RPi display. The RPi has Python installed.

I have never used an RPi or anything LAN related before. What would people with RPi / Raspian / Python skills do? Start learning  :phew:, or buy a KTTI-GPIB module :-DMM


 

Offline shodan@micron

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 145
  • Country: ru
    • My personal page
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #706 on: August 20, 2019, 12:12:58 am »
In GPIB this should be simple, but I would like to try to do something with a Raspberry Pi "tablet" I had shelved away. I bought an RJ45 cable and got the DMM6500 web front panel up on the RPi display. The RPi has Python installed.

You can't use LXI(RJ45 Jack) with RPi's and Python. PyVISA library require a NI-VISA software. But NI-VISA do not support RPi's  :palm:
Try use my code of LXIIDL software(link below) as example written on "C" language or see code of lxitools.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2019, 12:33:01 am by shodan@micron »
 
The following users thanked this post: AG7CK

Offline AG7CK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: th
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #707 on: August 20, 2019, 02:57:10 am »
In GPIB this should be simple, but I would like to try to do something with a Raspberry Pi "tablet" I had shelved away. I bought an RJ45 cable and got the DMM6500 web front panel up on the RPi display. The RPi has Python installed.

You can't use LXI(RJ45 Jack) with RPi's and Python. PyVISA library require a NI-VISA software. But NI-VISA do not support RPi's  :palm:
Try use my code of LXIIDL software(link below) as example written on "C" language or see code of lxitools.

Thank you for your answer. The RJ45 ethernet cable was just for testing the LXI thing for the first time in my life (hence the picture). It worked. Always cool with stuff that works.

I did not know that "You can't use LXI(RJ45 Jack) with RPi's and Python". However, if I cannot use the LXI / VXI-11 stuff that is ample in the Python related web links, I might just as well change to USB. If that fails, I just buy the Kethley GPIB card.

I have read about PyVISA and PyVISA-py. If I find that I cannot use an RPi, I just dedicate an old laptop to use as logger head, and use the RPI tablet too some thing else. On Windoze7 there are many working choices.

I have read your github page (you gave me the tip a few weeks ago) and your software looks fine. I will look at it again. But for now I am thinking Python because I want to learn something that has an active and helpful web community. If I drop Python, I can just as well go for a RS232 card and use MSP430 C C++ / Arduino C++ Processing Firmata, where I have a multinode serial text based logging system running for years already on an old XP machine. Not very fancy or modern, but it does the job.
 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4027
  • Country: tw
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #708 on: August 20, 2019, 03:52:15 am »
You can't use LXI(RJ45 Jack) with RPi's and Python. PyVISA library require a NI-VISA software. But NI-VISA do not support RPi's  :palm:

What? :) There  is no problem using LXI with RPi and Python. You don't need NI bloatware on RPi to use this connection method, little python-vxi11 is all that required.  :-+

 I have posted setup guide for RPi and E5810A gateway while ago.  Tested same setup/library with Keysight B2987A, Keithley 6221 and few scopes, all worked as expected. In fact I rarely use NI USB-GPIB-HS since I switched to E5810A, it's so much less headache with long datalogs.
YouTube | Chat room | Live-cam | Have documentation to share? Upload here! No size limit, firmware dumps, photos.
 
The following users thanked this post: AG7CK

Offline AG7CK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: th
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #709 on: August 20, 2019, 06:40:54 am »
Thanks for this information. Just to confirm - we are talking about this stuff, correct?:

http://alexforencich.com/wiki/en/python-vxi11/start
https://pypi.org/project/python-vxi11/
https://github.com/python-ivi/python-vxi11/blob/master/README.md
https://siglentna.com/application-note/programming-example-vxi11-python-lan/


It says in on of the links:

VXI has a small installation size and is quite flexible.. especially when compared to VISA based applications. VISA is convenient and does allow for easy bus changes (from GPIB to USB with just a few lines of code), but it is also a large installation that isn’t always easy to use on machines that are not running Windows.

So not dependent on (((VISA))) or Windoze?

And finally, one does not need the "E5810A LAN/GPIB gateway provides remote access and control of GPIB instruments via your standard LAN connection." if the instrument has LXI itself? Nice box for vintage HP with GPIB but no LAN, that's it?

So to be sure: DMM6500 to RJ45 cable to RPi3B+ to Python 2.7 with python-vxi11 is all I need? If I put in a switch/gateway thing, I can talk to more than one instrument on the same RPi? Something in this style (and your bridge for GPIB):

Python-vxi11 doesn't need or even use VISA drivers, it talks SunRPC directly to the VXI-11 network controller.  I use it on OSX and Linux and don't have that broken VISA driver garbage and discovery services installed anywhere.  Instead, all my physical GPIB buses terminate at a pair of ICS8065 network controllers that talk VXI-11 only.  This excepts the instruments I have that can talk VXI-11 directly.  (Source https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/python-scripts-to-control-instruments-using-lxi-scpi-no-drivers-required/msg1169447/#msg1169447 )

Thanks.


 

Offline shodan@micron

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 145
  • Country: ru
    • My personal page
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #710 on: August 20, 2019, 06:51:48 am »
DMM6500 to RJ45 cable to RPi3B+ to Python 2.7 with python-vxi11
Maybe that is good choice for use with LXI-compatible instruments.
But I hear about this library in first time.

If I put in a switch/gateway thing, I can talk to more than one instrument on the same RPi?
If that library have good design - it must support multi-channel connections. I use my favorite liblxi with 1-5 LXI instruments at same time, no any problems! If transfer speed from multiple instruments is too fast i use it with pthreads. Algorithms with pthreads also can send software trigger commands almost at same time - no needed connect instruments together via BNC's triggers ports.

PS.VXI-11 protocol little bit slow, recently i use RAW(that also supported with liblxi). RAW provide +0...+20% speedup.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2019, 07:19:20 am by shodan@micron »
 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4027
  • Country: tw
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #711 on: August 20, 2019, 02:14:08 pm »
Yes, that python-vxi11. When I tested with 6221 or B2987A I did not use E5810A, but direct RJ45 connection to these instruments.
I use E5810 for my GPIB networks for instruments that have no GPIB. And obviously python-vxi11 does not care about VISA or Windows, I run many my Python apps on Altera/Terasic DE1-SoC FPGA board as example, running linaro OS.
YouTube | Chat room | Live-cam | Have documentation to share? Upload here! No size limit, firmware dumps, photos.
 

Offline AG7CK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: th
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #712 on: August 20, 2019, 07:44:43 pm »
Yes, that python-vxi11. When I tested with 6221 or B2987A I did not use E5810A, but direct RJ45 connection to these instruments.
...

Thank you very much. This will be my first goal.
 

Offline AG7CK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: th
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #713 on: August 22, 2019, 12:55:30 am »
Yes, that python-vxi11. When I tested with 6221 or B2987A I did not use E5810A, but direct RJ45 connection to these instruments.
...

Thank you very much. This will be my first goal.

The python-vxi11 module (links a few posts above) is very neat and lean. I installed windoze 7 on a old totally wiped clean HP desktop. I downloaded the latest Python 2.7 32bit and did a "pip install python-vx11" and a "pip install pyserial" from a USB aircard net connection. No other files whatsoever on the desktop. Five minutes after connecting DMM6500 RJ45 and 34970A RS232-to-USB adapter, I got it running. There are 4 measurements: One from DMM6500, followed by two from Agilent 34970A, and the last one also from DMM6500 :

Code: [Select]
import vxi11
import serial

dmm6500 = vxi11.Instrument("169.254.13.238")
daq34970a = serial.Serial('com6',9600)

print(dmm6500.ask("*IDN?"))
print(dmm6500.ask("*TST?"))
print(dmm6500.ask("MEAS?"))

counter = 1
while (counter <= 2):
    if (daq34970a.inWaiting()>0):
        myData = daq34970a.readline()
        print myData
        counter = counter + 1

print(dmm6500.ask("MEAS?"))


results in:

Code: [Select]

Python 2.7.16 (v2.7.16:413a49145e, Mar  4 2019, 01:30:55) [MSC v.1500 32 bit (Intel)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license()" for more information.
>>>
=========== RESTART: C:/Python27/Scripts/first_vxi11_and_serial.py ===========
KEITHLEY INSTRUMENTS,MODEL DMM6500,04421494,1.0.04b
0
7.134677E+00
1.7491438


1.7708930


7.134674E+00
>>>


Since Python is platform-independent this means that python-vxi11 will run on ANY device capable of running Python 2.7 - including RPi.

So for me the case is solved, the rest is just coding.


« Last Edit: August 22, 2019, 04:43:09 am by AG7CK »
 
The following users thanked this post: TiN

Offline AG7CK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: th
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #714 on: August 27, 2019, 03:31:20 am »
To whom it may concern

Re: Participation from a Keithley representative in this thread

On the 15th of this month I added this to a "Thank you. Case resolved" type email answer to the 2 Keithley employees that helped me out in my support cases (C/NEW DATA and Kickstart):

Quote:

I got Kickstart running, and new data report is fine. Thanks a lot to both of you. I will change my view of Tek service positively because of you.

In the interest of existing and potential DMM6500 users (and in my view also Keithley), I will notify you that the very helpful Brad O (the web says: Bradley Odhner is an Applications Engineer for the Keithley Instruments product line at Tektronix) has not been seen in the thread below since June 6th. The thread has almost 700 posts and a view-click number of more than 65,000. Surely several people wonder why Keithley apparently went silent, and many of the posters definitely miss the help and bug reporting channel that Brad O provided.

If I were a Keithley employee I would take a look here:

First page: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-keithley-dmm6500/

First post by Brad O: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-keithley-dmm6500/msg1676249/#msg1676249

Last post by Brad O: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-keithley-dmm6500/msg2466186/#msg2466186

The thread runs several pages long from Brad O's last post (June 6th) until now, and there are several posts that contain direct questions to Brad O. For some reason Brad O has not been able to answer nor has he or any other Keithley representaive - as far as I know -  provided any explanation for why Keithley suddenly dropped out of the thread.

Example of unanswered post directed to Brad O: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-keithley-dmm6500/msg2492286/#msg2492286

If you want me to give you more information or assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thanks to you solving my support cases, I now have free time.

End of Quote.

The answer was:

Quote:

Thanks, (Name) … glad you are up and running.

I’ve forwarded your message to my contact at Keithley in the marketing group who may be able to facilitate getting that involvement in the forums back.

Have a great day….

End of Quote.

Unless the marketing group needs many weeks to post a "Hello, we have been absent because .../... We look forward to come back as soon as we ... " type message, I assume that Keithley has dumped this thread.

Surely I hope I am wrong. We'll see ...


--- Edit ---
A few typos.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2019, 03:50:04 am by AG7CK »
 
The following users thanked this post: KedasProbe, TiN, cozdas, shodan@micron, cgroen, hwj-d

Offline Wintel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #715 on: August 27, 2019, 04:31:09 am »
Have you try the DMM6500 will run under the older Kickstart free version 1.70 and 1.98 ?


 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: by
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #716 on: August 27, 2019, 08:07:14 am »
The support from Keithley is terrible: (((The device is full of glitches and nobody cares. Bred.O promised to enter the topic on 7510 but didn’t get it :(

On the forum https://forum.tek.com no one answers :(

The only successful communication experience was with KickStart support in this thread https://forum.tek.com/viewtopic.php?f=283&t=141219.
This topic has a link to the email on which adequate people sit. I was heard and the new version of KickStart was already working better.

Perhaps if you need to fix KickStart you can write to this address.

I don’t know where to write and with whom to talk about the device itself. Those people from support with whom I managed to communicate unfortunately carried complete nonsense trying to protect the company.
 

Online JxR

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 205
  • Country: us
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #717 on: August 27, 2019, 03:15:13 pm »
Danaher lawyers probably put a moratorium on Brad O. providing any more support here.  If we do get someone back in here from Keithley, I wouldn't be surprised if it is some useless marketing type person.  Or maybe they just won't come back, since we are a bunch of troublemakers  ;)
 

Offline cgroen

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Country: dk
    • Carstens personal web
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #718 on: August 27, 2019, 03:30:00 pm »
It's sad  :'(
Its only because of this thread that I ordered a DMM6500 a short while ago, the same with my 2281S, that one was also acquired solely based on input on this forum.
(come to think of it, all the test equipment I have bought the last couple of years are only because they were mentioned/tested/recommended here!)
Hope Brad is coming back....
 

Offline Wintel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #719 on: August 27, 2019, 05:21:06 pm »
  So it turned out that I received this calibration document. I believe that this is useful and interesting for everyone. I do not have much experience using this device. But something seems to be true, and repeated very well.

 Brad, maybe this is not a very stupid recommendation - to make cursors with different colors.

 Thanks.
Hi MikeP,

Would you mind to tell me how to get the DMM6500 calibration data report ?
 

Offline drummerdimitri

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 382
  • Country: lb
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #720 on: August 30, 2019, 01:48:43 pm »
I have blown the 3.5A internal fuse  :palm: and can't find a suitable replacement locally.

Does anyone know who sources these and ships internationally? Can't seem to find them anywhere  :-//
 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: by
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #721 on: August 30, 2019, 01:56:24 pm »
Would you mind to tell me how to get the DMM6500 calibration data report ?
I got mine through the seller. Just wrote him an email and ask me to send it. They sent PDF very quickly.
 

Offline Wintel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #722 on: August 30, 2019, 04:48:58 pm »
Would you mind to tell me how to get the DMM6500 calibration data report ?
I got mine through the seller. Just wrote him an email and ask me to send it. They sent PDF very quickly.
Thanks this is very helpful.
 

Offline KedasProbe

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 498
  • Country: be
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #723 on: August 31, 2019, 01:13:56 pm »
I have blown the 3.5A internal fuse  :palm: and can't find a suitable replacement locally.

Does anyone know who sources these and ships internationally? Can't seem to find them anywhere  :-//
You mean this one?
Shouldn't be that hard to find a similar one.
https://xdevs.com/doc/Keithley/DMM6500/lukier/dciove.jpg
(This reminds you of 56k dialup modems ;) )

Shouldn't the other one in front have blown first, or did both go?
Is a bit pointless to have a weaker fuse inside than the one that you can easy replace in front.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2019, 01:15:32 pm by KedasProbe »
Not everything that counts can be measured. Not everything that can be measured counts.
[W. Bruce Cameron]
 

Offline Magnum

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: de
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #724 on: August 31, 2019, 01:35:19 pm »
I have blown the 3.5A internal fuse  :palm: and can't find a suitable replacement locally.

Does anyone know who sources these and ships internationally? Can't seem to find them anywhere  :-//

I had blown mine, too. It was hard to find the 3.5A, but a Ebay seller from GB has them:

https://www.ebay.de/itm/SIBA-Fuse-Multimeter-5019906-3-5A-DMM-1000V-AC-DC-Ultra-Rapid-50-199-06-JPSF068/281684545646?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf