Author Topic: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510  (Read 86223 times)

JxR, HendriXML and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cozdas

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #750 on: October 24, 2019, 09:01:01 pm »
does someone have the calibration manual?

In the tektronix manual page, if you select the "service" as the "Manual Type" you can reach the calibration manual. This link should for a while too: https://download.tek.com/manual/DMM6500-905-01B_%20Nov_2018_cal.pdf
 
The following users thanked this post: thm_w

Offline Magnum

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • Country: de
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #751 on: October 27, 2019, 07:31:32 pm »
does someone have the calibration manual?

In the tektronix manual page, if you select the "service" as the "Manual Type" you can reach the calibration manual. This link should for a while too: https://download.tek.com/manual/DMM6500-905-01B_%20Nov_2018_cal.pdf

Thank you for the link. Made the zero Ohm calibration, and everything is fine now.
 

Offline Wintel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #752 on: October 27, 2019, 09:37:27 pm »
does someone have the calibration manual?

In the tektronix manual page, if you select the "service" as the "Manual Type" you can reach the calibration manual. This link should for a while too: https://download.tek.com/manual/DMM6500-905-01B_%20Nov_2018_cal.pdf

Thank you for the link. Made the zero Ohm calibration, and everything is fine now.

Made the zero Ohm calibration by yourself?
 

Offline Magnum

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • Country: de
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #753 on: October 27, 2019, 10:46:37 pm »
Yes, with the Keithley Shorting Plug.
 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Country: by
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #754 on: October 28, 2019, 10:11:52 am »
Does zero calibration shift the entire scale?
Those. was 10V will become 10V - zero offset. So?
 

Offline Magnum

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • Country: de
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #755 on: October 28, 2019, 12:47:23 pm »
Does zero calibration shift the entire scale?
Those. was 10V will become 10V - zero offset. So?
i only checked with Ohms: It shifts the whole range like REL does.
 
The following users thanked this post: MegaVolt

Offline Magnum

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 164
  • Country: de
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #756 on: October 28, 2019, 12:48:57 pm »
You can try it yourself: Make the zero calibration, but don't save it. Then you can verify all reading. When you switch the unit off all changes are gone.
 
The following users thanked this post: thm_w, MegaVolt

Offline hugos31

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 48
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #757 on: October 29, 2019, 08:02:29 am »
I want to buy a second use, does anyone have one for sale? I'm in Peru (South America)  :clap:
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #758 on: November 16, 2019, 01:47:45 pm »
I'm considering buying the DMM6500.

What I like about the unit is the data acquisition possibilities. But after reading through this whole thread I also saw some issues that where pointed out.
The issue that a current trough the current measurement path interferes with the voltage measurement is a bit of a set back.
Also it seems that the technical person of Keithley doesn't interact on this thread anymore, that is a bit unfortunate.
Also In the datasheet I've read it has a fixed forced cooling, however in a video comparing the fan sounds to another device, I can hear it changing. Also in this thread 2 speeds are mentioned.
So what to expect regarding fan noise.
When I write scripts for my other devices, I mostly do that remotely anyways, but in other usages not having a lot of fan noise would be a plus.
I know every case has its best matching device, but as this being a hobby, in my situation it's sometimes otherwise. The case is then matching the device possibilities. Using and exploring gear is a large part of the hobby.
So for me the question would be: is the device fun to use (not to many crashes/bugs, fan noise) and is it accurate enough to make the efforts using it in experiments worthwhile, and also has it also matured enough in its current FW state?
(About the accuracy: I think it should be more than enough.)
« Last Edit: November 21, 2019, 11:27:46 pm by HendriXML »
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 
The following users thanked this post: mycroft

Offline cgroen

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: dk
    • Carstens personal web
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #759 on: November 16, 2019, 01:54:20 pm »
I'm considering buying the DMM6500.

What I like about the unit is the data acquisition possibilities. But after reading through this whole thread I also saw some issues that where pointed out.
The issue that a current trough the current measurement path interferes with the voltage measurement is a bit of a set back.
Also it seems that the technical person of Keithley doesn't interact on this thread anymore, that seems a bit of a bad sign as well.
Also In the datasheet I've read it has a fixed forced cooling, however in a video comparing the fan sounds to another device, I can hear it changing. Also in this thread 2 speeds are mentioned.
So what to expect regarding fan noise.
When I write scripts for my other devices, I mostly do that remotely anyways, but in other usages not having a lot of fan noise would be a plus.
I know every case has its best matching device, but as this being a hobby, in my situation it's sometimes otherwise. The case is then matching the device possibilities. Using and exploring gear is a large part of the hobby.
So for me the question would be: is the device fun to use (not to many crashes/bugs, fan noise) and is it accurate enough to make the efforts using it in experiments worthwhile, but also has it also matured enough in its current FW state?
(About the accuracy: I think it should more than enough.)

I can answer a couple of your questions. I got a DMM6500 some months ago and liked it so much that I bought one more a few weeks ago! The fan is a total non-issue for me, my Agilent 34461A is louder (and that one does also not make much noise). Now, I also have a Keithley 2281S-20-6, and that one is LOUD !
I have had one single "blue screen" on my (first) DMM6500, this was while trying to save data from a session (24 hours, so a couple of bad words came out of my mouth....) but other than that I have had zero problems.

And I agree, it is so sad that Keithley is no longer active in this thread!!!
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #760 on: November 16, 2019, 02:02:41 pm »
I can answer a couple of your questions. I got a DMM6500 some months ago and liked it so much that I bought one more a few weeks ago!
That sure solves the second measurement issue :-+, good to hear you like it so much!
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #761 on: November 16, 2019, 03:22:02 pm »
Because of the many positive responses (1/1)  :-+ I pulled the trigger, and ordered myself a dmm6500. It's a bit too deep for my bench, so that's needs sorting out.
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 

Offline KedasProbe

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 515
  • Country: be
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #762 on: November 16, 2019, 06:43:44 pm »
Yes it has issues but up to 1MS/s with touchscreen and viewable/controllable on your PC screen.
These are damn nice features for me.
It bridges the gap between scope and DMM.

I even checked the clock signal of my I2C bus with it instead of starting/connecting my scope, yes it can trigger on a waveform.  ;D   (a Rigol scope that makes much more noise)

I do wish the hum noise (also when powered off) was lower . (I think it's a bit lottery how loud yours is)

Using it for current and voltage both connected at the same time, I would just avoid unless you really know what to expect. (the same is actually true for almost all other alternatives)
« Last Edit: November 16, 2019, 06:45:52 pm by KedasProbe »
Not everything that counts can be measured. Not everything that can be measured counts.
[W. Bruce Cameron]
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #763 on: November 16, 2019, 07:10:02 pm »
All my devices power-cables are inserted in 2 of those sockets (image), I've one screwed down on the left and one on the right. So it's easy to switch devices completely off. Having a label on the wire is handy as well. This way I can easily shut all stuff down with 2 switches when I'm done. Simple and cheap. (These are Hama's and of ok quality (1.5 mm2 wire)).
« Last Edit: November 16, 2019, 07:11:52 pm by HendriXML »
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 

Offline PTR_1275

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 505
  • Country: au
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #764 on: November 17, 2019, 01:49:58 am »
That’s a neat power board. I’ve seen them with individual switches or a main switch, but not individual and main switching.
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #765 on: November 17, 2019, 12:09:04 pm »
They have also some overvoltage protection  :-+ But that they are bolted down on the edges is a real space saver. In a way they are barriers to keep also other things falling of the edge.

I think that for the dmm6500 I extend my desk and create a platform for my scope at the same time. The sketch is a bit exaggerated and not scaled but shows the idea. The long bolds which tights the extension to the desk use those Ikea style nuts that are placed in sideways.

It won't be a 'pretty' solution, but otherwise the dmm is just a bit too long.

If the fan of the dmm is too noisy, I might go for a more enclosed extension with locally placed sound adsorption. That might lower it by some db's.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2019, 12:59:24 pm by HendriXML »
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 

Offline PTR_1275

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 505
  • Country: au
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #766 on: November 17, 2019, 02:20:58 pm »
What other equipment do you have? The 6500 fits on the same shelf I have for my keithley 2015, agilent 55320 counter, siglent AWG and rigol dp832 power supply plus a lot of other equipment.

Depending on what you plan to do in the future, you may find having a bench with the depth for the 6500 will become a lot more useful.
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #767 on: November 17, 2019, 04:44:05 pm »
This DMM will most likely be my last (measurement) device, so future proofing of space is not really needed. (For my skill level I consider myself sufficiently equipped: Scope, hand MM, psu, awg)
So I'll first see how the desk addition works out.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2019, 11:46:09 pm by HendriXML »
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #768 on: November 20, 2019, 02:02:53 pm »
I got a DMM6500 some months ago and liked it so much that I bought one more a few weeks ago!
I think you also bought yours from www.cnrood.com? Did yours come with a calibration certificate?
Mine came without one.

Also what would be the path to get the free licence for free kickstart?
https://www.tek.com/promotion/free-kickstart-software-purchase-dmm6500-or-dmm6510

As for the fan, I can live with the noise. It's less noisy than my scope.

Is there a way to check how much (turn on) power cycles the unit has? I want to reassure its new and not one that has been send back for whatever reason. (It did come with 2 identical power cords for instance and no certificate, which makes me wonder whether its straight from the factory. The state I got mine in is not consistent with the 2 unboxing video's on YouTube.)
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 02:26:04 pm by HendriXML »
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 

Offline cgroen

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: dk
    • Carstens personal web
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #769 on: November 20, 2019, 03:09:28 pm »
I got a DMM6500 some months ago and liked it so much that I bought one more a few weeks ago!
I think you also bought yours from www.cnrood.com? Did yours come with a calibration certificate?
Mine came without one.

Also what would be the path to get the free licence for free kickstart?
https://www.tek.com/promotion/free-kickstart-software-purchase-dmm6500-or-dmm6510

As for the fan, I can live with the noise. It's less noisy than my scope.

Is there a way to check how much (turn on) power cycles the unit has? I want to reassure its new and not one that has been send back for whatever reason. (It did come with 2 identical power cords for instance and no certificate, which makes me wonder whether its straight from the factory. The state I got mine in is not consistent with the 2 unboxing video's on YouTube.)

Yes, I got the first from cnrood (at a discount), the second one from Farnell. They both came with a calib. certificate and did not look like they had been opened previous etc!
Not sure about the turn on cycles, havn't seen that one!
 

Online Kleinstein

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6430
  • Country: de
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #770 on: November 20, 2019, 03:33:16 pm »
The number of turn on cycles would be odd and not that helpful for normal use. With a LM399 ref. inside the hours active for the reference would be nice to have, but I doubt they have it.
 

Online HendriXML

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: nl
    • KiCad-BOM-reporter
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #771 on: November 20, 2019, 03:39:14 pm »
I contacted Tektronix about the certificate, which was sent to me by mail.

CN rood was mentioned as the only and very thrust worthy local distributor, so that is a plus!

So the deal (658 euro ext vat) they offer at the moment might interest more of you:
https://www.cnrood.com/en/dmm6500-6-digit-touchscreen-multimeter

(My certificate is from dec 2018 so that might be a reason for the lower price.)
« Last Edit: November 20, 2019, 04:46:12 pm by HendriXML »
“I ‘d like to reincarnate as a dung beetle, ‘cause there’s nothing wrong with a shitty life, real misery comes from high expectations”
 

Offline MegaVolt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Country: by
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #772 on: November 20, 2019, 04:04:43 pm »
Is there a way to check how much (turn on) power cycles the unit has?
You can check the number of autocal cycles. (System Calibration menu )
 

Offline KedasProbe

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 515
  • Country: be
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #773 on: November 20, 2019, 07:54:09 pm »
Has this text always been present there for the DMM6500 Manual:
https://www.tek.com/product-support?series=DMM6500%206%C2%BD-Digit%20Graphical%20Touchscreen%20Digital%20Multimeter
Quote
This revision is intended for use with firmware version 1.7.0 and later.
They updated the demo clock application to 2.0

Are we getting a firmware update as Christmas present??
Not everything that counts can be measured. Not everything that can be measured counts.
[W. Bruce Cameron]
 

Online JxR

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: us
Re: New Keithley DMM6500 and now DAQ6510
« Reply #774 on: November 21, 2019, 06:23:26 am »
Has this text always been present there for the DMM6500 Manual:
https://www.tek.com/product-support?series=DMM6500%206%C2%BD-Digit%20Graphical%20Touchscreen%20Digital%20Multimeter
Quote
This revision is intended for use with firmware version 1.7.0 and later.
They updated the demo clock application to 2.0

Are we getting a firmware update as Christmas present??

According to the release notes on the clock application: https://download.tek.com/software/supporting_files/TSPAPP-CLOCK-V2.0.0.txt

"Highlights the customization capability by displaying an animated analog clock

Compatible with DAQ6510 and DMM6500 with v1.0.0 firmware minimum.
Compatible with 2450, 2460, 2461, 2470, DMM7510 with v1.7.0 firmware minimum".

So, it would appear that from this document at least, the "v1.7.0" firmware is not related to the DMM6500.
 
The following users thanked this post: HighVoltage


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf