Author Topic: NEW 100MHz Keysight Scope Release on 1st March 2017  (Read 238872 times)

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: NEW 100MHz Keysight Scope Release on 1st March 2017
« Reply #850 on: December 05, 2017, 11:24:15 am »
About 1Mpts. of memory ? Not even as paid option ?
There is the resistor option to get 1Mpts of memory and all the DSOX1000 features

Offline skander36

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #851 on: December 05, 2017, 11:32:55 am »
There is the resistor option to get 1Mpts of memory and all the DSOX1000 features
I know about , I've read all your post about the subject , but is not displaying anywhere that you have 1 Mpts . There is a method to calculate how much memory you have for sampling ?
Thanks !

Offline rf-loop

• Super Contributor
  • Born in Finland with DLL21 in hand
« Reply #852 on: December 05, 2017, 12:16:41 pm »
Yes, this is a memory thing. Any scope will do this if you zoom out far enough, but the point at which it happens is a function of sample rate and memory depth.
Thanks !
I was not sure , because on Siglent I reduced the memory to 14K (7 times smaller than 100k on EDUX) and waveforms seems still  recognizable . But maybe at deeper zoom levels it doesn't take account about my settings , something like Keysight do with automatic memory allocation .
A key difference between Keysight and Siglent scopes is that Keysight always uses the maximum amount of memory available and Siglent (by default) only uses enough memory to fill the screen. On the Keysight you can zoom out and see more of the signal when using short time/div settings. On the Siglent OTOH you'd need to recapture the signal and then zoom in which is kinda clunky.

Tis is true about Siglent but bit loosy to say that it uses just enough memory to fill the screen.