Author Topic: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)  (Read 2207 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: pt
Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« on: July 28, 2018, 07:01:56 pm »
Has anyone with a Siglent SDG5000 series or SHS800 series done a BW upgrade on them?


Edit: Added the SHS800 SCPI commands list. (something that Siglent says they don't have...)
« Last Edit: September 28, 2019, 08:38:24 pm by tv84 »
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade search?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2018, 10:07:35 pm »
No pain, no gain...  ;)

My big thanks to the volunteers who accepted the challenge.

It's perfectly possible to upgrade these equipments.

The SHS800 series (804, 806, 810 and 815) behave as a SDS1000CML. If you run a SCPI command "MD5_PR?" they will report the product_type "SDS1000CML".

So, I guess looking at the FW, the SHS820 series (820, others?) behave as a SDS1000CNL. Anyone with a SHS820 can confirm this doing the "MD5_PR?".

(And that validates the HWs are really different beteween the 2 series and their corresponding FWs.)

But if that is the case, and since the FW has references to the SHS830 model, maybe it's perfectly possible to upgrade a SHS820 to a SHS830 (300 MHz).

The results so far, are attached.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2018, 09:50:39 am by tv84 »
 
The following users thanked this post: pantelei4, BillB

Offline BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 618
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade search?
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2018, 11:22:43 pm »
Nice work, tv84!  :clap:
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade search?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2018, 08:58:53 pm »
BTW, can't understand how Siglent says that SHS800 (and almost certainly the SHS1000) "don't support SCPI commands"!?!?!!!   :o :o

https://www.siglentamerica.com/operating-tip/siglent-products-support-scpi/

https://www.siglentamerica.com/operating-tip/siglent-products-support-scpi/?pdf=1293

Among other commands, this was received from a SHS806:

>>>*IDN?
*IDN SIGLENT,SHS806,SHS08Dxxxxxxxx,5.09.01.05
>>>MD5_SRLN?
SHS08Dxxxxxxxx
>>>MD5_PR?
SDS1000CML
>>>MD5_CMPY?
SIGLENT

I swear I didn't implement them!!   :-DD
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18110
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2019, 09:58:57 am »
Interested as to how this was done on a SHS as there's only USB and a micro USB I/O's to work with.  :-//
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2019, 10:08:36 am »
Interested as to how this was done on a SHS as there's only USB and a micro USB I/O's to work with.  :-//

If those are the only holes, then for sure it was through one of them... :)  (read my previous msg)

Opening the case it's not a pretty option.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18110
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2019, 10:15:04 am »
Interested as to how this was done on a SHS as there's only USB and a micro USB I/O's to work with.  :-//

If those are the only holes, then for sure it was through one of them... :)  (read my previous msg)

Opening the case it's not a pretty option.
Ah, OK, micro USB to RJ45 cable ?

Shame I don't now have one to play with.  :(
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2019, 10:20:19 am »
Shame I don't now have one to play with.  :(

Shame! Let's make a deal: a 806 for your SDS5K ?   :-DD
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18110
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2019, 10:30:26 am »
Shame I don't now have one to play with.  :(

Shame! Let's make a deal: a 806 for your SDS5K ?   :-DD
:P
Got a dead 806 PCB set from a repair so I can see the I/O's and the juicy Jtag header.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline LPS

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: bh
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2019, 05:20:41 pm »
Hello,

Can someone kindly post more specific instructions on how I could increase the bandwidth of my SHS806 to that of the SHS815.Reading through this thread, tv84 has shown its possible to do.

I have done a bit of playing about, with Siglent’s EASYSCOPEX I can send SCPI commands to the SHS806.  Using trial and error I managed to be able to change the serial number of the unit with the :SRLN <serial number> command which the unit will recognize as verified when checked with the System Status.

The serial number for the SHS806 has the format SHS06DAQ1RXXXX.  If someone can tell me the format of the SHS815 serial number please, maybe if I change specific characters to the correct letter, then upon boot up the firmware will hopefully recognize it as an SHS815.  I can not figure out how to change the System Status (Firmware) to recognize my SHS806 as a SHS815 Product Type.

Anyways, would appreciate some help.  I am quite inexperienced with SCPI and using terminal etc, so pls be quite explicit.

Thanks

Len
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SDG5000 / SHS800 - upgrade hack/unlock (SOLVED)
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2019, 08:41:06 pm »
To change BW you need to use the MCBD command. And for that you need the BW license.

You can't change BW just by playing with the S/N.

You can play with the SCPI commands that the equipment supports (see the list in the 1st msg of the thread).
 
The following users thanked this post: LPS, rubennss, kosomsk


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf