Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1458127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9881
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4075 on: April 06, 2018, 01:42:08 pm »
It might harm the probe top but it won't hurt the oscilloscope.

 

Offline Adrian_Arg.

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 193
  • Country: ar
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4076 on: April 06, 2018, 01:56:56 pm »
ok, thanks for your answer, because there, one acquires bad habits regarding the use of equipment.
 

Offline mos6502

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 537
  • Country: aq
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4077 on: April 20, 2018, 08:53:09 am »
Here's some measurements I took with my new DS1054Z that I received last week. I immediately unlocked it using riglol and the DSER code. Self-cal has been run. Nothing is connected to the BNC jacks. Only CH1 is active, and it's coupled to ground. But it doesn't matter which channel you select. As you can see, a 62.5MHz signal (and its harmonics) can definitely be seen. The 2nd harmonic is the strongest at around -60dBV. Good? Bad? Unacceptable? I think considering the price of the scope, it's not too horrible.





« Last Edit: April 20, 2018, 09:31:55 am by mos6502 »
for(;;);
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9881
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4078 on: April 20, 2018, 09:30:15 am »
I immediately unlocked it using riglol and the DSEF code.

Not sure what that code unlocks. The recommended code is DSER (ie. everything except 500mV).

Nothing is connected to the BNC jacks. Only CH1 is active, and it's coupled to ground. But it doesn't matter which channel you select. As you can see, a 62.5MHz signal (and its harmonics) can definitely be seen.

The "coupled to ground" thing isn't true.  The DS1054Z disconnects the input signal but it doesn't connect the ADC input to ground. You might get less noise with something connected (dummy BNC).

Anyway: Less than 0.5mV of noise at this price range is quite good. The 1mV range is right on the limit for a DS1054Z.

PS: 62.5MHz could be a TV signal.
 

Offline mos6502

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 537
  • Country: aq
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4079 on: April 20, 2018, 09:47:26 am »
Not sure what that code unlocks. The recommended code is DSER (ie. everything except 500mV).

Sorry, you're right, it was a typo. I used DSER. I corrected my post.

The "coupled to ground" thing isn't true.  The DS1054Z disconnects the input signal but it doesn't connect the ADC input to ground. You might get less noise with something connected (dummy BNC).

Well, that's good to know. Why would they do that? I hate these "Chinese suprises". I'll try again with the BNC shorted.

Anyway: Less than 0.5mV of noise at this price range is quite good. The 1mV range is right on the limit for a DS1054Z.

PS: 62.5MHz could be a TV signal.

I doubt that, other people (in this thread) have reported that 62.5MHz spur as well. Google "DS1000Z 62.5MHz".
for(;;);
 

Offline mos6502

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 537
  • Country: aq
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4080 on: April 20, 2018, 10:23:57 am »
OK, so I did some more testing. If I short the BNC:



with the coupling set to GND, there is absolutely no difference. But if I change the coupling to DC or AC (even with the BNC shorted) the noise floor goes up. Also the voltage on the trace shows zero change when shorting the BNC. So it does look like the coupling to ground is working.

Weirdly though, now I ran the FFT with a faster time base and it looks different. The spurs are now at -80dBV? I don't know much about this HF stuff so I can't make heads or tails of this.



In any case, that 62.5MHz signal is real, and it's coming from inside the scope.
for(;;);
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2931
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4081 on: April 20, 2018, 10:33:24 am »
OK, so I did some more testing. If I short the BNC with the coupling set to GND, there is absolutely no difference. But if I change the coupling to DC or AC (even with the BNC shorted) the noise floor goes up.

 Also the voltage on the trace shows zero change when shorting the BNC. So it does look like the coupling to ground is working.

I‘d say the first thing this shows is that your little wire loop is not working. ;-). Better use a properly shielded terminator.

But on the other hand, whatever the scope does when you select GND mode for the input, seems to be reasonably effective. I do recall posts where users have tested with proper external shortening of the input and obtained the same results, with the weak 62.5 MHz signal. So that signal seems to sneak in at a later stage of the input chain. As you already said in your first post, nothing to worry about.
 

Offline mos6502

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 537
  • Country: aq
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4082 on: April 20, 2018, 11:04:25 am »
I‘d say the first thing this shows is that your little wire loop is not working. ;-). Better use a properly shielded terminator.


You mean a 50 Ohm terminator? I'm pretty sure my paperclip has less than 50 Ohms  ;)

But on the other hand, whatever the scope does when you select GND mode for the input, seems to be reasonably effective. I do recall posts where users have tested with proper external shortening of the input and obtained the same results, with the weak 62.5 MHz signal. So that signal seems to sneak in at a later stage of the input chain. As you already said in your first post, nothing to worry about.

Yes, definitely. I just found out that enabling the 20MHz bandwidth limiter has zero effect on the 62.5MHz signal. It's no deal breaker, as long as you don't need to look for a 62.5MHz signal with the FFT :P
for(;;);
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5965
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4083 on: April 20, 2018, 11:09:55 am »
I‘d say the first thing this shows is that your little wire loop is not working. ;-). Better use a properly shielded terminator.
You mean a 50 Ohm terminator? I'm pretty sure my paperclip has less than 50 Ohms  ;)

That paper clip is an antenna.

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2931
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4084 on: April 20, 2018, 11:35:20 am »
That paper clip is an antenna.

Yup, that‘s what I meant. Thanks.
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9881
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4085 on: April 20, 2018, 11:43:58 am »
You mean a 50 Ohm terminator? I'm pretty sure my paperclip has less than 50 Ohms  ;)

But ... no shielding so it can pick up everything around you.

Try putting tinfoil over it.

But on the other hand, whatever the scope does when you select GND mode for the input, seems to be reasonably effective.
Yes, but people seem to expect it to work like an old analog 'scope which had a physical switch to connect the beam control to ground.

At least they didn't cheat by simply replacing the input data with digital zeros to get it "perfect".
 

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9902
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4086 on: April 20, 2018, 01:50:25 pm »
But on the other hand, whatever the scope does when you select GND mode for the input, seems to be reasonably effective.

Yes, but people seem to expect it to work like an old analog 'scope which had a physical switch to connect the beam control to ground.

At least they didn't cheat by simply replacing the input data with digital zeros to get it "perfect".

Analog oscilloscopes do not do that; they disconnect the input connector and connect the input to ground.  This also serves as the precharge function preventing damage when using AC coupling with a large DC signal.
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4087 on: May 24, 2018, 09:16:24 pm »
Where exactly do you try to login? The web interface (http on port 80) does not require a login.
I could not find working credentials to access the »Networks Settings« page ./DS1000Z_NetworkSettings.html though.
...
The »Network Settings« login window reads: ...

user: rigollan
password: 111111


With the last Version 00.04.04.03.05 the login is now working with:
username: rigolan
password: 111111
« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 08:36:19 am by ankerwolf »
 

Offline ProBang2

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 300
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4088 on: May 25, 2018, 08:41:28 am »

Where is a source for the new firmware?
Can´t find any...
It seems, the usual website (This) only provides the old version 00.04.03.02.03.
 

Offline natman69

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: it
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4089 on: May 25, 2018, 09:19:06 am »
Read this thread:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-firmware-ds1000z-00-04-04-03-05-2018-05-09-(2018-02-28)/

You'll find a download link in message #70. It's an edited firmware without the 'pluses' errors... ;)
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1764
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4090 on: May 25, 2018, 03:07:01 pm »
I thought Rigol released an official update?
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2003
  • Country: hr
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4091 on: May 25, 2018, 03:16:59 pm »

Where is a source for the new firmware?
Can´t find any...
It seems, the usual website (This) only provides the old version 00.04.03.02.03.

I thought Rigol released an official update?

They did...

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-firmware-ds1000z-00-04-04-03-05-2018-05-09-(2018-02-28)/msg1531235/#msg1531235
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1764
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4092 on: May 25, 2018, 06:35:31 pm »
Yes, well I navigated to post #70 as instructed and found a rogue ZIP file attached.
 

Offline frozenfrogz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 888
  • Country: de
  • Having fun with Arduino and Raspberry Pi
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4093 on: May 26, 2018, 08:55:37 am »
You will always* find links to the most recent firmware releases over in the DS1000Z buglist thread.

*unless I missed something, then please PM me or comment in the thread!

Dear admins, can we have a Rigol subsection PLEASE! The stickies are all about that 121 meter and because of the clutter, we are seeing new posts about the same old DS1054z topic every couple of days. There have to be a gazillion redundant ones by now asking about the hack and firmware etc.

Can we haz subsection please?
He’s like a trained ape. Without the training.
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5965
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4094 on: May 26, 2018, 09:00:11 am »
Dear admins, can we have a Rigol subsection PLEASE! The stickies are all about that 121 meter and because of the clutter, we are seeing new posts about the same old DS1054z topic every couple of days. There have to be a gazillion redundant ones by now asking about the hack and firmware etc.

Can we haz subsection please?

Send a PM request to admins and CC it to Dave, as this post will be drowned into the abyss and forgotten.
 
The following users thanked this post: frozenfrogz

Offline jancumps

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1190
  • Country: be
  • New Low
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4095 on: May 26, 2018, 09:31:56 am »
Dear admins ...

Can we haz subsection please?

Send a PM request to admins and CC it to Dave, as this post will be drowned into the abyss and forgotten.

I’d like to keep Rigol under the current section. It sits perfectly good here with the other equipment.
 

Offline borjam

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 723
  • Country: es
  • EA2EKH
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4096 on: May 26, 2018, 09:57:01 am »

Where is a source for the new firmware?
Can´t find any...
It seems, the usual website (This) only provides the old version 00.04.03.02.03.
Rigol has somewhat of a chaos with firmware updates.

There were two usual places to download firmware updates. The one you linked and

http://int.rigol.com/Support/SoftDownload/3

However, this time they have only released new firmwares in 2018 on this page:

http://www.rigol.com/Support/SoftDownload/3

Same as the previous one, just www instead of int. The Chinese website.

Quite crazy, I hope one day they mature and at the very least they release new versions in a somewhat consistent way.  :palm:

 

Offline Synthtech

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 168
  • Country: au
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4097 on: May 26, 2018, 10:07:41 am »
I am am pleased that they are still releasing updates at all for a product of this age. Some companies would have left well enough alone by that point and not bothered.
 
The following users thanked this post: Jacon

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9881
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4098 on: May 26, 2018, 10:31:53 am »
The stickies are all about that 121 meter

...because that's an EEVBLOG meter.

 

Offline frozenfrogz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 888
  • Country: de
  • Having fun with Arduino and Raspberry Pi
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4099 on: May 26, 2018, 11:08:28 am »
The stickies are all about that 121 meter
...because that's an EEVBLOG meter.

I’m aware of that. Might be just my personal preference to have things neatly sorted in perfectly well labeled boxes, so I can always find what I was looking for. :)
Of course that is not for me to decide here on the forums.
In terms of usability I would prefer more specific subsections to manage the clutter and keep stickies to the real important stuff (whoever is the judge of that ;) ).
Maybe also I am wrong in thinking having more subsections gets rid of most of the redundantly opened threads.
He’s like a trained ape. Without the training.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf