Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1605108 times)

0 Members and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline pitfermi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4525 on: September 05, 2020, 10:52:06 pm »
You need to learn to use triggering.
You can trigger on specific UART characters in boot sequence..

i dont even know what the uart outputs, thats the problem. can you be more specific for this scope? or maybe a short demonstration video? sorry, i'm new to using scopes
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3034
  • Country: hr
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4526 on: September 05, 2020, 11:05:00 pm »
Sorry but I haven't a clue what you are looking for.
All I know that you can trigger on many trigger types and you should study triggering in user manual, and then figure out which one to use for this..
 

Offline PeDre

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 179
  • Country: at
    • Private Website
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4527 on: September 06, 2020, 05:35:03 am »
is there a way to save the captured signal exactly as it was read and decode it later? if no, how can i decode on the fly only a particular time interval of the uart output? thanks in advance

The Linux program 'DSRemote' can read and decode the data:
https://www.teuniz.net/DSRemote/
https://gitlab.com/Teuniz/DSRemote

Here is the thread about it:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/free-ds6000ds1000z-software/

Peter
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 06:05:50 am by PeDre »
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3685
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4528 on: September 06, 2020, 06:11:24 am »
i have a device which has an uart interface. I am capturing the boot log using a ds1054z, i see the signal on the scope and want to decode it.
[...] is there a way to save the captured signal exactly as it was read and decode it later?

Are you sure you want to do this via the Rigol at all? If you need to analyze a larger chunk of serial data, and its timing relative to other output signals is not relevant, I would strongly recommend that you read it into a PC directly (via a serial-to-USB interface and a terminal program). Much easier to search or filter the data on the PC screen.
 

Offline pitfermi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4529 on: September 06, 2020, 07:23:43 am »
i tried using a usb to ttl(3.3v) dongle with putty, it couldnt decode the stream for some reason. tried all possible baudrates. thats why i wanted to troubleshoot it further utilizing the scope and freeze the stream and read a specific portion of it. the data could be corrupt or just random(test pin), not sure

i have a device which has an uart interface. I am capturing the boot log using a ds1054z, i see the signal on the scope and want to decode it.
[...] is there a way to save the captured signal exactly as it was read and decode it later?

Are you sure you want to do this via the Rigol at all? If you need to analyze a larger chunk of serial data, and its timing relative to other output signals is not relevant, I would strongly recommend that you read it into a PC directly (via a serial-to-USB interface and a terminal program). Much easier to search or filter the data on the PC screen.
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3685
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4530 on: September 06, 2020, 07:44:10 am »
Then use the scope to figure out the data format, and subsequently the PC to read all data and look for relevant content.

For the first steps, you don't need serial decoding at all: Check the "idle" signal level (high or low); check the minimum duration of a bit to figure out the baud rate.

If you want to endable decoding on the Rigol, you can do that, and it does work on a stored trace -- decoding essentially happens during the screen display rendering, if I recall correctly. You will need to tell the scope which channel to decode, and what the signal polarity, baud rate etc. are. So it is not more "automatic" than the decoding your PC provides, and only a little more flexible (the signal polarity can be chosen). Since decoding does work from the screen contents, the Rigol scope can only decode bytes which are fully displayed on the screen, from start bit to end.
 

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4531 on: September 06, 2020, 09:33:24 am »
Navigational Warning

Don't flash the Z-E firmware in the old DS1000Z scope!

Because it seems Rigol made an error and it's possible to flash the 1st released version in the older machine, limiting it to 2 channels.
Thought the Chinese made a general update for the Z, E series, and it turned out Z-E is a separate model and broke its Rigol DS1054Z. The oscilloscope had firmware 00.04.04.04.03, confusing the update file, instead of DS1000Z downloaded DS1000Z-E versions 00.06.02.00 01 from here https://www.rigolna.com/firmware/. The set received an update, rebooted and as a result works, but there are no two channels, channels 1 and 2 work. Channels 3 and 4 are not enabled. As I realized - poured firmware for DS1202Z-E. Tried to upgrade with the 00.04.04.04.03 version, but the set does not see the update... Is it possible to restore DS1054Z?
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1843
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4532 on: September 06, 2020, 10:25:26 am »
Is it possible to restore DS1054Z?

I think this file should solve your problem.

(It should have been Rigol to solve it...)

Report if it is ok as I don't touch this stuff for many moons.

Edit: Removed the file as Rigol (IMHO unconsciously) made it obsolete. Read next messages.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 03:41:01 pm by tv84 »
 
The following users thanked this post: alexalr

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4533 on: September 06, 2020, 11:16:31 am »
Is it possible to restore DS1054Z?

I think this file should solve your problem.

(It should have been Rigol to solve it...)

Report if it is ok as I don't touch this stuff for many moons.
I managed to restore the full functioning of the oscillograph in my own way, by substituting, but now I will look at your method. Now I'm not afraid to kill the machine - everything is easily restored.
Now I will again run the device with the version for Z-E and try to bring it back to life in your way. The changes you made to the firmware file interest me.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 11:26:50 am by alexalr »
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1843
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4534 on: September 06, 2020, 11:34:40 am »
The changes you made to the firmware file interest me.

Here.

Long ago this stopped from being rocket science...

Supposedly you can flash my crafted FW anytime as it will flash the 00.04.04.04.03 stock file over the DS Z-E 00.06.02.00.01.
 

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4535 on: September 06, 2020, 01:04:59 pm »
The changes you made to the firmware file interest me.

Here.

Long ago this stopped from being rocket science...

Supposedly you can flash my crafted FW anytime as it will flash the 00.04.04.04.03 stock file over the DS Z-E 00.06.02.00.01.
wrote your file to USB, but the oscillograph says "USB device detected" and does not see the update. Your way didn't work. I replaced the version text in the original firmware file and changed the firmware name, only then the oscillograph restored its functionality with 4 channels. When I sewed the device with the Z-E version, there was a 2ns scan, we need to try to add this scan to the original firmware.
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3685
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4536 on: September 06, 2020, 01:56:07 pm »
[...] we need to try to add this scan to the original firmware.

„we“.
Alright, go ahead then.
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1843
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4537 on: September 06, 2020, 02:18:33 pm »
wrote your file to USB, but the oscillograph says "USB device detected" and does not see the update. Your way didn't work.

Did you unzip it?  :-//
 

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4538 on: September 06, 2020, 03:17:53 pm »
wrote your file to USB, but the oscillograph says "USB device detected" and does not see the update. Your way didn't work.

Did you unzip it?  :-//
Of course I unpacked, and how else I made updates with similar files. I placed this file in a DS1000ZUpdate.GEL USB stick root. The bootloader checks the update version, which is located at 10h in the firmware file, and the version is lower than the one that is already firmware ignores. I changed the entry 00.04.04.04.03 to 00.06.02.00.01, that is, to the one that was already in the memory of the oscillograph, but he again did not accept it. I had to change the name of the firmware from DS1000ZUpdate.GEL to DS1000Z-EUpdate.GEL, only after that the oscillograph adopted the update. All 4 channels are fully operational.
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1843
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4539 on: September 06, 2020, 03:22:55 pm »
I changed the entry 00.04.04.04.03 to 00.06.02.00.01, that is, to the one that was already in the memory of the oscillograph, but he again did not accept it. I had to change the name of the firmware from DS1000ZUpdate.GEL to DS1000Z-EUpdate.GEL, only after that the oscillograph adopted the update. All 4 channels are fully operational.

Did you do these changes in a stock FW or in my FW?
 

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4540 on: September 06, 2020, 03:28:56 pm »
Thank you.

the values
I don't know how to move values yet. I tried to move the panel down, but then the trigger value is at the wrong level in relation to other values.

I added some changes and edited previous post. Now I love my ds1054z.
And I will completely love when I manage to add a 2ns scan
 

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4541 on: September 06, 2020, 03:33:03 pm »
I changed the entry 00.04.04.04.03 to 00.06.02.00.01, that is, to the one that was already in the memory of the oscillograph, but he again did not accept it. I had to change the name of the firmware from DS1000ZUpdate.GEL to DS1000Z-EUpdate.GEL, only after that the oscillograph adopted the update. All 4 channels are fully operational.

Did you do these changes in a stock FW or in my FW?
I made changes to the original firmware file 00.04.04.04.03 before you sent me your file.
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1843
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4542 on: September 06, 2020, 03:36:32 pm »
I made changes to the original firmware file 00.04.04.04.03 before you sent me your file.

So that means Rigol disabled the footer verification of the header's version # in the Z-E!  :palm:

Everyone can downgrade a Z-E just by changing the version # in the file header. Let's see for how long...
 

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4543 on: September 06, 2020, 03:39:12 pm »
Navigational Warning

Don't flash the Z-E firmware in the old DS1000Z scope!

Because it seems Rigol made an error and it's possible to flash the 1st released version in the older machine, limiting it to 2 channels.
Did you kill your oscillograph with a Z-E firmware, too?
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1843
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4544 on: September 06, 2020, 03:40:03 pm »
Navigational Warning

Don't flash the Z-E firmware in the old DS1000Z scope!

Because it seems Rigol made an error and it's possible to flash the 1st released version in the older machine, limiting it to 2 channels.
Did you kill your oscillograph with a Z-E firmware, too?

No, never had one.
 

Offline alexalr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: ru
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4545 on: September 06, 2020, 03:45:05 pm »
I made changes to the original firmware file 00.04.04.04.03 before you sent me your file.

So that means Rigol disabled the footer verification of the header's version # in the Z-E!  :palm:

Everyone can downgrade a Z-E just by changing the version # in the file header. Let's see for how long...
I agree, I'm just lucky   ;D
 

Offline rea

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: af
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4546 on: October 10, 2020, 07:17:01 pm »
Good evening.

Re-did the interface for Rigol DS1000Z (tested only at DS1054Z): the stock one is a bit underworked, as to me.  Had not revised and fixed most help items, but other stuff should be fairly complete and consistent.

Firmware is 00.04.04.04.03 with no modifications to the binaries -- just GUI resources and logo.

Download links:
 
Feedback is welcome; for any issues, please, try to include screenshots and model for me to understand how the things are laid out at your device.
 
The following users thanked this post: edavid, bitseeker, frozenfrogz

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11419
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4547 on: October 10, 2020, 07:33:31 pm »
Do you have screenshots before/after?
 

Offline rea

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: af
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4548 on: October 10, 2020, 07:45:29 pm »
Only the "after" ones: "before" was completely stock.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2020, 07:47:20 pm by rea »
 
The following users thanked this post: frozenfrogz


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf