Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 2039038 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1307
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4625 on: July 24, 2021, 04:33:48 pm »
For the Windows guys, I can confirm that the key disk can be created using Win32DiskImager and RoGeorge's file. I can upgrade and downgrade as I want. However, I don't get the extra menus. Do I have to press any buttons or it just shows up at drive insertion?

Thanks RoGeorge!
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 

Offline Adrian_Arg.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 420
  • Country: ar
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4626 on: July 24, 2021, 04:45:16 pm »
RoGeorge, probaste si se corrigio el problema dela sincronización con capturas a 24 megabits, porque en mis pruebas no!
https://electronics.stackexchange.com/questions/517690/rigol-ds1074-oscilloscope-shows-very-wrong-timing
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6136
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4627 on: July 24, 2021, 06:26:33 pm »
RoGeorge, probaste si se corrigio el problema dela sincronización con capturas a 24 megabits, porque en mis pruebas no!
https://electronics.stackexchange.com/questions/517690/rigol-ds1074-oscilloscope-shows-very-wrong-timing

Please use English only on this forum.

Yes, the timing is still incorrect at 500ms/div and 24Mpts with the latest FW v00.04.05.01.00 (Software Version 00.04.05.SP1).

The attached capture is a 1Hz square wave signal, therefore the trace should be perfectly aligned with the oscilloscope's grid, yet the first and last falling edges visible in the screen are visibly misaligned from the grid.  Cursor and measurements both measure the square wave length as 1040ms instead of 1000ms.

It appears like the signal would have 0.96Hz, yet the generator is generating 1.00Hz precisely.  Same signal on a different timebase (for example at 1s/div or at 200ms/div) measures correctly, precisely 1000ms.

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6136
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4628 on: July 24, 2021, 06:44:42 pm »
For the Windows guys, I can confirm that the key disk can be created using Win32DiskImager and RoGeorge's file. I can upgrade and downgrade as I want. However, I don't get the extra menus. Do I have to press any buttons or it just shows up at drive insertion?

Thanks RoGeorge!

The service menus are reachable only while the the USB drive with 'Rigol sign disk' is inserted.  You need to navigate to those service menus by pressing buttons.  For Example:

- press 'Storage' -> 'DiskManage' and you should see an extra disk called "Local SYS".  Rotate the "Intensity" knob to select the SYS disk, then press the 'Intensity' knob to see the file names.  "Local SYS" disk and files are not visible without a plugged USB with "Rigol sign disk".

- press 'Utility' -> 'Down arrow to move the dot to the second Utilities page" -> "TestModel", and it will show some service menus.  "TestModel" menu is not visible without a plugged USB with "Rigol sign disk".

Online Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1307
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4629 on: July 24, 2021, 07:03:38 pm »
The service menus are reachable only while the the USB drive with 'Rigol sign disk' is inserted.  You need to navigate to those service menus by pressing buttons.  For Example:

- press 'Storage' -> 'DiskManage' and you should see an extra disk called "Local SYS".  Rotate the "Intensity" knob to select the SYS disk, then press the 'Intensity' knob to see the file names.  "Local SYS" disk and files are not visible without a plugged USB with "Rigol sign disk".

- press 'Utility' -> 'Down arrow to move the dot to the second Utilities page" -> "TestModel", and it will show some service menus.  "TestModel" menu is not visible without a plugged USB with "Rigol sign disk".

Yes, I've got the menus. Thanks!
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 

Offline Dezmond2

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: ua
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4630 on: September 08, 2021, 10:15:34 pm »
Always active persistence in Rigol DSOs does not cause problems / inconveniences? He don't have option to disable this?  :-//
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16531
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4631 on: September 09, 2021, 03:26:49 am »
Always active persistence in Rigol DSOs does not cause problems / inconveniences?

No.
 

Offline neik

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: it
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4632 on: September 17, 2021, 01:58:53 pm »
Hey guys,
I'm trying to control my DS1054Z in MATLAB using its IVI drivers. Unfortunately I am able to acquire 1200 points at the most. When invoking IviScope_ConfigureAcquisitionRecord with a larger value for MinNumPts "Invalid Input" is dispalyed on the oscilloscope's screen and the waveform acquisition won't start, returning a "Not a valid configuration" error in MATLAB.
It's my understanding that 1200 is the number of points displayed on the oscilloscope screen, and that's all I'm getting from the oscilloscope with my code. Does anyone know if it's possible to acquire from the oscilloscope memory by using IVI drivers? Or it is only possibile by using SCPI command / specific drivers?
My script for convenience:

Code: [Select]
scope = icdevice('rigol_IVI.mdd', 'Rigol')
connect(scope)


%%%% Channel 1 %%%%

Range = 1;
Offset = 0.0;
Coupling = 0;
Enabled = true;
Probe_attenuation = 1;
invoke(scope.Configurationchannel,'configurechannel',"CHAN1",Range,Offset,Coupling,Probe_attenuation,Enabled)

Input_impedance = 1000000
Max_frequency_hertz = 50000000
invoke(scope.Configurationchannel,'configurechancharacteristics',"CHAN1",Input_impedance,Max_frequency_hertz)

%%%% Channel 2 %%%%

Range = 1;
Offset = 0.0;
Coupling = 0;
Enabled = true;
Probe_attenuation = 1;
invoke(scope.Configurationchannel,'configurechannel',"CHAN2",Range,Offset,Coupling,Probe_attenuation,Enabled)

Input_impedance = 1000000
Max_frequency_hertz = 50000000
invoke(scope.Configurationchannel,'configurechancharacteristics',"CHAN2",Input_impedance,Max_frequency_hertz)

%%%% Acq settings %%%%

Acquisition_type = 0;
invoke(scope.Configurationacquisition,'configureacquisitiontype',Acquisition_type)
Time_per_record_s = 0.0008
Minimum_record_len = 5000
Acquisition_start = 0
% getting "invalid input" on oscilloscope screen on this invoke if Minimum_record_len > 1200
invoke(scope.Configurationacquisition,'configureacquisitionrecord',Time_per_record_s, Minimum_record_len, Acquisition_start)

%%%% Trigger %%%%
Trigger_type = 1
Trigger_holdoff_s = 0
Trigger_coupling = 1

invoke(scope.Configurationtriggerbaseconfigure,'configuretrigger',Trigger_type,Trigger_holdoff_s)
invoke(scope.Configurationtriggerbaseconfigure,'configuretriggercoupling',Trigger_coupling)

Trigger_source = 'CHAN2'
Trigger_lvl_v = 0.05
Trigger_slope = 1 % positive
invoke(scope.Configurationtriggeredgetrigger,'configureedgetriggersource',Trigger_source,Trigger_lvl_v,Trigger_slope)

%%%% acquisition %%%%
waveform_len = invoke(scope.Configurationconfigurationinformation, 'actualrecordlength')
waveform_array = zeros(waveform_len, 1);

% getting the matlab error here
[waveform_array, points, x0, dx] = invoke(scope.Waveformacquisition, 'readwaveform', 'CHAN1', waveform_len, 10000000, waveform_array)
plot(waveform_array)

disconnect(scope);
delete(scope);
clear scope;
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6136
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4633 on: September 17, 2021, 09:43:11 pm »
Yes it is possible in many ways, it's not the driver's fault, can be done even without any drivers at all.  Find the proper SCPI commands in the 'DS1000Z Programming Guide' pdf.  There are many versions, look for Dec 2015 or newer maybe.

If you read the programming guide and still need more help, better start a new topic about that.

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2196
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4634 on: September 19, 2021, 01:19:23 pm »
The basic procedure works

Set the instrument to STOP state (you can only read the waveform data in the internal memory when the oscilloscope is in STOP state)
Set the channel source
Set the waveform reading mode to RAW (Normal/MAX only read screen data)
Set the return format of the waveform data to BYTE (affects how much memory data can be read - BYTE=250000 > WORD=125000 > ASCii=15625)
Set the start point of waveform data reading to the first waveform point
Set the stop point of waveform data reading to the last point (if scope memory depth setting exceeds return format limits above, must batch)
Read the waveform data in the internal memory (all the points)
 

Offline PawelW

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
    • VW Bulli
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4635 on: September 20, 2021, 03:21:56 pm »
There is a new version 00.04.05.02.00 dated 2021-08-19 here https://www.rigol.com/products/oscillosopes/ds1000z.html
Can someone please download it and attach it here. I don't have access to this site.
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3211
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4636 on: September 20, 2021, 03:43:59 pm »
Here.

【This update】
v00.04.05.02.00  2021/07/24
     - new version update
 
The following users thanked this post: Qw3rtzuiop

Offline PawelW

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
    • VW Bulli
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4637 on: September 20, 2021, 03:57:34 pm »
Here.

【This update】
v00.04.05.02.00  2021/07/24
     - new version update
Thank you. Already upgraded with attached file. Don't see any difference. Maybe some minor fixes were done.
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6136
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4638 on: September 20, 2021, 04:53:08 pm »
Changes log inside the firmware zip translates "new version update" (Google translate):    :-//
Code: [Select]
Support product models] All MSO/DS1000Z series oscilloscopes
【Latest revision time】 2021/07/24


[Contents of this update]
v00.04.05.02.00 2021/07/24
      - new version update

[History version description]

v00.04.05.01.00 2021/06/01
      -Modify the vertical display

v00.04.05.00.00 2020/12/29
      -Add and modify some measurement functions
      -Math problem modification
      -Modify some SCPI command errors
      -Trigger problem fix
« Last Edit: September 20, 2021, 04:54:40 pm by RoGeorge »
 

Offline Adrian_Arg.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 420
  • Country: ar
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4639 on: September 20, 2021, 07:11:43 pm »
PawelW since you took the risk of installing it, you tested if the synchronization problem with captures at 24 megabits was corrected
https://electronics.stackexchange.com/questions/517690/rigol-ds1074-oscilloscope-shows-very-wrong-timing, the truth this time I do not feel like taking risks !!! :-//  of not being able to reinstall a previous version as I almost happened with the previous one :phew:
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6136
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4640 on: September 20, 2021, 08:30:21 pm »
the truth this time I do not feel like taking risks !!! :-//  of not being able to reinstall a previous version as I almost happened with the previous one :phew:

Now it is possible to downgrade the firmware upon wish.

Use this "Rigol_sign_disk.zip" image attached at the end of https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-rigol-ds1054z-oscilloscope/msg3613778/#msg3613778 and the oscilloscope will downgrade to any older firmware versions you copy on that Rigol signed disk.

Offline newbrain

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1706
  • Country: se
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4641 on: September 21, 2021, 09:52:12 pm »
tested if the synchronization problem with captures at 24 megabits was corrected
Nope, same problem.
500 ms/ + 24 MB => botched horizontal scaling.
Other combinations of time per division and memory seem to work, but I did not do extensive testing.
Nandemo wa shiranai wa yo, shitteru koto dake.
 

Offline PawelW

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
    • VW Bulli
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4642 on: September 23, 2021, 12:16:36 pm »
I have just changed Fan to Gelid Silent 5 Fan. What a difference. It is almost silent now.
If someone has still a factory fan it is really worth doing modifications.
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16531
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4643 on: September 23, 2021, 02:06:01 pm »
I have just changed Fan to Gelid Silent 5 Fan. What a difference. It is almost silent now.
If someone has still a factory fan it is really worth doing modifications.

Yep. The fan mod is definitely worth doing!

 

Offline NEDM64

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4644 on: September 23, 2021, 03:43:47 pm »
I have just changed Fan to Gelid Silent 5 Fan. What a difference. It is almost silent now.
If someone has still a factory fan it is really worth doing modifications.

Yep. The fan mod is definitely worth doing!

The fan only cools the PSU or does it cool the board too?

What about temperatures?
Are you thinking about buying Keysight test equipment? Think about this
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16531
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4645 on: September 23, 2021, 03:58:04 pm »
The fan only cools the PSU or does it cool the board too?

Neither. It just blows air out of the case.

What about temperatures?

The fans reccmmended/used here have the same airflow.

There was a guy here who swapped the fan then didn't notice that the new one wasn't spinning. He was impressed by how silent it was. The 'scope worked fine.

The 'scope is rated for a 50 degree environment so even if the temperature goes up a couple of degrees you'll be OK.
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4646 on: September 23, 2021, 06:01:27 pm »
Although the fan sits close to the power supply and promotes them primarily through this,
but his flow rate is, of course, the amount of air, which forcibly flows through the (entire) housing.

Do not have to flow, because completely without air stream, there were not only in the power supply,
but also on the motherboard some hotspots, which would achieve questionable temperatures without moving air within the housing.
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline NEDM64

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4647 on: September 23, 2021, 07:44:34 pm »
Yes, if the fan doesn't remove the hot air from the PSU, then that air will heat the motherboard.

Also mind that the hotter the device works, the less it will last.
Are you thinking about buying Keysight test equipment? Think about this
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16531
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4648 on: September 23, 2021, 07:48:24 pm »
We're not removing the fan or blocking it, just putting in a different one.
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 226
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #4649 on: September 24, 2021, 12:43:26 am »
We're not removing the fan or blocking it, just putting in a different one.

I have already understood.

I only raised the objection because this one sentence (someone has exchanged the fan and not noticed that this did not ran ...)
someone could suggest someone that it could go without throughput.

The CPU has already on its outside with sufficient air throughput quite fast over 140 °F.
Have noticed with my tests with the fan control that the outlet temperature "out of the housing" can increase
at a to low-chosen flow rate (of course not by the CPU alone) after half an hour to 100 °F, in summer to over 115 °F.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2021, 12:51:22 am by klausES »
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf