Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1471517 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bitwelder

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 815
  • Country: fi
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1325 on: April 15, 2015, 06:41:42 am »
Hello
 I am also waiting for a DS1054Z and I have a doubt, which is the private key and where can I get?
The license key is generated starting from a private key (which is different for each Rigol model, but not each S/N).
Once you type a serial number the keygen program web application detects what type of Rigol model is (because of the structure of the S/N) and fills the private key field accordingly. So you currently don't need to worry about it.
Also, in case Rigol in a future will change the 'seeds' used to generate the license by changing the private keys (but without changing the basic algorithm), you will still have the possibility to manually input the new values there.
 

Offline figo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1326 on: April 16, 2015, 12:19:28 am »
thanks for answering, so to say that just need to enter the series of the scope and the software will fill the keygen field and generate new keys?  :clap:

 I will wait to arrive to test the switch to ds1104z.   8)


Greetings
 figo
 

Offline DanielS

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 798
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1327 on: April 16, 2015, 05:11:48 am »
A couple of days ago, I posted about requesting warranty replacements for flaky probes - five of my original DS1054Z probes between two scopes had an intermittent 1X and one of them, not sure if it was one of those five, also had a problem with the sharp-tipped nib getting stuck in the hook attachment.

I received my five replacements from Rigol this morning, after a painless but slow warranty replacement request made worse by Easter holidays. Out of those five, one had a somewhat flaky switch out-of-the-box, though still better than my 5th worse original probe. Time to see how well these will hold up over the next month or two of use.
 

Offline bitwelder

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 815
  • Country: fi
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1328 on: April 16, 2015, 05:49:57 am »
thanks for answering, so to say that just need to enter the series of the scope and the software will fill the keygen field and generate new keys?  :clap:
To try it before your DSO arrives, find one of the many YT videos you can find with a 'rigol hack' search, and pick *their* S/N ;D
 

Offline figo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1329 on: April 16, 2015, 08:51:55 pm »
thanks for answering, so to say that just need to enter the series of the scope and the software will fill the keygen field and generate new keys?  :clap:
To try it before your DSO arrives, find one of the many YT videos you can find with a 'rigol hack' search, and pick *their* S/N ;D


Hello
 I did what you said and did not go well.

 Appears an error, ERROR: INVALID PRIVATE KEY LENGTH  |O
 In private key did not enter anything.  :-//
  You were joking or serious?   :-[














 

Offline dadler

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 851
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1330 on: April 16, 2015, 09:13:26 pm »
Why are you entering the key?

Just enter the serial number and the option code. The JavaScript will populate the key.

The private key box is only provided in case Rigol changes the keys embedded in the firmware. For the DS1XXX series you do *not* need to populate the box by hand.

You may need to refresh the page and start from scratch. Just enter the serial and option code (DSER)
 

Offline figo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1331 on: April 16, 2015, 11:00:10 pm »
This is the message that appears.
 print screen
 

Offline Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5945
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1332 on: April 17, 2015, 02:10:54 am »
When you type in the serial number it will fill the private key box. If it does not, your browser can go die in a fi- oh, it's IE. It can go DIAF anyway.
 

Offline g8bnr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: england
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1333 on: April 17, 2015, 03:54:57 pm »
Today, I checked and if I get to Riglol in Internet Explorer, then I get, a version without a number, which displays the error 'Invalid Private Code' because it did not generate one. If, on the other hand, I get to Riglol, at the same Web address, in Mozilla Firefox, then I get version 1.03, this time a Private Code is generated from the Serial Number and it all works correctly. I don't know why this happens, maybe somebody can explain.

I, also, have a copy of Riglol.exe, don't know where I found this program, which works correctly at the Command Prompt and does not need the 'Private Code', which is labelled 'optional'.

Hope that this information is useful.

Dick G8BNR
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2994
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1334 on: April 17, 2015, 08:03:44 pm »
Today, I checked and if I get to Riglol in Internet Explorer, then I get, a version without a number, which displays the error 'Invalid Private Code' because it did not generate one. If, on the other hand, I get to Riglol, at the same Web address, in Mozilla Firefox, then I get version 1.03, this time a Private Code is generated from the Serial Number and it all works correctly.

I cannot confirm this. Just tried this, with the serial number of my DS1054Z, and using the gotroot.ca website. Whether I use Firefox 36 or Internet Explorer 11, the "private code" field is correctly populated as soon as I enter the serial number and move on to the next field. Entering "DSER" in the options field and clicking the "Generate" button then creates the exact same unlock code in either browser.

On the other hand, when I enter an invalid serial number, no private key is generated, and the "Invalid private key length" error message pops up. If you get that message, I think having mistyped (or misread) the serial number is the most likely cause.
 

Offline g8bnr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: england
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1335 on: April 17, 2015, 08:42:15 pm »
My Internet Explorer is version 8 and my system uses Windows XP. I confirm that I entered the serial number several times, just to avoid typing errors. Therefore the problem must relate to my version of Windows and Internet Explorer.

Hope this clarifies the situation.

Dick G8BNR
 

Offline yattr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1336 on: April 17, 2015, 10:21:13 pm »
Just got my DS1054 and it is a nice scope.  Tried to unlock features and got the invalid license message (has 00.04.02 SP4).  Anyone have any ideas or suggestions.  Thanks in advance.  Also what can I do to get around the "install avoid for 12 hours"?

I also just received a DS1054Z  It came with all options in trial version for 35 hours.  Independent of which DSxx codes I use they all result in " install avoid for 12 hours"  Any suggestions for flipping trial version to installed....
 

Offline figo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: pt
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1337 on: April 17, 2015, 11:23:02 pm »
This is the message that appears.
 print screen



I have Windows Vista with iexplorer 9, tried dozens of times and never got it.  |O

 I downloaded Mozilla Firefox and it was at the first stroke.  :-+

 For whatever reason the iexplorer does not ...  :-//


 Thank you all for the help.   :clap: :clap:














 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1338 on: April 18, 2015, 01:27:27 pm »
If you get the "install avoid for 12 hours" it means that you entered an invalid key and tried too many times. The scope has no Real-Time-Clock, it only knows run-time, so you must leave the scope turned on for 12 hours so that the "install avoid" time will run out. Probably, every time you try to enter an invalid code it resets the 12-hour clock, so if you get this message just stop, leave the scope on, and come back after 12 hours.

It is easy to mis-read or mis-copy the Serial Number and the unlock key. Common mistakes are mistaking "S" for "5" and "B" for "8".  Check your typing very carefully before you press the "apply" button.

It may be easier to do it using the UltraVision software and SCPI commands directly from your computer over the USB connection, or using "telnet" over your LAN to send SCPI commands, than it is by using the tiny little "keyboard" thing in the Options Setup window on the scope. If you want/need to uninstall the unlocking at some point, you will need to use one of these methods anyway, so you might as well figure out how to do it. See the "MS1000Z-DS1000Z Programming Guide" for a complete list of the SCPI command codes and some information about setting up communication with your scope.

For me, using Linux, "telnet" is the easiest way, once the scope is connected to the LAN and it fetches an IP address from the DHCP router. Connect to your router by ethernet cable, then select
Utility>IO Setting>LAN Conf.>Configure> select DHCP, then "Apply" and "Initialize"
The scope should fetch an IP address from the router and put it in the box in the LXI window. Write down this IP address.

The Rigol communication port is 5555. So: in a Terminal window command prompt, enter

telnet IPaddress 5555

(insert your own scope's local IP address that it fetched from your router)
opens the telnet application and contacts the scope on port 5555.

Then send

*IDN?

and the scope should reply with its identification.

Then you can send any of the SCPI commands in the Programming Guide, control the scope's functions remotely, and install or uninstall the unlocking codes using the SCPI commands:
:SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall
:SYSTem:OPTion:INSTall and your 28character key without hyphens

to close the telnet connection and exit the telnet program enter:
^] close

(The "^]" means to hold down the Ctrl key while pressing the ] key, this is the "escape" character that puts telnet into command mode.)

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 
The following users thanked this post: Ardutronic

Offline yattr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1339 on: April 18, 2015, 04:02:28 pm »
Outstanding information - THANKS!!!  Will give this a try.  I was using Terminal on OSX to generate the codes and will attempt your ethernet connection for the install...

 ;^)
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1360
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1340 on: April 18, 2015, 08:21:20 pm »
For me, using Linux, "telnet" is the easiest way

Just what the doctor ordered  :-+ :-+

I'm getting my scope start/mid May

/Bingo
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1341 on: April 18, 2015, 11:47:01 pm »
I forgot to say...

I mentioned earlier that my scope had a bad glitch on CH4 and I posted a few screenshots. Well, I found that the glitch was really bad, so I shot a video demonstrating the glitch and how to use the Pass-Fail Mask function to trap the glitch for display:


And our buyer talked to Jason at Rigol and to the nice ladies at TEquipment, and based on the video I got a quick RMA and sent the scope back on Monday morning. Thursday evening at 9:45 a replacement was delivered by UPS 2nd day air.
 
So I've been burning that one in ever since then, and so far it is performing well, no trace of a glitch. Oddly enough, the package was only single-boxed rather than the usual double-box package, and the serial number of the new scope is quite a bit earlier than the one I returned (If I am interpreting the numbers properly). Has this one been out of its box somewhere before? Outer box lost or missing? Hmmm..... Well, I'm not going to complain about that... Let's hope this one holds up and doesn't develop any problems. It does seem a slight bit more "jittery" and trace noisy than the other one but maybe that's just my imagination; I can't compare directly now of course.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1360
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1342 on: April 19, 2015, 08:10:51 am »
I forgot to say...
I mentioned earlier that my scope had a bad glitch on CH4 and I posted a few screenshots.

Could you do a short post about setting up the pass/fail , and what limits you are using ?
I have my DS1054Z on the way.

TIA
/Bingo
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1343 on: April 20, 2015, 01:55:37 am »
I forgot to say...
I mentioned earlier that my scope had a bad glitch on CH4 and I posted a few screenshots.

Could you do a short post about setting up the pass/fail , and what limits you are using ?
I have my DS1054Z on the way.

TIA
/Bingo
Sure, it's very easy to do.

First display the waveform you want to run the Pass-Fail testing on. Set the H and V positions, trigger, vertical scale etc. just as you like it.

Then press the Utility button, and from the menu that comes up, press Pass/Fail.

Then press the Enable button, and the Source button to select the channel of your waveform.

Then press the Range button, and select whether you want to use the whole screen or just a portion between cursors. I usually am using the whole screen.

Then you can "squeeze the mask in the X and Y directions using the X Mask and Y Mask buttons and the Multifunction Knob, to give more or less clearance around your waveform. The white mask cursors only stay on while you are moving the knob and they go out pretty fast...

Then press Create and your mask will be created around your waveform according to where you put the mask cursors in the previous step. Or you can omit the X Mask and Y Mask steps and just push Create, and the mask will wrap around your waveform automagically pretty closely.

Then press the "return arrow" button at the bottom to go back one level.

There you can select Stat Disp to display the waveforms counter.

Page down to the next page from here using the grey bottom button, and you can select "Stop on Fail" on or off, the beep tone on or off, and the aux output on the back on or off.

Then go back with the grey top button and press Operate... and you are all set! You should see the waveform counts incrementing in the Stats box. If you selected "Stop on Fail" ON, then the scope will stop when a waveform exceeds the mask, and you can save the glitch to the USB drive if you want to. Restart waveform capture by pressing Run/Stop,  and then to restart the mask testing, press Operate again.

You can also save a mask for re-use later using the Save and Load buttons on the second page of the menu.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1344 on: April 20, 2015, 04:46:20 pm »
Hello,

Since a couple of weeks I have a ds1054z with serial decode/trigger, yesterday I was debugging I2C bus everything worked. But today it will nog trigger on any of the I2C options (start/stop/adress/nack)  is there something I can do ?
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1360
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1345 on: April 20, 2015, 05:54:38 pm »
@alsetalokin4017

Thanx for the detailed description  :-+

/Bingo
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 495
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1346 on: April 20, 2015, 07:12:57 pm »
Could you do a short post about setting up the pass/fail , and what limits you are using ?
/Bingo
On the topic of Pass/Fail  (although I have DS2000)
You may wish to uses cursors to narrow the pass/fail function  ( speeds up the test)
Also use infinite persistence to see if error is always the same

see Pix #1 , Shows a triggering bug on the DS2000, but I doubt it is on the DS1000 as it only occurs at fast risetimes.
                    Note the Error trace is bright as I captured the display at the error , there is a Stall in the updating

See Pix #2 Shows where the pass waveforms counter rolls over to a negative number; then continues positively
                  I think this occurs on the DS1000 also but to test use the fastest update rate and leave over night  :)
                  If Rigol wished to increase the counter (2 words) then the Maximum digits in the display area could
                  increase from 10 to 12 , or 999,999,999,999 wqaveforms

For error reporting it would be nice if Rigol FW had the option to 'Stop on Count' ( 1,000,0000)
So one could test and report errors per million, etc.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2015, 07:14:49 pm by Teneyes »
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1347 on: April 20, 2015, 07:13:57 pm »
@Bingo: You're welcome! I also demonstrate this use of the Pass-Fail Mask function in my "unboxing and testing" video for the replacement scope:



@Jeroen:  Is your scope "hacked" to unlock the I2C trigger options to "Official" versions, or have your unhacked "trail" times run out perhaps? What does the screen say when you select Utility>(bottom grey button to second page) Options>Installed ?

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1881
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1348 on: April 20, 2015, 07:21:58 pm »
@Teneyes:   That's interesting, thanks very much. Is the "triggering bug" a manifestation of the "trigger jitter" problem that has been discussed here? I notice your horizontal trigger offset is quite near 500 microseconds... is this fixable by upgrading to later firmware than what you are running?

The math on the Pass Fail counts is also verry interesting... a programmer's "variable type" fail. Maybe that should be noted in the "wish list" thread for submission to Rigol for future firmware updates?

I have not the patience to wait for some billions of waveforms in testing, though, but someday I may need to, so I think this should be made right, whether or not I might use it myself. Just as the "measurements" units should agree with what the math trace units are....
« Last Edit: April 20, 2015, 07:23:31 pm by alsetalokin4017 »
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1349 on: April 20, 2015, 07:55:30 pm »
@Bingo: You're welcome! I also demonstrate this use of the Pass-Fail Mask function in my "unboxing and testing" video for the replacement scope:



@Jeroen:  Is your scope "hacked" to unlock the I2C trigger options to "Official" versions, or have your unhacked "trail" times run out perhaps? What does the screen say when you select Utility>(bottom grey button to second page) Options>Installed ?

It says official unlocked, I bought it second hand (barely used).
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf