Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1606276 times)

0 Members and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline McBryce

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1776
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1350 on: April 20, 2015, 08:08:14 pm »
Hello,

Since a couple of weeks I have a ds1054z with serial decode/trigger, yesterday I was debugging I2C bus everything worked. But today it will nog trigger on any of the I2C options (start/stop/adress/nack)  is there something I can do ?

Can you see a valid I2C signal if you use a simple edge trigger?

McBryce.
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1351 on: April 20, 2015, 11:31:48 pm »
@Teneyes:   That's interesting, thanks very much. Is the "triggering bug" a manifestation of the "trigger jitter" problem that has been discussed here? I notice your horizontal trigger offset is quite near 500 microseconds... is this fixable by upgrading to later firmware than what you are running?
    The AC trigger bug, That I reported in July 2013, and Highlighted by Dave Jones was fixed by the latest FW for both the DS2000 & DS1000Z. The 'AC Jitter bug' caused such bad jitter that this bug could not be observed until the Jitter bug was Fixed.
For my testing and analysis on the DS2000 see: Here:
And my conclusion/conjecture Here:

Below I retested this bug with Bandwidth set to 100MHZ and 1 GSa/s  and the bug does occur,
So I think it may also occur on the DS1000Z(single chan).
It would be interesting to see if it does??
After reading my blog on the bug remember the vertical position must be adjusted to instigate the bug.
Note: The input must have a fast risetime edge.

The math on the Pass Fail counts is also verry interesting... a programmer's "variable type" fail. Maybe that should be noted in the "wish list" thread for submission to Rigol for future firmware updates?
I have not the patience to wait for some billions of waveforms in testing, though, but someday I may need to, so I think this should be made right, whether or not I might use it myself. Just as the "measurements" units should agree with what the math trace units are....
For the pass/fail rollover error,  No Patience neccessary,
Just set the DS1000Z to fastest Update Scan rate (50ns/div)
Then check back in 21 hrs
30,000 x 60 x 60 X 21 hrs = 2,268,000,000


« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 11:47:24 am by Teneyes »
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1988
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1352 on: April 21, 2015, 12:41:13 am »
@Teneyes:
I've been trying for a half hour or so to reproduce the trigger bug (I read your posts and looked at the pictures) and I have not been able to do it. I'm using a 16 MH pulse signal of around 6V p-p amplitude with rise and fall times of about 3.8 - 4.2 ns, and I've looked at both rising and falling edges. I'm using the 1054z, presently "unhacked" at 50 MHz bandwidth. I've tried various settings in the Acquire menu, different memory depths, and so on. Can't reproduce the things you showed in the pictures.

But that doesn't mean it won't do it, just that I haven't been able to do it with the signal I'm giving it. I'll try to set up a signal that's more like what you were using, low amplitude and lower frequency but still with fast rise and fall edges, later on this evening.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1353 on: April 21, 2015, 12:53:05 am »
@Teneyes:
I've been trying for a half hour or so to reproduce the trigger bug (I read your posts and looked at the pictures) and I have not been able to do it. I'm using a 16 MH pulse signal of around 6V p-p amplitude with rise and fall times of about 3.8 - 4.2 ns, and I've looked at both rising and falling edges.
But that doesn't mean it won't do it, just that I haven't been able to do it with the signal I'm giving it. I'll try to set up a signal that's more like what you were using, low amplitude and lower frequency but still with fast rise and fall edges, later on this evening.
50MHZ BW maybe too Slow
Biggest thing is to slowly change the Postion up and down,
2 MHz works best, only few edge on display
AC Trigger
My Risetime is 3.5ns, so your pulse may not be fast enough
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 06:28:40 am by Teneyes »
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1354 on: April 21, 2015, 06:10:49 am »
Hello,

Since a couple of weeks I have a ds1054z with serial decode/trigger, yesterday I was debugging I2C bus everything worked. But today it will nog trigger on any of the I2C options (start/stop/adress/nack)  is there something I can do ?

Can you see a valid I2C signal if you use a simple edge trigger?

McBryce.

Falling edge trigger works perfectly, even the Math decoding works.
It also seems that the duration trigger isn't working (or I use it incorrectly).
 

Offline justtim

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1355 on: April 21, 2015, 07:46:09 am »
It may be something as simple as not having the correct scl and sda lines selected. Or maybe you don't have the trigger level set correctly - if you have ch2 set as sda, try setting it to the start bit and moving the trigger level up and down along the waveform of ch2 with the triggering set to "normal" until you get a trigger. Try setting the horizontal to various values such as 100us for example and the voltages to around 2.5. Sometimes just resetting everything to default using "storage button" and "default" and starting over will get you back to where you were.
 

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1356 on: April 21, 2015, 07:53:23 am »
It may be something as simple as not having the correct scl and sda lines selected. Or maybe you don't have the trigger level set correctly - if you have ch2 set as sda, try setting it to the start bit and moving the trigger level up and down along the waveform of ch2 with the triggering set to "normal" until you get a trigger. Try setting the horizontal to various values such as 100us for example and the voltages to around 2.5. Sometimes just resetting everything to default using "storage button" and "default" and starting over will get you back to where you were.

I have tried that, moving the trigger along, and 100% sure that SCL and SDA is correct (decoding works). Reset the scope several times to default, and did a self-cal nothing helps. Is there a way to reinstall the options ? maybe that helps
 

Offline justtim

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1357 on: April 21, 2015, 08:25:12 am »
I'm not sure how you can reinstall the options without the keys. There has been a hack talked about, but not something I'd do just because I don't think it's right. Sometimes it's the simplest things that get me snagged - sometimes I think I have something set a certain way but find out I didn't. Just turn the scl channel off completely (you don't need it to trigger off I2C) and focus on triggering the data line off the start bit. Move the trigger level up until it's anywhere above the baseline of that waveform, with triggering on normal, and it really should trigger. If not, try pushing the "force" button to force the trigger.

The serial decoding (comes with the triggers) is the first option I bought for my scope (the next will likely be the waveform record/playback) and am really pleased with how it works. On my scope it's as solid as a rock and works exactly as it should. I do remember having to use the function to reset everything back to factory defaults once or twice and think that's a pretty handy feature to have built into the scope. I just got my digital scope after using only analog, so It's a real treat, but does take some getting used to.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 08:34:01 am by justtim »
 

Offline justtim

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1358 on: April 21, 2015, 09:44:13 am »
This may be like the "blind leading the blind" being new to the rigol digital myself. I just noticed that even though I switch the scl channel off, it still triggers off of it, the sda line continues to show the triggered waveform, and will no longer trigger if I disconnect the scl probe.
 

Online Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5006
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1359 on: April 21, 2015, 11:18:52 am »
:SYSTEM:OPTION:UNINSTALL

over SCPI will uninstall all your options on a DS1000Z.

You can then reinstall the options with

:SYSTEM:OPTION:INSTALL ABCDEFGHIFKDKDKDJRKKFFKFKDKD

Note that you need to remove the separators from the option key.

Serial triggers and serial decode are separate options.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 12:22:03 pm by Howardlong »
 

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1360 on: April 21, 2015, 06:03:11 pm »
Found the problem, you will have to set both trigger levels voor SCL and SDA. First select the proper channel for SCL via trigger menu, and than trigger level. After that select proper channel for SDA and than also trigger level. My SDA trigger was set to zero.

Thank you for the help.
 

Offline Shirley Marquez

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1361 on: April 22, 2015, 10:29:23 am »
I just got one from TEquipment. Ordered Friday, delivered Tuesday - normal for ground shipment from PA to MA. (TEquipment is based in NJ but my scope was shipped from PA.)

Interestingly, the UPS notification of the shipment said that it was sent from Ingram Micro, though the shipping label says it was sent from Interworld Highway LLC. (Interworld Highway is a holding company that owns TEquipment and a couple of other companies - no secret, it's mentioned on the TEquipment home page.) Ingram Micro is a distributor - perhaps these scopes are being drop-shipped directly from distributor stock rather than being warehoused at TEquipment. That would explain the mystery that some people reported earlier of a free extra being shipped separately - the scope and the extras aren't REALLY being shipped from the same place even though the labels say they are. (The label needs to have the Interworld Highway address because that's where the scope should be returned to if it is undeliverable for some reason.)
 

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1362 on: April 22, 2015, 09:08:42 pm »
I just got one from TEquipment. Ordered Friday, delivered Tuesday - normal for ground shipment from PA to MA. (TEquipment is based in NJ but my scope was shipped from PA.)

Interestingly, the UPS notification of the shipment said that it was sent from Ingram Micro, though the shipping label says it was sent from Interworld Highway LLC. (Interworld Highway is a holding company that owns TEquipment and a couple of other companies - no secret, it's mentioned on the TEquipment home page.) Ingram Micro is a distributor - perhaps these scopes are being drop-shipped directly from distributor stock rather than being warehoused at TEquipment. That would explain the mystery that some people reported earlier of a free extra being shipped separately - the scope and the extras aren't REALLY being shipped from the same place even though the labels say they are. (The label needs to have the Interworld Highway address because that's where the scope should be returned to if it is undeliverable for some reason.)
FWIW, TEquipment has multiple warehouses (can get confusing, particularly when an order is filled from different locations, = doesn't all come in one box; and may not arrive on the same day either), and all of my shipments really have originated from TEquipment based on the UPS label/tracking information.
 

Offline pickle9000

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2195
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1363 on: April 22, 2015, 09:19:51 pm »
I just got one from TEquipment. Ordered Friday, delivered Tuesday - normal for ground shipment from PA to MA. (TEquipment is based in NJ but my scope was shipped from PA.)

Interestingly, the UPS notification of the shipment said that it was sent from Ingram Micro, though the shipping label says it was sent from Interworld Highway LLC. (Interworld Highway is a holding company that owns TEquipment and a couple of other companies - no secret, it's mentioned on the TEquipment home page.) Ingram Micro is a distributor - perhaps these scopes are being drop-shipped directly from distributor stock rather than being warehoused at TEquipment. That would explain the mystery that some people reported earlier of a free extra being shipped separately - the scope and the extras aren't REALLY being shipped from the same place even though the labels say they are. (The label needs to have the Interworld Highway address because that's where the scope should be returned to if it is undeliverable for some reason.)
FWIW, TEquipment has multiple warehouses (can get confusing, particularly when an order is filled from different locations, = doesn't all come in one box; and may not arrive on the same day either), and all of my shipments really have originated from TEquipment based on the UPS label/tracking information.

Ordered from TEquipment, shipped to Canada directly from Rigol US.
 

Offline Gary.M

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Country: nz
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1364 on: April 23, 2015, 12:30:22 am »
Someone mentioned that the cooling fan is a 50mm square, two wire item. I've just ordered one of those linked below, Sunon Maglev, a very good fan at a reasonable price...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sunon-KDE1205PFV3-50mm-x-10mm-Low-Speed-Maglev-2-Pin-Fan-/371287303222

 

Offline g8bnr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: england
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1365 on: April 23, 2015, 07:28:18 am »
Hi Folks,
Is it possible to send a screen shot, from my DS1054Z, to my computer via the LAN connection? I have no difficulty doing it using a USB Memory Stick, but would like to do it direct! Any ideas, please?

73 Dick G8BNR
 

Offline H.O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: se
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1366 on: April 23, 2015, 07:56:21 am »
Hi,
As far as I know you can't really "print" directly to the PC with the push of a button on the scope but you can copy the screen from the scope with the push of a button on the PC. The Rigol Ultra Sigma software supports that functionallity and there are at least one third party screen capture tool for Rigol available on this forum. I've only done it with Ultra Sigma on my DS4000 (don't have a DS1000Z) and it works fine.
 

Offline Datman

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: it
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1367 on: April 23, 2015, 08:29:53 am »
Hi Gary
Keep in mind that noise doesn't come only from the fan, but also from the metal in front of it. To lower noise you also have to draw back the fan from the chassis.
 

Offline g8bnr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: england
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1368 on: April 23, 2015, 08:30:48 am »
Hi H.O.
Yes it does work fine, thank you. I do not recall anything about a third party screen capture tool, can you, please advise, I would be most interested to try anything like that.

73 Dick G8BNR
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3688
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1369 on: April 23, 2015, 09:00:41 am »
I do not recall anything about a third party screen capture tool, can you, please advise, I would be most interested to try anything like that.
Peter Dreisiebner's "Bildschirmkopie" (screen copy) works great for me: http://peter.dreisiebner.at/rigol-bildschirmkopie-lan/. The software is about two orders of magnitude lighter weight than Rigol's mess of a PC software... Also available for Mac and Linux, and works via USB or LAN connection.

Peter's web page is in German only, but if I recall correctly, the software can be switched to English. Don't have it up and running on the PC I am currently writing from, unfortunately.
 

Offline Gary.M

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Country: nz
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1370 on: April 23, 2015, 09:32:31 am »
Hi Gary
Keep in mind that noise doesn't come only from the fan, but also from the metal in front of it. To lower noise you also have to draw back the fan from the chassis.
Thanks... My scope is on its way,  so I will investigate when it arrives.
 

Offline N2CUA

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1371 on: April 23, 2015, 11:57:26 am »
Hi guys .. just starting working for TEquipment in technical sales and new to the forum / blog.
Although I do enjoy watching Daves videos and creating my own as well on my N2CUA channel.

I have a question, I used the earlier  mentioned key generator and I did them individually
based on a you tube video of the all functions one not working.
All is well except for the decoder option. That is one option I wanted to get enable because
of all the decode issues. Wanted to work with it a bit with my arduino and see what I would figure out.
And work with Rigol on the issue.

So is the for letters I put in for that option DSAC or DSEC ? Thought maybe thats whats going wrong.

Side note, I have been providing your issues and feedback to the application engineers to send back
to Rigol in China, so keep coming.

Randy - N2CUA
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3688
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1372 on: April 23, 2015, 01:36:45 pm »
Hi Randy, according to the Riglol page, it's "DSAC"; never tried this myself though. Where does the "DSEC" suggestion come from?

Did I get you right that, as an official Rigol distributor, TEquipment does not get any official licenses for the options from Rigol to demo and support these, but has to rely on the keygen?!
 

Offline kwass

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 322
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1373 on: April 23, 2015, 03:59:12 pm »

Side note, I have been providing your issues and feedback to the application engineers to send back
to Rigol in China, so keep coming.

Great!!!  If you haven't already, please refer them to the top post in this thread:

 https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-ds1000z-series-%28ds1054z-ds1074z-ds1104z-and-s-models%29-bugswish-list/

I've been curating this list for quite a while.
-katie
 

Offline Trailboss

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1374 on: April 23, 2015, 08:53:06 pm »
Break:

Received my 1054 a few days ago, let it burn in for 24 hours, generated the key for  DSER, (all options except the 500uv vert amp scale),  all options upgraded fine, just gotta get used to all the menus, coming from the analog world dragging myself into the 21st century.
My current analog/digital DSO is Philips 3365A.

 When I ordered the scope from tequip, I asked the sales rep for the EEV discount, she put me through to another agent and applied the discount, shipped out friday from Jersey and got it tuesday (MA).
I bought this because I do some automotive work as well as a lot of vacuum tube audio work, and it is portable enough to look at fuel injector waveforms with my current probe, etc.
Great scope, and TEquip was great to deal with too.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf