Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1482953 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline korievgenii

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1400 on: May 14, 2015, 08:22:48 pm »
Quote
that the scope must be switched ON for 12 hours.
at this moment it switched on about 6 hours. if i try to insert the code before is it possible that the clock became to count another one 12 hours?
 

Offline Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6010
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1401 on: May 14, 2015, 10:02:36 pm »
Recently I was trying to figure out why one of my RP2200 probes was completely unusable at 1:1 attenuation. The switch seemed to be a bit dicky so I took the plastic bit off and here is what I found.

I don't know whether this was done on purpose or it's just a flash from injection molding, but it seems to prevent the switch from sliding into the '1x' position properly. So I scraped this bit off and sanded the area with a small file, and guess what - my probe is usable at 1:1 once again!

Although it's not causing me any issues, similar flash is present on my probes.

Dear Rigol (and most other 'budget' brands in all fields): Injection moulds are wear items. Service or replace them from time to time. Thanks.
 

Offline pascal_sweden

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1404
  • Country: no
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1402 on: May 14, 2015, 10:10:48 pm »
Did you send this message to the customer service department?
Or should Rigol read the recommendation on this forum? =)
 

Offline rolycat

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1403 on: May 14, 2015, 11:32:39 pm »
Did you send this message to the customer service department?
Or should Rigol read the recommendation on this forum? =)

I suspect it is more likely to be acted upon if mentioned on the forum. Most customer service departments seem to deal exclusively in corporate platitudes and token gestures, whereas actual engineers may see it here.
 

Offline bitwelder

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 821
  • Country: fi
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1404 on: May 15, 2015, 05:13:00 am »
i guess i need to wait 12 hours and try to insert the code again.  or exist some faster method?
Why the hurry? If you *need* the full functionality right now you should be able to get it via the trial licenses that are factory-installed.
Take the 12 hours opportunity to learn more about the DSO ;)
 

Offline poorchava

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1541
  • Country: pl
  • Troll Cave Electronics!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1405 on: May 15, 2015, 06:11:38 am »
I got the 1054Z a few weeks ago and I'm really pleased with it (especially that my previous was Atten ADS1022), but the probes are total shit. They are quite comfortable to handle, but the plastic is too sensitive to temperature. I happen to be doing power supply stuff lately, where a thing or two might get a bit hot (nothing dramatic) and I have already damaged 3 spring hooks. The probes which I got with Atten lasted for 5 years and sustained only minor damage, and those were generic probes that you can buy on ebay ridiculously cheap. The plastic which Rigol probes are made off is really too low-temperature for that kind of application.

I'm now hunting for some TPP0100 probes (or higher bandwidth models). Those are really comfortable and obviously of high quality.
I love the smell of FR4 in the morning!
 

Offline korievgenii

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1406 on: May 15, 2015, 07:36:46 am »
hey everyone). i did it 8). the problem i guess, is the dsfr code |O, with the dser code all was easy. the scope affirmed the code and now i have the 1104z scope))
shit happens) :-BROKE
 

Offline jamessawle

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1407 on: May 15, 2015, 12:21:56 pm »
Just got a new DS1054Z with Firmware 00.04.02.SP4 and cannot get codes to work, does anyone know if the firmware is back-datable on this model?
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1408 on: May 15, 2015, 12:40:25 pm »
Just got a new DS1054Z with Firmware 00.04.02.SP4 and cannot get codes to work, does anyone know if the firmware is back-datable on this model?

Got a stack of them on my desk, all with 00.04.02.SP4 and they all unlocked first time no problem.
 

Offline Roeland_R

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: nl
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1409 on: May 15, 2015, 12:42:01 pm »
I did a firmware upgrade on my ds1054z, and codes keep working....
 

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4142
  • Country: ch
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1410 on: May 15, 2015, 01:17:18 pm »
Just got a new DS1054Z with Firmware 00.04.02.SP4 and cannot get codes to work, does anyone know if the firmware is back-datable on this model?

Mine came with that firmware version and the codes worked fine. Try using the SCPI commands to install the code over USB or Ethernet, and don't forget to remove the hyphens in the code!
 

Offline jamessawle

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1411 on: May 15, 2015, 01:28:46 pm »
Cheers Tooki, That worked fine...
 

Offline korievgenii

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1412 on: May 15, 2015, 07:01:06 pm »
Quote
Just got a new DS1054Z with Firmware 00.04.02.SP4 and cannot get codes to work, does anyone know if the firmware is back-datable on this model?
hi, like a said before , the problem is DSFR code, with this option the scope does not confirm the code. USE the DSER code for SP4! with this code i did it in first time
Quote
hey everyone). i did it . the problem i guess, is the dsfr code
you was unprepared like me)
http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol-103d/
i have inserted the serial and DSFR, after generating i have inserted the generated code. after that - invalid license :-//, after few tries, i have "install avoid for 12 hours "
Try re-updating the page a couple of times to see whether you get stable keys. Double and triple-check whether you got the serial number right and entered the key correctly.

Do NOT use the DSFR option, since it includes the 500┬ÁV/div (which does not work on the DS1000Z series). Use the DSER option instead. This cannot be the cause for the difficulties you have had; but the fact that you tried this unsuitable option despite the many recommendations to the contrary suggests that you have jumped into this "hacking" rather unprepared.

good luck!
 

Offline Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6010
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1413 on: May 15, 2015, 07:11:58 pm »
I doubt it's anything to do with DSER vs DSFR. The website is known to produce bad codes sometimes.
 

Offline peterc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: be
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1414 on: May 17, 2015, 05:43:34 pm »
Just bought a new DS1054Z from Batronix in Germany.
In view of the price (plus minus 400 euros tax and sipment included) this device is an absolute gem.
Meanwhile I enabled all options with the hack as described before. It just makes it even better.
It did not work at the first attempt but I simply made a typo.
After correction I had immediately all options enabled.
I can confirm that the code that you need is DSER. This will generate a key to enable all options, except the 500uV, which is useless anyway.
I also have firmware revision 00.04.02.SP4.
For generating the activation key I used http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/.

Cheers,
Peter
 

Offline NovaBlood

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1415 on: May 17, 2015, 11:22:08 pm »
Just bought a new DS1054Z from Batronix in Germany.
In view of the price (plus minus 400 euros tax and sipment included) this device is an absolute gem.
Meanwhile I enabled all options with the hack as described before. It just makes it even better.
It did not work at the first attempt but I simply made a typo.
After correction I had immediately all options enabled.
I can confirm that the code that you need is DSER. This will generate a key to enable all options, except the 500uV, which is useless anyway.
I also have firmware revision 00.04.02.SP4.
For generating the activation key I used http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/.

Cheers,
Peter

Same story as yours. Batronix, Germany etc. Got my Rigol on the 17th of May. And unlocked it using http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/ . Didn't know about any issues regarding the unlocking of all the features so I just used the DSFR key to unlock it. Worked fine. Firmware is on version 00.04.02.SP4.

Have fun.

Phil
 

Offline peterc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: be
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1416 on: May 18, 2015, 01:55:36 pm »
To be honest, if a ds2000 4 channel would have existed, I would probably have bought that.
I know that here is a Siglent 4 channel 2Gsas type slightly above the DS2000 price range and there is even a promotion on Siglent w. Batronix, but I am simply not a Siglent fan I guess.
I contacted Rigol Europe with the question if RIgol will ever bring aDS2000 4 channel (or similar) to the market, but they could not tell. Instead they tried to push me towards the 1000B series, which I considered not to be a good investment being it a somewhat older technology w. a too small screen.
So I settled for the DS1054z  and enabled all options. I do not have a 2Gsas device, nor a 200 MHz BW, but what I all have for my 400 Euros is just amazing.

Maybe by the time that I really need the 2Gsas or higher BW, Rigol has launched a DS2000 4 Channel or similar and I might consider to buy that. Until that time comes, and for the work that I am currently doing, I am more than happy with my DS1054Z which is actually now a DS1104Z full option. :)

Cheers,
Peter

 
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1366
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1417 on: May 18, 2015, 07:11:40 pm »
Just got my DS1054Z , and found this little GEM

Pure Python, no VISA or other stuff.


Python screendump for windows via LXI (TCP/IP)
https://hackaday.io/project/5807-driverless-rigol-ds1054z-screen-capture-over-lan

I had to change a few lines for it to work under my Linux Mint 17

Thanx to the author

/Bingo
 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1418 on: May 18, 2015, 10:11:50 pm »
Nice find bingo,

just answering so I can remember to get it once I get home!
 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1419 on: May 19, 2015, 01:59:29 am »
Bummer, I thought like everything else what works for the DS1000z series would work for the DS2000 one, but even after modifying the code I can't establish a telnet connection on port 5555 :(
 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1420 on: May 19, 2015, 06:21:41 am »
So since there is no telnet on the DS2000 series I searched around and found vxi11 by a fellow forum member alex.forencich and I modified the script to use that instead.

Do not jump with joy yet because the DS2000 series seems to be transferring data at 56Kbps via the Ethernet port (the old Kbps as in 1024 bps). Since the DS2000 only saves as a BMP 800x480x3 plus the BMP header 1152067 bytes, the total transfer size is 9216536 bits.
Divided by 57344 bps is equal to ~161 seconds.

So it takes 2 minutes and 41 seconds to transfer the screen. No wonder others using USB have faster transfer times. Haven't found a way to speed the Ethernet port or change it to png or jpeg (other than converting the screenshot later on to png or jpeg)

Code: [Select]
__author__ = 'RoGeorge'
#
# Modified to work with DS2000 by miguelvp
# using vxi11 by Alex Forencich and Michael Walle
# [url]https://github.com/alexforencich/python-vxi11[/url]
#
import vxi11
import time
import sys
import os

# Update the next lines for your own default settings:
path_to_save = ""
IP_DS2000 = "192.168.1.6"

expected_len = 1152067
TMC_header_len = 11
terminator_len = 2

company = 0
model = 1
serial = 2

# Check parameters
script_name = os.path.basename(sys.argv[0])

# Print usage
print
print "Usage:"
print "    " + script_name
print
print "This program capture the image displayed"
print "    by a Rigol DS2000 series oscilloscope, then save it on the computer"
print "    as a BMP file with a timestamp in the file name."
print
print "    The program is using LXI protocol, so the computer"
print "    must have LAN connection with the oscilloscope."
print "    USB and/or GPIB connections are not used by this software."
print
print "    No VISA, IVI or Rigol drivers are needed."
print

# Create/check if 'path' exists


# Check network response (ping)
response = os.system("ping -n 1 " + IP_DS2000 + " > nul")
if response != 0:
print
print "No response pinging " + IP_DS2000
print "Check network cables and settings."
print "You should be able to ping the oscilloscope."
# Open a modified VXI11 session
instr =  vxi11.Instrument(IP_DS2000)
instrument_id = instr.ask("*IDN?")

# Check if instrument is set to accept LAN commands
if instrument_id == "command error":
print instrument_id
print "Check the oscilloscope settings."
print "Utility -> IO Setting -> RemoteIO -> LAN must be ON"
sys.exit("ERROR")

# Check if instrument is indeed a Rigol DS2000 series
id_fields = instrument_id.split(",")
if (id_fields[company] != "RIGOL TECHNOLOGIES") or \
(id_fields[model][:3] != "DS2"):
print
print "ERROR: No Rigol from series DS2000 found at ", IP_DS2000
sys.exit("ERROR")

print "Instrument ID:"
print instrument_id

# Prepare filename as C:\MODEL_YYYY-MM-DD_HH.MM.SS
timestamp = time.strftime("%Y-%m-%d_%H.%M.%S", time.localtime())
filename = path_to_save + id_fields[model] + "_" + timestamp

# Ask for an oscilloscope display print screen
print "Receiving..."
buff = instr.ask_raw("display:data?", expected_len)
print "Processing..."
# Strip TMC Blockheader and terminator bytes
buff = buff[TMC_header_len:-terminator_len]

# Save as BMP
scr_file = open(filename + ".bmp", "wb")
scr_file.write(buff)
scr_file.close()
print "Saved file:", filename + ".bmp"

instr.close()

Here is the screenshot after I used paintshop pro to convert it from the huge bmp to just an 18KB png picture.

@bingo, how fast is the screen capture on the DS1000z scope? I would think that because it supports png it's probably about 5.5 seconds to transfer a 37KB file already in png format but still transferring data at a mere 57344 bps


Edit: yeah, I had the ratio set to just 1X not sure why, so that's really 3Vpp.

Apologies for the slight OT, but curious if the Ethernet speed is the same via telnet as it's with LXI
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 07:00:49 am by miguelvp »
 

Offline vettelover

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1421 on: May 19, 2015, 08:09:44 am »
Good evening.

After reviewing the DS1054Z, i have finally obtained the dollars to purchase one from Emona.
Would anyone be able to supply me a coupon code for Emona's website.

Thanks in advance.
 

Online Jeroen3

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3315
  • Country: nl
  • Embedded Engineer
    • jeroen3.nl
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1422 on: May 19, 2015, 09:07:51 am »
Why do scopes or measurement equipment with USB and Ethernet not serve FTP or webdav to access the data on the usb thumbdrive?
 

Offline aargee

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 724
  • Country: au
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1423 on: May 19, 2015, 12:32:56 pm »
Emona don't do coupons. They are friendly and give good service, though.
Not easy, not hard, just need to be incentivised.
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1366
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1424 on: May 19, 2015, 03:13:54 pm »

@bingo, how fast is the screen capture on the DS1000z scope? I would think that because it supports png it's probably about 5.5 seconds to transfer a 37KB file already in png format but still transferring data at a mere 57344 bps


My watch says around 18 Sec , so it's not fast.

I think i read elsewhere that Lan was 12 Sec , and USB just 4 Sec.


Btw: I'm not sure if the scope sends PNG , i think the

Code: [Select]
# Save as PNG
im = Image.open(StringIO.StringIO(buff))
im.save(filename + ".png", "PNG")
print "Saved file:", filename + ".pn

Might convert from BMP to PNG

/Bingo
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf