Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1529160 times)

Daruosha, swperk and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nrxnrx

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1800 on: October 29, 2015, 06:32:11 am »
snip

I see you have 4 pages of 'horizontal' measurements on the left! I only have 3 with SP1.

Anybody have the release notes for SP2? I asked Rigol for new firmware, but they sent me the old one.

 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1801 on: October 29, 2015, 08:10:12 am »
I see you have 4 pages of 'horizontal' measurements on the left! I only have 3 with SP1.
Yes, look here:
 
The following users thanked this post: nrxnrx

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1927
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1802 on: October 29, 2015, 11:32:35 am »
So... once again we have some conflicting reports. Several people who have installed the new firmware have reported that the scope still freezes and that the Math horizontal error is still there. Other people report that these bugs, and the trigger zoom bug, are fixed in the new firmware. Hmm....

I'm concerned about the report of LAN freezing, the sluggish performance and the flickering screens with the new firmware. Does anyone have any more information about these things? I am still afraid to install the new firmware because of these issues. I do use the scope with the DSRemote software over my LAN, and the scope is sluggish enough without adding more sluggishness, especially when writing a file to a USB stick...which should go very fast but sometimes takes _several minutes_ to complete.

I see that the new firmware apparently adds pulse counters and edge counters to the Horizontal Measurements. That's really good, if they actually work.

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1803 on: October 29, 2015, 11:58:29 am »
Hello,
one important info: "After install new firmware >>> Selfcalibration !!!"
Before I saw the Math-Bug, after the Selfcalibration it was gone!
 

Offline Wirehead

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: be
    • Wirehead.be
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1804 on: October 29, 2015, 01:31:47 pm »
Hello,
one important info: "After install new firmware >>> Selfcalibration !!!"
Before I saw the Math-Bug, after the Selfcalibration it was gone!

Yes, you always have to do that after a firmware update. It seems it clears some calibration variables. Warm up the unit for an hour, disconnect everything and run the self calibration. After the self calibration; restart the scope. I've done the upgrade and don't have the math bug. Didn't have it in SP1 as well. There's a small graphical glitch with the added Horizontal measurements - the page indicator "hides" a part from the "Rise Time" text.. but hey.. It's a 400 EUR scope; who's complaining. Not me :)
"to remain static is to lose ground"
 

Offline timofonic

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 904
  • Country: es
  • Eternal Wannabe Geek
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1805 on: October 29, 2015, 01:32:28 pm »
This is really confusing. Can anyone contact directly to relevant Rigol people from their technical department? Maybe a distributor could be replied.

I'm saving to get a scope, but this mess on the cheap range makes me very undecided
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10403
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1806 on: October 29, 2015, 01:56:42 pm »
I'm saving to get a scope, but this mess on the cheap range makes me very undecided

Don't worry. This scope is worth having even with the freezing bug. I've never seen it and I've had mine for a year.

(And fingers crossed it will be fixed soon...)
 

Offline Gabri74

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: it
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1807 on: October 29, 2015, 04:01:44 pm »
Obligatory question for every new firmware release...  ;)

Dose this update forbid unlocking of the options or interfere if already unlocked ?

Tnx  :)
 

Offline JohnPen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1808 on: October 29, 2015, 04:11:49 pm »
This latest firmware upgrade does not affect the 'hack' unlocked options they are still there according to the option list.  Not sure whether a normal clean DS1054Z will still upgrade but believe it would probably still work ok.
 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4814
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1809 on: October 30, 2015, 12:33:34 am »
I'm saving to get a scope, but this mess on the cheap range makes me very undecided

Don't worry. This scope is worth having even with the freezing bug. I've never seen it and I've had mine for a year.

(And fingers crossed it will be fixed soon...)

Agreed, I have a brand new Tek MDO3000 that crashes with far less effort than the Rigol DS1000Z.
 

Offline MadReasonable

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1810 on: October 30, 2015, 12:54:55 am »
Just received my DS1054z today.  It came with firmware version 00.04.03 and was hacked within minutes :-+  The biggest roadblock is having to dial in the key one character at a time.  I'll update the firmware later tonight.
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1811 on: October 30, 2015, 04:40:21 am »
So... once again we have some conflicting reports. Several people who have installed the new firmware have reported that the scope still freezes and that the Math horizontal error is still there. Other people report that these bugs, and the trigger zoom bug, are fixed in the new firmware. Hmm....

Maybe some people have incorrect settings to reproduce the bugs.

Zoom bug fixed. See pic
50usTrigger Bug fixed. See pic
Math Bug NOT fixed. See pic
Freeze bug persist time 100ms, memory depth auto NOT fixed, but the memory settings are now saved after power down. So let's say a lill fix. I make a Video in the evening.

Firmware is official now. (00.04.03.02.03)
http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

Hello,
with 00.04.03.SP2
1) now I can't see the Math bug - can anyone check it too (what procedure?)

Turn on all channels, set to average mode. MATH Chanel A+B

3) now: NO !!  Freeze bug as shown here

Input all open. Persist time set to 100ms, memory depth auto and it should be freezed if u turn on the zoom.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2015, 02:11:09 pm by Fennec »
 

Offline rosbuitre

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: ar
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1812 on: October 30, 2015, 08:59:40 am »
snip

I see you have 4 pages of 'horizontal' measurements on the left! I only have 3 with SP1.

Anybody have the release notes for SP2? I asked Rigol for new firmware, but they sent me the old one.

Hi
I received mail from Rigol:

Sorry sir,
   I haven't changelog file, all I know is it increase four measure
items : +Pulses,-Pulses,+Edges,-Edges.
And it increase the remote command of : image type and image format of
image storage function ; filter of Math function ; set image type in image
storage.
And it fixed some bugs.


Regards
My instruments: DMM Keysight 34461A / Tektronix DMM916 / Fluke 12, Rigol DS1074Z, Deer DE-5000, Siglent SDG805 / SDP3303D, Dayton Dats2
 

Offline nrxnrx

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1813 on: October 30, 2015, 11:26:45 am »
Sorry sir,
   I haven't changelog file, all I know is it increase four measure
items : +Pulses,-Pulses,+Edges,-Edges.
And it increase the remote command of : image type and image format of
image storage function ; filter of Math function ; set image type in image
storage.
And it fixed some bugs.


Thank you! Looks like I'll be installing this one after all.

--
Mihai
 

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 455
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1814 on: October 30, 2015, 12:07:14 pm »
Mine is already full option DS1104Z.  :-+

This thing is really light years ahead of the usb crap that I was using before...

P.S.
This thing runs on linux right? How come It doesent need "soft" shut down?
I feel really bad by pressing the button which just cuts power to the scope...
I bet volumes mounted read only as it is configured on most embedded OS. So no open/locked files. I think it is pretty safe to switch it of by power button.
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1434
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1815 on: October 30, 2015, 12:28:02 pm »
This thing runs on linux right?

I don't think so, for two reasons:

1. There's nowhere written, neither in the pdf manual nor the printed manual, that the instrument uses GPL'ed software and that the sourcecode
   of it can be requested (which is obligatory when using GPL software).

2. If they should use Linux, they shouldn't have such a slow and buggy tcp/ip stack.

If somebody can proof the opposite, I would be happy to report it to the EFF for copyright violation...
 

Offline JohnPen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1816 on: October 30, 2015, 03:26:49 pm »
Just using the Cal signal, 2 probes, with Ch1 and Ch2 providing the A and B source selections for the MATHs A+B and A-B it all seems OK.  Only running 100 usec TB though but it does seem ok as you increase the TB.  Don't forget to set up the offset for 0 though.  Both CH1 and 2 are set for AC coupled, Acquire on average.
 

Offline Wirehead

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: be
    • Wirehead.be
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1817 on: October 30, 2015, 04:12:11 pm »

Input all open. Persist time set to 100ms, memory depth auto and it should be freezed if u turn on the zoom.
No freeze bug here; exact same settings (all open; persist; mem depth; zoom...). I can fiddle around all day with the zoom. No freeze. Very recent scope.
"to remain static is to lose ground"
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1818 on: October 30, 2015, 05:31:04 pm »
with 00.04.03.SP2
1) now I can't see the Math bug - can anyone check it too (what procedure?)

Turn on all channels, set to average mode. MATH Chanel A+B

Ok, the missing link was: only at 500ns !!! (see pic #1,#2 !!!, #3)

AND: only, if CH3 and/or CH3 ON (pic #4 with CH3/CH4 off)

3) now: NO !!  Freeze bug as shown here
Input all open. Persist time set to 100ms, memory depth auto and it should be freezed if u turn on the zoom.
The Freeze Bug, I can't reproduce it.
But: You have to wait !!! The responsetime ist VERY LONG (up to ~3 sec!) If you rotate the knob too fast, then the times maybe additional.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2015, 05:39:47 pm by ankerwolf »
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1819 on: October 30, 2015, 05:51:57 pm »
The MATH-Bug ist not only at A+B, also at:
AxB, A&&B, A||B, !A, Dif, Exp
 

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 455
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1820 on: October 30, 2015, 09:34:46 pm »
This thing runs on linux right?

I don't think so, for two reasons:

1. There's nowhere written, neither in the pdf manual nor the printed manual, that the instrument uses GPL'ed software and that the sourcecode
   of it can be requested (which is obligatory when using GPL software).
Quote
That easily could be proprietary.
2. If they should use Linux, they shouldn't have such a slow and buggy tcp/ip stack.
Don't know about it, had no opportunity to play with it.
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1524
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1821 on: October 31, 2015, 03:08:10 am »
Rigol has updated their Firmware Release page today.  It contains the newest DS1000Z firmware, installation procedure and release notes.
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: 00
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1434
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1823 on: October 31, 2015, 10:29:24 am »
Quote
That easily could be proprietary.

What do you mean? You can distribute proprietary GPL'ed software? Never heard of it.
Or did you mean something else?
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1927
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1824 on: October 31, 2015, 01:06:51 pm »
Rigol has updated their Firmware Release page today.  It contains the newest DS1000Z firmware, installation procedure and release notes.

Yah ... but BEWARE.  This newest firmware does not fix the Freeze Bug, or the Math Error bug, and it slows the scope's response to controls, and while it does add Pulse and Edge counters to the Horizontal Measurements menu,  it introduces a stupid spelling error: Pulses is misspelled as "Pluses" for the onscreen display.   :palm:

It does seem to fix the Trigger horizontal error bugs though.

There doesn't seem to be any way to roll back to the earlier SP1 version once you have installed this newest SP2 firmware, either.  I have email to Jason at Rigol USA about these issues. Surely there must be a way to get rid of this SP2 and go back to SP1.  If anyone knows how to do it, please post the instructions ASAP. Simply using the old GEL file from a USB stick results in the "Update was failured!" Chinglish error message.    |O

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf