Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1606188 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8687
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2250 on: June 05, 2016, 10:41:49 pm »
Since you just bought it, it may already have the latest firmware.

If it doesn't have the latest version, first use it and see if it does everything you need without issues. If it works well for your needs, leave it as is. If it doesn't, check if the update is supposed to fix your issue before installing.
I TEA.
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1869
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2251 on: June 06, 2016, 12:10:19 am »
If it doesn't already have the latest version, 04.02.SP2, I would stay a version behind unless you really need the new changes.  The latest firmware is very SLOW to respond to the controls.
 

Offline Athanasis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: cy
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2252 on: June 06, 2016, 06:51:11 am »
If it doesn't already have the latest version, 04.02.SP2, I would stay a version behind unless you really need the new changes.  The latest firmware is very SLOW to respond to the controls.

I haven't tried it to have a clue but what I know is that SP2 contains serious FFT upgrades that without it the FFT is not deep enough to be useful.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8687
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2253 on: June 06, 2016, 06:57:29 am »
The ability to do FFT from memory (instead of just the on-screen trace) is also available in SP1. I don't recall how long ago Rigol added the feature, but my scope is at SP1 and it's there.
I TEA.
 

Offline Athanasis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: cy
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2254 on: June 06, 2016, 08:14:00 am »
The ability to do FFT from memory (instead of just the on-screen trace) is also available in SP1. I don't recall how long ago Rigol added the feature, but my scope is at SP1 and it's there.

"With the latest firmware (00.04.03 SP2) for the Rigol MSO/DS1000Z Series Oscilloscopes the  FFT functionality has been improved.

The FFT (Fast Fourier Transform) now can be calculated not only from the screen points but also on 16k points from the acquisition memory. This new enhancement enables the customer to perform FFT analyis in the frequency domain with increased frequency resolution."


Source:
http://www.arbenelux.com/en/improved-fft-on-rigol-msods1000-series/
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11456
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2255 on: June 06, 2016, 09:34:24 am »
The FFT (Fast Fourier Transform) now can be calculated not only from the screen points but also on 16k points from the acquisition memory. This new enhancement enables the customer to perform FFT analyis in the frequency domain with increased frequency resolution."[/i]

Source:
http://www.arbenelux.com/en/improved-fft-on-rigol-msods1000-series/

Get it from a source, or ... get it directly from the horse:


 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3688
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2256 on: June 06, 2016, 09:52:10 am »
If it doesn't already have the latest version, 04.02.SP2, I would stay a version behind unless you really need the new changes.  The latest firmware is very SLOW to respond to the controls.

I haven't tried it to have a clue but what I know is that SP2 contains serious FFT upgrades that without it the FFT is not deep enough to be useful.

I would support MarkF's recommendation here. Yes, the FFT is improved in SP2 (although it is still not great). But how often will you use FFT -- will you use it at all?? In contrast, the more sluggish user interface of the latest software will probably annoy you every time you use the scope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Fungus

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11456
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2257 on: June 06, 2016, 10:16:57 am »
I would support MarkF's recommendation here. Yes, the FFT is improved in SP2 (although it is still not great).

Yep, it's still not going to blow anybody away. And ... they made a spelling mistake in one of the menus.

The previous revision of the firmware is the sweet spot so far.

(and the next one is overdue... come on Rigol, where is it?)
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8687
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2258 on: June 06, 2016, 05:41:18 pm »
The FFT (Fast Fourier Transform) now can be calculated not only from the screen points but also on 16k points from the acquisition memory. This new enhancement enables the customer to perform FFT analyis in the frequency domain with increased frequency resolution."[/i]

Source:
http://www.arbenelux.com/en/improved-fft-on-rigol-msods1000-series/

Get it from a source, or ... get it directly from the horse:


Well, I looked at my source (i.e., my SP1 scope) before I posted and it has the option to do FFT from memory or trace. So, what's new in SP2? More points from memory than SP1?
I TEA.
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11456
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2259 on: June 06, 2016, 06:06:28 pm »
Well, I looked at my source (i.e., my SP1 scope) before I posted and it has the option to do FFT from memory or trace. So, what's new in SP2? More points from memory than SP1?

A full list of changes is here

« Last Edit: June 06, 2016, 06:08:20 pm by Fungus »
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8687
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2260 on: June 06, 2016, 06:28:58 pm »
Thanks. I didn't see anything about FFT for the latest firmware, Version 00.04.03.02.03 (Date 2015-10-20).

The closest thing I saw in the history was in Version 00.04.03.01.05 (Date 2015-06-16). The description sounds like an FFT display error:

Quote
15. Save the waveform when turned on FFT function and use the
momery data to operate and turn on split display,then load the waveform of
saved, but the display of waveform is error.

But the entry type is "M", which is an improvement:

Quote
M - Modifications. Changes to improve performance on
existing features

 :-//
I TEA.
 

Offline gbeauw

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2261 on: June 09, 2016, 11:12:07 pm »
Just received my Rigol DS1054z and tried the upgrade procedure using the gotroot website/generator as shown in the videos.  Invalid key!  :-\  I'm seeing some posts/videos that says that gotroot site is bogus and we should use the 3owl site.  However, that site is no longer online.  My 1054Z shows:

Software Version: 00.04.03.SP2
Board Version: 0.1.1

I double and triple checked the Serial Number entered as well as the key that was generated and entered.

Is there some other step I need to take or is the Software not compatible with the upgrade?
 
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8687
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2262 on: June 09, 2016, 11:19:34 pm »
gotroot is not bogus, at least not when the rest of us used it. Make sure you don't use any hyphens, but do use the DSER option code, not DSFR.
I TEA.
 

Offline gbeauw

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2263 on: June 09, 2016, 11:34:44 pm »
Bitseeker,

With your confirmation that the site is good, I went back and started from scratch to generate code.  Well, I'll be dipped in lukewarm gook but it seems that my old eyes misread "S" as "5" on the computer screen.   :palm:  (Apparently +2.75 readers are still not strong enough.)

Entered code with the correction and Voila! DS1104Z!!!  :-+

Thanks, Bitseeker. 

One last question, (OK, maybe not my LAST question on the topic) :

All of the Options in the "Installed" page still show like 35 hours remaining.  Is this normal?  If this is already covered somewhere else, feel free to tell me to RTFM. I won't be offended.

NOTE: I used the "DSEA" option.  I don't see a DSER option.  Just:
  • DSEA - 100MHz
  • DSFR - all options

I assume that you meant DSEA and you just made a typo. (Or is there a hidden DSER option?)
« Last Edit: June 09, 2016, 11:49:53 pm by gbeauw »
 

Offline gbeauw

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2264 on: June 09, 2016, 11:59:31 pm »
Disregard.  DSER is the right one.  It's just hidden.  Found another thread with the details on this.  Now it all looks good.

Thanks.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8687
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2265 on: June 10, 2016, 12:53:57 am »
Very good. Enjoy!
I TEA.
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1869
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2266 on: June 10, 2016, 02:33:51 am »
I posted the bit codes for the DS1000Z earlier in this post for those interested in the details.   Go Here.

The MS1000Z and DS1000z Plus series are a little different.  I have the orginal DS1074Z and haven't been following the new versions.  Also, I believe the MS1000Z series needs to be opened and a memory dump from the JTAG header to be able to generate unlock keys.
 

Offline ArisTos

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: nl
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2267 on: June 10, 2016, 05:34:09 pm »
I got it too. No problem with Riglol.
Just have to learn from scratch how to use DSO again. It was long time ago since I have used analog one.

Very capable piece of equipment. Really there is nothing better in this price range.

EDIT:

Just cannot get telnet working. Any advice? Win10

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>telnet 162.168.0.78 5555
Connecting To 162.168.0.78...Could not open connection to the host, on port 5555: Connect failed
« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 06:53:25 pm by ArisTos »
 

Offline FlyIt!

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2268 on: June 10, 2016, 09:15:50 pm »
Hi,

I have a DS1054z which I purchased a bit more than a year ago, and I’ve been quite happy with it (really great value for the money).  After I received it, I did one firmware update (to 00.04.02.SP4) to help with the Jitter Problem.

Been working essentially fine, since then.  Now I see that I missed the “04.03.SP1” and “04.03.SP2” updates in the intervening time.  Some Forum members seem to recommend staying one-Rev-back from “04.03.SP2” (to avoid slower performance & ‘Pluses’, etc.).  The improved FFT stuff is not relevant, in my use of the 'scope.

However, I cannot get/find that zip or GEL file from the Rigol site… they only offer the ‘most recent’ firmware.  Does anyone know where I can d/l the “00.04.03.SP1” update file?

Thanks for any guidance! 

——————————

Details (if helpful):
 My hardware “Board Version” is 0.1.1
 The Firmware I have installed shows onscreen as “00.04.02.SP4”
 The file I have on my computer (that I think I used for the f/w update) has a filename (when unpacked) of “DS1000Z-04_02_04_07.7z”.  Weird… wrong file?
 The version that seems to be recommended is firmware update 00.04.03.01.05, which is identified in the System Information screen as “00.04.03.SP1”.  Yes?  No?

The Param text file showed:
Board Ver: 0.1.1
Firmware Ver: 0.2.3.11
BOOT Ver: 0.0.1.2
CPLD Ver: 1.1
SoftWare Ver: 00.04.02.SP4

(BTW: Yes, I've spent several hours looking back through this thread, going back to late last year).


« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 09:18:15 pm by FlyIt! »
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1988
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2269 on: June 11, 2016, 01:00:46 am »
I got it too. No problem with Riglol.
Just have to learn from scratch how to use DSO again. It was long time ago since I have used analog one.

Very capable piece of equipment. Really there is nothing better in this price range.

EDIT:

Just cannot get telnet working. Any advice? Win10

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>telnet 162.168.0.78 5555
Connecting To 162.168.0.78...Could not open connection to the host, on port 5555: Connect failed
This sounds to me like you either don't have the IP address configured properly in the scope, or perhaps you are mistyping the address. Typically the address would be something like:

192.168.0.78 5555

That is, where you have "162" typically one would have "192" from most DHCP routers.

Can you show a screenshot of your LAN setting page, as below?


The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1988
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2270 on: June 11, 2016, 01:15:18 am »
Hi,

I have a DS1054z which I purchased a bit more than a year ago, and I’ve been quite happy with it (really great value for the money).  After I received it, I did one firmware update (to 00.04.02.SP4) to help with the Jitter Problem.

Been working essentially fine, since then.  Now I see that I missed the “04.03.SP1” and “04.03.SP2” updates in the intervening time.  Some Forum members seem to recommend staying one-Rev-back from “04.03.SP2” (to avoid slower performance & ‘Pluses’, etc.).  The improved FFT stuff is not relevant, in my use of the 'scope.

However, I cannot get/find that zip or GEL file from the Rigol site… they only offer the ‘most recent’ firmware.  Does anyone know where I can d/l the “00.04.03.SP1” update file?

Thanks for any guidance! 

——————————

Details (if helpful):
 My hardware “Board Version” is 0.1.1
 The Firmware I have installed shows onscreen as “00.04.02.SP4”
 The file I have on my computer (that I think I used for the f/w update) has a filename (when unpacked) of “DS1000Z-04_02_04_07.7z”.  Weird… wrong file?
 The version that seems to be recommended is firmware update 00.04.03.01.05, which is identified in the System Information screen as “00.04.03.SP1”.  Yes?  No?

The Param text file showed:
Board Ver: 0.1.1
Firmware Ver: 0.2.3.11
BOOT Ver: 0.0.1.2
CPLD Ver: 1.1
SoftWare Ver: 00.04.02.SP4

(BTW: Yes, I've spent several hours looking back through this thread, going back to late last year).

I have the file you are looking for, as well as some other "update" versions, in my archives. However I am hesitant to upload it here in case you or someone else bricks their scope using it. I don't want to be held responsible for any errors or mistakes or unfortunate events when using my copy of the file.

Your best bet would be to contact Rigol Customer Service via email and ask them specifically for the file you want.





The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline nrxnrx

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: ro
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2271 on: June 11, 2016, 06:21:23 am »
Here you go: https://hamsterpower.org/f/rigolfw/DS1000Z-00.04.03.01.05.zip

I posted this here before and it's been downloaded 216 times. Nobody complained so far.
In case it does brick your scope, consider uninstalling the extra options before updating - so Rigol won't send you the repair bill.

I haven't tried asking them for a previous fw version. I wonder if that would work.
Has anyone? It's not like asking for a service manual! :)

--
Mihai

 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1623
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2272 on: June 11, 2016, 07:30:53 am »
However, I cannot get/find that zip or GEL file from the Rigol site… they only offer the ‘most recent’ firmware.  Does anyone know where I can d/l the “00.04.03.SP1” update file?

Here it is:

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

 

Offline ArisTos

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: nl
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2273 on: June 11, 2016, 08:47:45 pm »
I got it too. No problem with Riglol.
Just have to learn from scratch how to use DSO again. It was long time ago since I have used analog one.

Very capable piece of equipment. Really there is nothing better in this price range.

EDIT:

Just cannot get telnet working. Any advice? Win10

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>telnet 162.168.0.78 5555
Connecting To 162.168.0.78...Could not open connection to the host, on port 5555: Connect failed
This sounds to me like you either don't have the IP address configured properly in the scope, or perhaps you are mistyping the address. Typically the address would be something like:

192.168.0.78 5555

That is, where you have "162" typically one would have "192" from most DHCP routers.

Can you show a screenshot of your LAN setting page, as below?

You are right Sir. But it didn't work with right IP address neither. Funny store it just worked straight when I have tried to log in from my Raspberry Pi.
Funny things - Windows...
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1869
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2274 on: June 12, 2016, 05:54:48 am »
I got it too. No problem with Riglol.
Just have to learn from scratch how to use DSO again. It was long time ago since I have used analog one.

Very capable piece of equipment. Really there is nothing better in this price range.

EDIT:

Just cannot get telnet working. Any advice? Win10

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>telnet 162.168.0.78 5555
Connecting To 162.168.0.78...Could not open connection to the host, on port 5555: Connect failed
This sounds to me like you either don't have the IP address configured properly in the scope, or perhaps you are mistyping the address. Typically the address would be something like:

192.168.0.78 5555

That is, where you have "162" typically one would have "192" from most DHCP routers.

Can you show a screenshot of your LAN setting page, as below?

You are right Sir. But it didn't work with right IP address neither. Funny store it just worked straight when I have tried to log in from my Raspberry Pi.
Funny things - Windows...

I only have XP and Win7.  Both Telnet clients work the same.  I expect Win10 will also.
PROCEDURE:
  - From CMD prompt, type Telnet
  - Type: o 192.168.0 78 555 <ENTER>
  - Connecting To 162.168.0.78...  (Mine hangs at this point)
  - Type: CTRL+]  (To enter ESC and get Telnet prompt)
  - Type: sen *idn? <ENTER>
  - Type: <ENTER>  (Shows response)
  - Type: CTRL+]  (To send another command)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf