Author Topic: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix  (Read 26995 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #150 on: July 06, 2023, 02:52:49 am »
Almost all of the screenshot examples are from the R&S MXO4, and it's a very, very nice scope :) 

The screenshots I make with my MXO4 are more or less identical to the Batronix manual.  And I've been using junk probes for my experiments.

One difference may be that the Batronix examples have sample rate at 5 Gsa/s and your scope seems to show 2 Gsa/s.

Yeah, that's a little out of my budget. 🤣

I thought the humps might be related to signal interference, and maybe they were using active probes or something.

I have nice Probe Master probes, but my scope does max out at 2 Gsa/s.
"I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious." - Steven Wright
 

Offline Performa01

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1522
  • Country: at
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #151 on: July 06, 2023, 07:21:39 am »
I'm referring to how clean their lines are compared to mine in the attached example.
The true reason for this is the vast difference in bandwidth. Close to 600 MHz bandwidth (SDS2504X Plus) show a lot more detail - hence "uglier" traces - than a 200 MHz scope. Whether the imperfections of the signal are interferences from the environment, bad probing or in the signal source itself is unknown at this point, but the fact that higher bandwidth reveals more (even unwanted) details remains.

Apart from that, a scope with 12 bit ADC (MXO4) will generally show nicer traces, as every user of the SDS2000X HD can attest ;)
 
The following users thanked this post: KungFuJosh

Offline KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #152 on: July 06, 2023, 05:11:06 pm »
Bit depth and bandwidth for the win!

I set the experiment back up, changed the bit depth to 10bit, which dropped the bandwidth to 100M. I also modified my acquisition to slow:

Edit: I fiddled with the display settings more, and put the menu back on to make Rob happy. 😉

For comparison...

Here's full bandwidth at 8bits:


200M limit at 8bits:


100M limit at 10bits:
« Last Edit: July 06, 2023, 05:23:54 pm by KungFuJosh »
"I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious." - Steven Wright
 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, tautech, pdenisowski

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #153 on: July 06, 2023, 05:24:17 pm »
Apart from that, a scope with 12 bit ADC (MXO4) will generally show nicer traces, as every user of the SDS2000X HD can attest ;)

Yepp... 8)

 
The following users thanked this post: pdenisowski

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #154 on: July 06, 2023, 06:34:50 pm »
The HF termination test (next step):

 
The following users thanked this post: Performa01, pdenisowski

Offline KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #155 on: July 06, 2023, 06:49:30 pm »
The HF termination test (next step):

Did your probe move between tests? I'm assuming mine lined up cleaner because I had the probe jammed in there. 😉
"I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious." - Steven Wright
 

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #156 on: July 06, 2023, 06:52:43 pm »
I held the probe during testing/saving.

Offline KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #157 on: July 06, 2023, 07:02:19 pm »
I left the probe in a fixed position on its own where I didn't have to touch it. The ground spring gave it enough tension to stay still.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2023, 08:46:06 pm by KungFuJosh »
"I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious." - Steven Wright
 

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #158 on: July 06, 2023, 09:30:20 pm »
I don´t think it has something to do with it.
But will repeat the test with fixed probe and with another probe from lecroy.
Your amplitude seems higher when comparing the pics.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2023, 09:32:22 pm by Martin72 »
 

Offline KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #159 on: July 06, 2023, 10:23:03 pm »
Your amplitude seems higher when comparing the pics.

From page 50 of the manual:
"Now remove the jumper connected to the lower “50”. This will remove the
termination and you should see a voltage rise to approx. 4.8 V about 8 ns after the
signal edge (from 0 V to approx. 2.4 V) (screenshot: red signal curve)."

I think my pic is pretty spot on, no?

Edit: when you do your test again, please move the ref table so we can see the axis numbers.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2023, 11:04:49 pm by KungFuJosh »
"I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious." - Steven Wright
 

Offline markus_jlrb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Country: de
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #160 on: July 07, 2023, 05:48:46 am »
Dears,

get my demo board yesterday and made some first test.
I' wondering that all the testing stuff signals could be
provided by only one ic named ATSAMD20 from Microchip.
I was expecting a FPGA device on the board.



Btw have someone managed to run the I2C examp.
and see the country and capital names when selector#1
is set to 0? I'm using a SDS1104X-E and were able to
run the UART and SPI examp. but not the one mentioned
above.

Markus
 

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #161 on: July 07, 2023, 03:19:50 pm »
Hi,

Besides the 2504HD, I still have a 1104 lying around... 8)

Check it today, no problems with the I²C signal...

Note:
Clock and data thresholds must both be set, approximately at 1.6V.
Can be found in the sub-item "Signals" in the decoder menu after selecting the decoder type.
I can post more pictures later.

Offline markus_jlrb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Country: de
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #162 on: July 07, 2023, 07:39:44 pm »
Thanks Martin,

you point me to the right direction.


Now I was able to decode the I2C data.


Today the SPL1016 Probes arrive too, so I could now
do some logic signal examples with the new Batronix
training board.




Markus
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 27904
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #163 on: July 07, 2023, 07:58:19 pm »
Thanks Martin,

you point me to the right direction.


Now I was able to decode the I2C data.


Today the SPL1016 Probes arrive too, so I could now
do some logic signal examples with the new Batronix
training board.

Markus
Some tips if I may:
Idle High signal should have a falling edge trigger.
Saving screenshots to USB can be done with the blue Print button shortcut and leave the active scope menu visible and not have the Save/Recall menu instead.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline markus_jlrb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Country: de
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #164 on: July 07, 2023, 08:08:37 pm »
One problem appear as I have powered the demo board from the internal DSO USB connector,
so that at the same time I was not able to plug in the USB stick to save the screen shot.

I was not keen to power the demo board from a external psu as in this case the ground
layer is connected to the DSO ground.

Perhaps a USB hub will be the proper solution for this problem.

Markus
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 27904
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #165 on: July 07, 2023, 08:11:58 pm »
One problem appear as I have powered the demo board from the internal DSO USB connector,
so that at the same time I was not able to plug in the USB stick to save the screen shot.

I was not keen to power the demo board from a external psu as in this case the ground
layer is connected to the DSO ground.

Perhaps a USB hub will be the proper solution for this problem.

Markus
You do have another USB A socket on the rear......maybe not if you have SDS1202X-E.
Yes I have used a USB hub for these needs.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2023, 08:18:14 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #166 on: July 07, 2023, 08:19:54 pm »
Yepp, a few hours ago I had the same "problem"... ;D
Then "wait a minute, is there another one on the back...ahh..."  8)
(You can see it on the picture, ok...not so clear)
This little puppy, I like it !

« Last Edit: July 07, 2023, 08:21:52 pm by Martin72 »
 

Offline markus_jlrb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 137
  • Country: de
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #167 on: July 07, 2023, 08:20:33 pm »
Good hint tautech, indeed I have missed this.

Have only recognized the USB-B plug on the rear side and overseen the USB-A.

Demo board is now connected to the read side.

Thanks again.


Markus

 

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #168 on: July 11, 2023, 03:35:30 pm »
The "HF" tests, now with siglent sds1104X-E..
 
The following users thanked this post: pdenisowski

Offline kerouanton

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: ch
  • Just curious about science, radio etc.
    • Sometimes I play with radio
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #169 on: July 12, 2023, 04:09:37 pm »
In my experience, most people aren't aware of all the different ways of using XY mode.

Indeed, I didn't think about using X-Y mode to see IQ patterns. And happy to see that my basic SDS1204X-E does the job well on 256QAM. This makes nice screenshots, quite artistic. Thank you for your video and taking the time to explain.
 
The following users thanked this post: pdenisowski

Offline pdenisowski

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 508
  • Country: us
  • Product Management Engineer, Rohde & Schwarz
    • Test and Measurement Fundamentals Playlist on the R&S YouTube channel
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #170 on: July 12, 2023, 10:53:16 pm »
Indeed, I didn't think about using X-Y mode to see IQ patterns. And happy to see that my basic SDS1204X-E does the job well on 256QAM. This makes nice screenshots, quite artistic. Thank you for your video and taking the time to explain.

My pleasure :) 

I like to joke that XY mode on oscilloscopes is like zero span on spectrum analyzers: a standard feature with lots of useful applications, but something that even experienced users are often unfamiliar with.

(and I also did a video on zero span, by the way :))
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, 2N3055, Martin72, duckduck

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #171 on: July 13, 2023, 07:53:01 pm »
I don´t think it has something to do with it.
But will repeat the test with fixed probe and with another probe from lecroy.
Your amplitude seems higher when comparing the pics.

Done this a few minutes ago, with a lecroy pp023 probe.
 
The following users thanked this post: KungFuJosh

Offline KungFuJosh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
  • Country: us
  • TEAS is real.
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #172 on: July 13, 2023, 11:16:06 pm »
It looks cleaner now, and lined up better.
"I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious." - Steven Wright
 

Online Martin72Topic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5452
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #173 on: August 06, 2023, 08:14:48 pm »
Testing my new SPL2016 probes with the demoboard, it works..
(Function CAN decoding, 20kbit/s)
 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto, pdenisowski, KungFuJosh, mwb1100

Offline explozz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: ca
Re: New Scope Demoboard from Batronix
« Reply #174 on: October 25, 2023, 04:07:04 pm »
Hello everyone,

The 20% off MSO demo card special ends in a few days, so I ordered one to take advantage of the special.

And like everyone else, I too am going to have fun with this new toy.

Thanks to Martin72 for this expensive discovery (Laughs).  ;)
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf