Author Topic: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's  (Read 6475 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 858
  • Country: pt
Re: SPD1168X Siglent PSU
« Reply #25 on: September 21, 2018, 09:21:57 pm »
tautech,

The FW refers to 2 models:

SPD1168X
SPD1168X-C

What are their differences?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X Siglent PSU
« Reply #26 on: September 21, 2018, 11:09:11 pm »
tautech,

The FW refers to 2 models:

SPD1168X
SPD1168X-C

What are their differences?
The 'C' is the Chinese only version with lower 10 mV/mA resolution.

Interestingly there's another model now on the Chinese website, SPD1305X also a single channel unit with remote sense but with 30V 5A 1 mV/mA outputs.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: us
Re: SPD1168X Siglent PSU
« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2018, 01:15:06 pm »
Wow, there are all sorts of interesting models on the Chinese site.  I'm surprised that there are so many models that aren't available internationally (yet).
 

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 328
  • Country: it
Re: SPD1168X Siglent PSU
« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2018, 08:30:58 am »
here is a new member of the family, maybe better V/A/W ratio 30V 5A 150W SPD1305X
new data sheet with both models:
https://www.batterfly.com/PDF/Siglent/SPD1000X-series-dataSheet.pdf

new user manual:
https://www.batterfly.com/PDF/Siglent/SPD1000X_UserManual_UM0501X-E02A.pdf
Technical Support
 

Offline diodak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: pl
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #29 on: December 12, 2018, 05:57:37 pm »
For me it was important information but I did not find it. Well, in the 30V version, the integrated circuits responsible for setting and reading the voltage and current are AD7782 and DAC8562. Unfortunately, I have no information on how to calibrate this power supply in the future...
« Last Edit: December 12, 2018, 05:59:45 pm by diodak »
 
The following users thanked this post: plurn

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #30 on: March 12, 2019, 08:28:41 am »
New video from Defpom added to the OP.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #31 on: March 12, 2019, 08:34:18 am »
For me it was important information but I did not find it. Well, in the 30V version, the integrated circuits responsible for setting and reading the voltage and current are AD7782 and DAC8562. Unfortunately, I have no information on how to calibrate this power supply in the future...
They are a closed box calibration, in that PC scripts and a universal calibrator are needed to program the PSU's internal calibration settings.
More info on this matter is available here:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/how-to-calibrate-siglent-spd1000x-spd3303x-spd3303x-e-series-power-supplies/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: diodak

Offline diodak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: pl
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #32 on: March 12, 2019, 08:08:06 pm »
So I will wait for service manual ... I think that the calibration will not be particularly difficult. Probably like in other devices, i.e. based on two voltage and current points. Possibly, there may be a zero offset.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #33 on: April 26, 2019, 09:16:38 am »
New firmware for both SPD1168X and SPD1305X models.

NOTE model specific firmware versions !


SPD1168X
Version: V2.1.1.8
551 KB
http://old.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Firmware&Software/firmware/SPD1168X_2.1.1.8_EN.zip


SPD1305X
Version: V2.1.1.8
550 KB
http://old.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Firmware&Software/firmware/SPD1305X_2.1.1.8_EN.zip

Changelog
Bug fixes for both models.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: plurn, BillB

Online BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: us
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #34 on: April 26, 2019, 12:29:43 pm »
It would be nice if they enumerated the bugs they actually fixed in the release notes rather than just "fixed some bugs".  I haven't noticed any buggy behavior on my SPD1168X's really, but I guess I'll update them anyway.   :-//

Update performed, no problems.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2019, 12:37:34 pm by BillB »
 

Offline diodak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: pl
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #35 on: April 27, 2019, 01:38:02 pm »
I have a problem with the update. I am getting the message "This file is not upgrade file". Firmware downloaded from Siglent. Any ideas what could be wrong? Maybe because I have FW version 2.01.01.07R1? The power supply shows the upgrade mode via USB but the progress indicator does (on LCD/TFT) not move and the "EasyPower" program gives the message as above.
 

Online BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: us
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #36 on: April 27, 2019, 02:28:22 pm »
diodak,

Do you have an SPD1168X or SPD1305X?  I just upgraded another SPD1168X successfully, however, both were via LAN and not USB.  The last one had FW v2.01.01.05R1.

Do you have the latest version of EasyPower?  I know that there was an update to the application to support these new supplies?  I am running version V100R001B01D01P16.

 

Offline diodak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: pl
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #37 on: April 27, 2019, 02:33:58 pm »
I have SPD1305X and I tried to update it via USB. EasyPower is the newest available. In that case, I will try via LAN (I did not know it would be possible - they recommend in PDF to make an update via USB). By the way - EasyPower does not fully support SPD1305X - you can not set a current greater than 3A ...
« Last Edit: April 27, 2019, 02:35:56 pm by diodak »
 

Online BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: us
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #38 on: April 27, 2019, 02:43:49 pm »
I'm sorry I don't have an SPD1305X.  I've performed all my updates to my Siglent supplies by LAN and have never had a problem.

That's strange regarding the current limit via EasyPower, IIRC it supports the full 8A for the 1168X.  Does EasyPower disable the second channel UI and provide the sense control UI when you are attached to the 1305X?
 

Offline diodak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: pl
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #39 on: April 27, 2019, 05:16:48 pm »
Updating via LAN also does not work. The same problem with the file error ... I guess simply this version of EasyPower does not work with SPD1305X.

The menu displayed in the GUI is unchanged, you can see both channels. When you give limit on 4A, the current will be set to 3.2 A. Also, 4-wire mode can not be set. What is interesting is whether via LAN or USB connection, makes the SPD1305X 5 beeps. I have no idea what these repeated beep mean.
 

Online BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: us
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #40 on: April 27, 2019, 05:58:54 pm »
When I first got the SPD1168X, the older version of EasyPower treated it somewhat like the SPD3303X-E.  The newer version added the sense control, disabled the second channel UI, and allowed for the proper current range.

It sure does seem like EasyPower is doing the same thing with your SPD1305X.

IIRC, the beeps mean the power supply received a command it didn't recognize or like; another reason to suspect Easypower is sending it SPD3303X commands.

 :(
 

Offline diodak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: pl
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #41 on: April 27, 2019, 06:04:17 pm »
There is some unsystematic in what Siglent does because the device control software appears much later than the device itself. It should go hand in hand. The more so if the software also has the function of updating the firmware. It remains to wait for the new version.
 

Online BillB

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 554
  • Country: us
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #42 on: April 27, 2019, 06:34:07 pm »
Yes, I think the EasyTools suite, and probably all PC-based control applications,are losing out to built-in webservers.  Most of the EasyTools applications look like they haven't been substantially modified in a decade or more.   

At least they've done a good job at providing the SCPI interface.   
« Last Edit: April 27, 2019, 08:31:49 pm by BillB »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #43 on: April 28, 2019, 10:11:18 am »
Updating via LAN also does not work. The same problem with the file error ... I guess simply this version of EasyPower does not work with SPD1305X.
Nope it doesn't !  >:(

Quote
The menu displayed in the GUI is unchanged, you can see both channels. When you give limit on 4A, the current will be set to 3.2 A. Also, 4-wire mode can not be set. What is interesting is whether via LAN or USB connection, makes the SPD1305X 5 beeps. I have no idea what these repeated beep mean.

Yep, all this ^^^
Dunno what Siglent were thinking.........release new firmware and the EasyPower SW that's supposed to work with SPD1305X won't and you can't install any firmware that might fix it !  :wtf:  :horse:

Angry email sent to Siglent.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: plurn

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #44 on: April 29, 2019, 11:01:45 am »
New EasyPower SW version to properly support SPD1305X:
Version 1.01.01.18
https://www.siglentamerica.com/download/8752/
4.33 MB

Allows installation of any new firmware versions and properly supports these single channel PSU's.  :phew:

24 hrs since I emailed on a Sunday evening for the factory fix.  :clap:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: rf-loop, plurn

Offline diodak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
  • Country: pl
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #45 on: April 29, 2019, 05:00:41 pm »
I do not know what to say ... Thank you.
I confirm, now everything works, the new firmware has been uploaded correctly via the LAN. 1 channel works, you can set 5A. There is no warning signal (5 beep repeated by the SPD).
 

Offline plurn

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Country: au
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #46 on: May 10, 2019, 07:48:29 am »
This week I got a Siglent SPD1305X - hardware version V1.0 - cal date 26th of October 2018. It is my first proper adjustable bench power supply with current limiting and I like it a lot.

It looks like a proper piece of gear with nice quality plastics. The user interface of the device itself seems pretty intuitive to me and very easy to use. The rotary control works well - it is easy to turn it to the value you want without it skipping numbers or anything annoying. I really like the 4 wire setup - it works well. Voltage readback on the device measures very close to my multimeter.

The binding posts work well with all my unshrouded banana plugs, even with the knobs undone as far as they will unscrew. Not loosey goosey. Probemaster stackable banana plugs work well as an example.

It is audibly pretty quiet with low fan noise. I also have a Siglent SDS1104X-E oscilloscope which I also find to have low fan noise, and the SPD1305X is maybe a little quieter than that.

I had no problem installing the suggested ancient version of NI-VISA runtime, and the EasyPower 1.01.01.18 software in a windows 10 virtual machine. Shame it requires windows. I updated the firmware over ethernet without issue. EasyPower is ok but a bit clunky. Slightly annoying that you have to type in an IP address to connect to a network device each time. It does not seem to remember the IP after disconnecting and it does not seem to let you use a hostname instead.

I tried measuring electrical ripple and noise using a 1X probe and thought I was seeing about 8mV peak to peak and <1V RMS - with or without a load (56 Ohm 5 watt resistor), but then I tested measuring an alkaline AA battery and it looked exactly the same. So I can't really measure electrical noise this low properly (no 50 Ohm attachments, lack of technique). I have no doubt the constant voltage electrical noise meets its specs and is very quiet.

Measuring voltage of the output while turning on the main power (clunking switch) showed some transients. Keep in mind I am a beginner and may be measuring or interpreting it wrong. Don't know if the transients are real or picked up from the environment. They seem pretty small and harmless anyway.


image: main power (clunking switch) transients

Using the soft channel on button, I did not measure any voltage overshoot. It looked very well behaved in that sense.

I thought I would try measuring current overshoot. Tests done with a Keysight U1272A multimeter with "Peak detection of up to 250 μs".

Testing done with U1272A set to measure current in the 10A range (which seems to be a 30A range as it is a 30,000 count meter) rather than autorange. Then Peak detect enabled.

Test A SPD1305X settings:
3.000V
0.020A
SPD1305X connected direct (pretty much a short) to current measurement on multimeter, then power on the channel with the soft power button.

Result: Usually about 16.8A peak. Yes that is Amps. Sometimes 0.023A which I think means the peak measurement was missed due to current spike being very short, and the limitations on very short duration peak measurement with multimeters. I guess this is a capacitor discharging?




Test B SPD1305X settings:
3.000V
0.020A
SPD1305X powered on circuit open, then short the outputs and unshort/open, then connect to current measurement on multimeter. Basically trying to see if connecting after turn on reduces the initial current.

Result: overload - so more than 30A. Probably due to a spark?




Test C SPD1305X settings:
3.000V
0.020A
SPD1305X
SPD1305X connected to current measurement on multimeter with a green LED inline (in series), then power on the channel with the soft power button. Testing to see how this relates to a more real world scenario.

Result: LED lights up yellow for fraction of a second then changes to green constantly lit. It is a standard green LED which should not be yellow so I assume this is from too much current. note - see Update4 below.
peak current measurement about 0.160A.




Test D SPD1305X settings:
5.000V
0.020A
SPD1305X
SPD1305X connected to current measurement on multimeter with a green LED inline (in series), then power on the channel with the soft power button.

Result: LED lights up for a fraction of a second then burnt out / open LED. Repeatable result with a second (initially good) LED. note - see Update4 below
Peak current measurement about 3.145A



Test D SPD1305X settings:
5.000V
0.020A
SPD1305X connected direct (pretty much a short) to current measurement on multimeter, then power on the channel with the soft power button.

Result: about 20A peak


If I am testing wrong you are welcome to educate me.


So I am a bit of a electronics beginner and I don't know if it is typical for currently limiting to not work on initial turn on or if this is only a problem with certain power supplies. Maybe a trap for young players? But anyway I don't think this SPD1305X can be relied on to limit initial current with soft power on for delicate loads, or with connecting delicate loads after soft power on. Perhaps delicate loads should have a current limiting resistor installed as an extra precaution. This might be common knowledge - I don't know. At least I did not blow up the expensive 10A fuse in my multimeter.

I was really hoping/assuming that the current limiting would work 100% of the time but I don't know if that is realistic. Perhaps they have a capacitor connected after the current limiting so there is no way to limit that? Is that a typical arrangement? Probably is to ensure low ripple. Does the SPD1305X have too much capacitance after the current limiting? Probably a balancing act.

For now I will assume this is all normal for power supplies unless someone can advise if it is not. Overall I am still happy with this power supply.



Update: current overshoot seems to be normal and is a trap for young players http://powersupply.blogs.keysight.com/2012/07/why-does-my-power-supply-overshoot-at.html


Update2: It seems that power supplies can be designed to minimise voltage overshoot (voltage-priority mode) or to minimise current overshoot (current-priority mode). https://www.electronicdesign.com/power/getting-your-priorities-straight-managing-overshoots

Perhaps with Siglent optimising this power supply to minimise voltage overshoot, that might have compromised current overshoot. It could be argued that this is our (EEVBlog members) fault for complaining about voltage overshoot on power supplies all the time. Siglent is just giving us what we asked for.

Update3: learnt how to display the image inline with the text.

Update4: I have made a mistake testing the LEDs with too high voltage. I did mention I was an electronics beginner. So that could be the reason why they burned out rather than too much current. Or it could have been both. I don't think this invalidates the current measurements I took. I think better measurements are needed with a current probe (I don't have one) and oscilloscope to try and determine if the energy contained in the current surge (amps and duration) is significant.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2019, 09:01:39 am by plurn »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #47 on: May 10, 2019, 10:38:04 am »
Dunno what you're doing plurn ?  :-//

You've seen my power ON screenshots for SPD1168X so because I haven't scoped a SPD1305X I'd thought I'd better after reading your post above.

Setting 24V 5A
Load 5W 24V auto bulb = 170mA (read from SPD display)


Power ON (output ON)



Like the SPD1168X, the ripple is so low it's very difficult to identify. Here our mains is 50 Hz so we're looking for 100 Hz ripple...........damned if I can find it. The spec is max 350 uVrms for ripple and noise and with Averaging we can reduce noise but good luck finding any ripple.

« Last Edit: May 11, 2019, 05:23:39 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15975
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #48 on: May 10, 2019, 10:44:54 pm »
Further to a PM from plurn let's look at power ON not output ON.
This is with the same PSU settings as previously, 24V into a 5W bulb.

SPD1305X


Is it real, or is it induced into the OFF PSU output or some RFI/EMI from the mains switch inrush of magnetizing current into SPD1305X transformer ? Load lead length (acting as antenna) could have an impact on how large this spike could be.
Intuition tells me it's induced from the mains power switch and the DSO timebase setting would indicate this also.

Some more checks with a current shunt or current probe might be of use for further and deeper understanding.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2019, 05:22:17 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: plurn

Offline Geoff_S

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: SPD1168X and SPD1305X Siglent PSU's
« Reply #49 on: September 18, 2019, 09:02:28 am »
Was there ever any resolution to this transient behaviour ??
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf