Author Topic: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)  (Read 82606 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #150 on: November 02, 2020, 01:16:43 pm »

Yes, I´m Spanish. 8)
I am very curious to know how you got the commands to read the flash, theoretically they are recorded in the kernel, right?

I have searched a lot on the internet and I have not found anything!

Hola  :D

I did a text search in the code that jellytot posted earlier in this thread. The known commands are there plus a few others that looked interesting. They didn't work in normal mode so I tried them in the kernel and kept trying different things until I worked out what they did, bit of a treasure hunt really.

All the commands are at offset 0x6e35 in your 2.BIN file.

They must be implemented in the kernel because they work when the flash is erased but they're also in the list in the main code.

There's still a couple commands I haven't worked out the use of so far CL and DW
 
The following users thanked this post: harrimansat

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #151 on: November 02, 2020, 03:30:53 pm »
I have this command list:



                                    COMMAND           PAGE
         COMMAND NAME               HEADER           NUMBER
         -------------------------------------------------------
         AUTO SETUP                   AS               3.5
         ARM TRIGGER                  AT               3.7
         CPL VERSION QUERY            CV               3.9
         DEFAULT SETUP                DS               3.11
         GO TO LOCAL                  GL               3.13
         GO TO REMOTE                 GR               3.16
         IDENTIFICATION               ID               3.19
         LOCAL LOCKOUT                LL               3.21
         PROGRAM COMMUNICATION        PC               3.24
         PROGRAM SETUP                PS               3.27
         PROGRAM WAVEFORM             PW               3.30
         QUERY MEASUREMENT            QM               3.34
         QUERY PRINT                  QP               3.40
         QUERY SETUP                  QS               3.44
         QUERY WAVEFORM               QW               3.47
         RESET INSTRUMENT             RI               3.51
         RECALL SETUP                 RS               3.53
         SAVE SETUP                   SS               3.56
         STATUS QUERY                 ST               3.59
         TRIGGER ACQUISITION          TA               3.62


« Last Edit: November 02, 2020, 03:33:13 pm by harrimansat »
 
The following users thanked this post: marrob

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #152 on: November 02, 2020, 03:35:46 pm »

Yes, I´m Spanish. 8)
I am very curious to know how you got the commands to read the flash, theoretically they are recorded in the kernel, right?

I have searched a lot on the internet and I have not found anything!

Hola  :D

I did a text search in the code that jellytot posted earlier in this thread. The known commands are there plus a few others that looked interesting. They didn't work in normal mode so I tried them in the kernel and kept trying different things until I worked out what they did, bit of a treasure hunt really.

All the commands are at offset 0x6e35 in your 2.BIN file.

They must be implemented in the kernel because they work when the flash is erased but they're also in the list in the main code.

There's still a couple commands I haven't worked out the use of so far CL and DW
:clap: :clap: :clap:
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #153 on: November 02, 2020, 04:10:25 pm »
Commands list, EX is exit?
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #154 on: November 02, 2020, 04:25:25 pm »
EX is used for calibration. If you look in your MAT/CAL files it's used very often.
It also seems to be used in the later, post V5.0 kernel so I'm guessing that there are some EX commands that read and write the flash in newer instruments.

thanks for the :clap:  :)
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #155 on: November 02, 2020, 05:11:25 pm »
I think your 2.BIN file has a byte missing from the start. Did you use the QF0,2,1,32768 command shown in your pic to generate it?
It should be QF0,2,0,32768 as on the previous line
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #156 on: November 02, 2020, 06:01:20 pm »
I will make another backup and post it.

I would like to flash a 105b eeprom in my 105. I have two fluke 97, one of them is "rare" it has a 5.00 hardware, I would like to try if it accepts the 105 firmware too.

Thanks!
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #157 on: November 03, 2020, 11:44:10 am »
I will make another backup and post it.

I would like to flash a 105b eeprom in my 105. I have two fluke 97, one of them is "rare" it has a 5.00 hardware, I would like to try if it accepts the 105 firmware too.

Thanks!

I've got a couple of post 5.00 flukes too, one 95 and one 97. They both respond to the ID command from within the kernel with "Universal Host Mask Software; UHM V1.0"
I haven't worked out any other kernel commands, the pre 5.00 ones don't work.
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #158 on: November 03, 2020, 12:15:58 pm »
do you managed to recover the one with flash erased with CF?
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #159 on: November 03, 2020, 01:21:17 pm »
yes, that one is version 4.02 so no problem
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #160 on: November 03, 2020, 04:11:10 pm »
yes, that one is version 4.02 so no problem

Using PF?

How?  ;D
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #161 on: November 03, 2020, 04:54:28 pm »
yes, that one is version 4.02 so no problem

Using PF?

How?  ;D

I've sent you a PM...
 

Offline smaultre

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 140
  • Country: us
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #162 on: November 03, 2020, 05:06:03 pm »
My friends the 95-105 is the pretty scopes, but do not have real isolated inputs and run only about  ~25Ms sample rate.
It's so small rate todays.. Maybe talk about hacking\repairing\upgraiding\calibrating the 199b\c models?
« Last Edit: November 03, 2020, 05:08:27 pm by smaultre »
Start a new life here!!!
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #163 on: November 04, 2020, 12:45:33 pm »
Flash for FLUKE 97 V4.05
 
The following users thanked this post: jellytot

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #164 on: November 11, 2020, 09:45:56 pm »
Scope Meter Fluke 105 II v 7.05 English German Firmware
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #165 on: November 23, 2020, 02:06:19 pm »
I've uploaded some home grown utility programs to read and flash these Scopemeters in a new post for anyone that wants to try them..
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/fluke-flash-utilities-for-early-scopemeters/
 
The following users thanked this post: harrimansat, KRISTOFFER

Offline KRISTOFFER

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #166 on: November 23, 2020, 06:10:29 pm »
 :) Big thank you to Marrob for new software to take the sting out of pulling out data from the Flash chip/chips. Will try it tonight since I am struggling with QF.

Found something unusual last night in my first attempt. Sent ID to a non working PM95 and it sent back SCOPEMETER 90 FAMILY MSK V2.01 02-15-91. Does this indicate that it is somehow locked within the kernel ?

Will post any further results in the next few days.

 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #167 on: November 23, 2020, 08:01:05 pm »
:) Big thank you to Marrob for new software to take the sting out of pulling out data from the Flash chip/chips. Will try it tonight since I am struggling with QF.

Found something unusual last night in my first attempt. Sent ID to a non working PM95 and it sent back SCOPEMETER 90 FAMILY MSK V2.01 02-15-91. Does this indicate that it is somehow locked within the kernel ?

Will post any further results in the next few days.

Yes, that's the normal ID response from the version 4 kernel. The Scopemeter will stay in the kernel if the flash is erased or corrupt. It indicates that your processor and serial interface are working. You should be able to restore the code unless there is a fault on the board stopping the flash or RAM from working.
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #168 on: November 26, 2020, 01:10:58 pm »
what do you mean by "for a split second I get the message aborting"? If you get a message in a Command Prompt window it will stay on the screen until you close the window.
You don't need to go into service mode to use any of my utilities. They will do that themselves if necessary, flukesavecal doesn't need to go into service mode at all.
What exactly are you typing for flukesavcal and flukev4dump? Can you attach a screen shot of the Command Prompt window?
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #169 on: November 26, 2020, 04:49:05 pm »
These programs have to be run from within a command window, you can't just double-click on them in Windows. Also you have to type the com port and the file name after the command as stated in the pdf and the useage message shown in your screenshot. If you just type a filename without a path in the window you have shown the file will be in d:\

It might be a good idea to read up a bit about Windows command line if this doesn't make sense to you.
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #170 on: November 27, 2020, 10:14:29 am »
OK yes, it has been a long time and I am very rusty but got half way there. Can not get any flash dumps from working or non working but  got a cal.bin from a working PM97. Will update when I get some more.

That's strange, the 2 programs connect to the scope in the same way so you should at least get the "Scopemeter model..." message. There may be an issue with your serial interface and it just happened to work once with the calibration download.
 

Offline marrob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: gb
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #171 on: November 27, 2020, 03:04:16 pm »
I will go back to it tonight with a usb adaptor and try to lift everything from the PM95, 97, 96b II and 99II models (working or not) and get them posted on here for everyone to play with.

That would be interesting. I believe the 96 and 99 models have 2 flash chips. The programs should work with them but I haven't been able to test them. The series II models will need the uhm versions of the programs.
It might be a good idea to post the results on the other thread with the programs as harrimansat did so that thread can be a sort of repository for flash dumps.
 

Offline jellytot

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #172 on: December 02, 2020, 11:54:44 am »
First. Thank you marrob for your flash utilities for  these meters  :-+ Kristoffer, I successfully upgraded my v3.15 to v3.25 with my cal data from your dump's with no issues  :) unfortunately v4.05 is giving me cal issues  as already mentioned by marrob. I'm just curious if there is a 2 chip version of the 97 with V4 running on it  :( It would be nice to have V4  ;D
 

Offline Eric

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #173 on: March 04, 2021, 05:09:22 am »
Hi,

I have made a adaptor to use BNC input with multimeter leads. Is a 10:1 attenunator with HV voltage capacitors to compensate HF. It can measure up to 3kv

Regards

If you would, please elaborate on the circuit and especially your component selection.  I would like to make a pair of these for my scopemeter.
Thanks.

-Eric
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
Re: Old Philips Fluke 97 / 96B (maybe others?)
« Reply #174 on: March 09, 2021, 11:11:07 am »
Hi, I have a FLUKE97, I can´t locate this board in service manual. There is more services manuals for these scopes?

Is a TV sync trigger board :)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf