Author Topic: OSCILLOSCOPE SAFETY ALTERNATE METHOD  (Read 517 times)

Offline jisake2Topic starter

OSCILLOSCOPE SAFETY ALTERNATE METHOD
« on: February 15, 2024, 03:16:37 pm »
Relatively new to using an Oscilloscope. After viewing EEVblog#279 video - How NOT to blow up your oscilloscope (and/or High Voltage Oscilloscope Probe), joining the EEVblog. I have over 50 years experience working with VOM's. Now entering into an area I have need of an Oscilloscope.
I attached a photo in concept which I believe prevents an exploded probe or worse. Using a stand alone power supply (Trust that will isolate the grounding?) Then using a handheld oscilloscope that is battery powered.

Believe the only time common ground could be a factor is if devices are charged with grid power when used. Let me know your thoughts?

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: OSCILLOSCOPE SAFETY ALTERNATE METHOD
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2024, 03:37:53 pm »
Don't forget that the concept of "ground" and "earth" is merely a concept/model that is useful in some circumstances. Consider, for example, what "earth/ground" means in an aircraft.

Basically, it looks like you don't understand the many ways high energy circuits can damage you and/or equipment.

If you are going to be working on high energy[1] circuits, then I suggest you read the references given at https://entertaininghacks.wordpress.com/library-2/scope-probe-reference-material/ to find out the different types of scopes and probes, why they exist, and what they do and don't do.

Pay particular attention to the anecdote about "someone that took precautions and still killed themself." Understand why HV differential probes can be useful.