Author Topic: Oscilloscope specs - which are really important  (Read 17819 times)

Offline jpbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Oscilloscope specs - which are really important
« on: January 14, 2013, 07:14:34 pm »
I'm still (after 6 months) trying to determine which oscilloscope to get and how much to spend. I know the theory more or less (I have a degree in Electronics and many years experience of working with microwave integrated circuits but very little practical experience with oscilloscopes, digital circuits etc.) but I'm finding it hard to balance what is marketing and what is really useful. I'm looking to get a good quality 100 or 200 MHz scope for my own use ranging from hobby circuit building to perhaps physics like experiments, which will hopefully last me many years.

Any comments by owners of scopes on the following would be great!

1.) Memory. This seems to vary from a few k (definitely too small) to 56M (the Rigol) with 1M seeming typical.
500k gives a zoom level of a 1000 times while 50M gives a zoom level of a 100,000 times. Is a 1000 times enough or do people often require higher levels? My gut feeling is that memory levels are being pushed higher as a headline spec but I wonder how much importance should be attached to the difference between say 1M and 10M.

2.) sin x/x interpolation. With 1GS/s and 500 pixels of screen resolution interpolation only comes in at faster than 50 ns/div. Even at 2 ns/div there are a couple of sample points per div so the error introduced by linear interpolation is less probably than the dc gain error. Additionally, as sin x/x interpolation assumes a repetitive waveform the same effect could be obtained with equivalent time sampling?