Author Topic: Oscilloscope suggestions for a beginner that is 50 dollars and under  (Read 7215 times)

Offline nmmbeginer

• Contributor
ok so i am fairly new to electronics and i am completely new to Oscilloscopes. so as you can imagine i don't know what im looking for in an Oscilloscope or even how to use one. so i don't want anything expensive but i also don't want a cheap pile of crap. i basically want something that i can get an idea as to how to use an Oscilloscope and then later if i want to i can upgrade. i have a budget of $50.
so to give you an idea as to what i might use it for here is a list of things i like to do. i like rc cars planes and quadcopters. i am learning arduino. i like to tear thing apart and see how they work. i do some things with 555 timers and other simple circuits. 
i am not interested in dealing with used ebay deals and other things like that. i do buy from amazon so that is fine.

thanks
nmmbeginner

Offline AF6LJ

• Supporter
Re: Oscilloscope suggestions for a beginner that is 50 dollars and under
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2015, 07:37:36 pm »
I don't know where you are at in the US; most large cities have electronic surplus outlets.
I actually bought a 100MHZ military surplus scope for twenty dollars at one of these places.
I still have that scope, it is my backup, and it works rather wall.
Granted picking up a dual trace, dual timebase, 100MHZ scope for the cost of five cups of Starbucks coffee is unusual, but you could find a scope of that caliber in your price range.
Sue AF6LJ
Test Equipment Addict, And Proud Of It.

Offline nmmbeginer

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2015, 08:01:39 pm »
that would be great but unfortunately i don't live near a city so it would have to be something online that can be shipped to me.

Offline eas

• Frequent Contributor
    • Tech Obsessed
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2015, 08:04:24 pm »
There are very few choices for new scopes in your price range. Have you actually looked them over?