Author Topic: Extech Ex330 - missing main chip?  (Read 2201 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline da_n

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Extech Ex330 - missing main chip?
« on: November 09, 2013, 12:52:32 pm »
Hi, first post here so I am sorry in advance for any noobie errors. I recently bought an Extech Ex330 after watching Dave's $50 shootout, I thought I would have a quick look inside just to check it all looked OK. After removing the back I was very surprised to see the main chip appears to be unpopulated, picture attached (including screenshot from the YouTube shootout which shows it populated). Wonder if people think this is simply a case of them revising the board and no longer needing the chip, or would this raise your suspicions? Thanks.
 

Offline Lightages

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 4302
  • Country: ca
  • Canadian po
Re: Extech Ex330 - missing main chip?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 12:56:13 pm »
I does have the main chip. Under that black blob of epoxy is a form of the chip in bare form, no package. This is called "Chip ON Board" and is a common way of manufacturing circuit boards in order to save costs. The footprint for a full chip is also sometimes included so as to allow the possibility of a full packaged chip if necessary.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2013, 01:11:33 pm by Lightages »
 

Offline da_n

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Extech Ex330 - missing main chip?
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 12:59:20 pm »
Ah I see  :palm:


Thanks for clearing up my confusion, you learn something new every day I guess (I am new to electronics). Cheers!
 

Offline Zbig

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 899
  • Country: pl
Re: Extech Ex330 - missing main chip?
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2013, 09:12:28 pm »
I once heard someone calling them "topless" chips ;)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf