Author Topic: Picked up a Kikusui PMC18-5A for $150. Good upgrade?  (Read 1316 times)

Offline tylerssimsTopic starter

• Contributor
Picked up a Kikusui PMC18-5A for $150. Good upgrade?
« on: August 01, 2022, 08:19:24 pm »
Hi everyone,

I purchased this Kikusui power supply off Craiglist yesterday as an upgrade/companion to my Tekpower TP3005T. The Tekpower unit works well, but it is loud and cheap, and I feel a bit uneasy powering expensive devices with it. I can't find much discussion about the Kikusui supplies but have seen this unit sell for well over $500 USD. Does anyone have any experience with Kikusui? The owner's manual is extremely well written and the supply works well. My 121GW multimeter is arriving today so I'm excited to test it later! Just curious what yall think about the purchase, I'm fairly new to the test equipment world.

It's gorgeous inside and I can post pics if anyone's interested.

Cheers!

Offline armandine2

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Picked up a Kikusui PMC18-5A for $150. Good upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2022, 09:16:03 pm »
Yes - I went for Kikusui for my power supplies. They appealed to me but I think they're still quite rare, in general.
Funny, the things you have the hardest time parting with are the things you need the least - Bob Dylan

The following users thanked this post: tylerssims

Offline Stray Electron

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2022, 03:19:10 am »
  I used to have an old green linear Kikusui power supply. It was heavy but was a good one. I have some Kikusui TE around but I haven't used or seen it it in a while. IIRC it's an oscilloscope calibrator.  Kikusui seems to make good stuff but it's rare in the US and I doubt that you'd ever find manuals in English for it.  As long as the stuff works then you're good to go but if it breaks you may have a boat anchor on your hands.

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2022, 03:42:10 am »