Author Topic: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack  (Read 24296 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1495
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #150 on: March 08, 2020, 03:04:32 pm »
When I click on the link, I get directed to the page with the old specifications. 
 

Offline idolclub

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #151 on: March 08, 2020, 03:19:27 pm »
When I click on the link, I get directed to the page with the old specifications.

https://www.gwinstek.com/en-global/products/detail/GDS-1000B


 
The following users thanked this post: nctnico, TK

Offline Mortymore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #152 on: March 08, 2020, 07:34:49 pm »
The manual though, is yet to talk about the BUS. Maybe it will be updated in the meantime
 

Offline stafil

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 190
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #153 on: April 02, 2020, 11:35:41 pm »
Sorry, I got lost. If I get GDS-2074E can I use the keygen to upgrade it to 200Mhz?
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19649
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #154 on: April 03, 2020, 12:15:07 am »
Sorry, I got lost. If I get GDS-2074E can I use the keygen to upgrade it to 200Mhz?
It should work. I have used the generator keys on my GDS-2204E without a problem.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: stafil

Offline Mortymore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #155 on: April 03, 2020, 11:12:31 am »
Sorry, I got lost. If I get GDS-2074E can I use the keygen to upgrade it to 200Mhz?

If you wish to go to 300MHz, install that license. If you go to 200MHz it will not be straightforward to upgrade to 300MHz afterwords.

Check my experience on that

Don't forget to install the Spectrum Analyzer also. It will give that OPTION button some good use.
Good luck  :-+
 
The following users thanked this post: stafil

Offline idolclub

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #156 on: April 07, 2020, 01:21:57 pm »
GW Instek Releases New Firmware v1.27 for GDS-1000B series.

Firmware v1.27 Release Notes:

1.Enabled BUS Features.

2.Fixed UART minor bug.

3.Fixed Datalog error at low frequency signals.

4.Fixed the Portuguese translations.

5.Fixed the Japanese translations.


https://www.gwinstek.com/en-GB/products/detail/GDS-1000B

 
The following users thanked this post: Mortymore

Offline Mortymore

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 258
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #157 on: April 08, 2020, 07:07:40 pm »
They also added a new version 1.03 of OpenWave for the GDS-1000B

And new firmware v1.41 for the GDS-2000E  :-+
 

Online paul002

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: nl
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #158 on: May 05, 2020, 03:13:01 pm »
Took some time to read all the post, but now 300 Mhz !! :)
« Last Edit: May 07, 2020, 09:34:25 am by paul002 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Mortymore

Offline 77algernon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ro
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #159 on: May 07, 2020, 11:20:49 am »
 :) I can confirm that the 200MHz upgrade works on the MDO-2074EG with 1.41 firmware (I used the data from reply #47)
985862-0

Thanks to all the good ppl contributing to this thread!

Just a quick question: anyone tried to enable the FFT entries from the Function Module menu? It has something to do with the option_index?
985866-1

L.E.

It seems the FFT entries from the Function Module menu are in fact apps, which you can download from the GDS-2000E section: https://www.gwinstek.com/en-global/products/detail/GDS-2000E It seems it requires one to register with GWInstek, though.

Just unzip and copy the .fun file on the USB stick, then install it by selecting twice in the File Utilities menu. I installed only the dual display app.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2020, 12:52:16 pm by 77algernon »
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19649
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #160 on: May 07, 2020, 12:31:46 pm »
Took some time to read all the post, but now 300 Mhz !! :)
Did you also try to enable protocol decoding (serial decode option)?
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline 77algernon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ro
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #161 on: May 07, 2020, 12:58:38 pm »
Did you also try to enable protocol decoding (serial decode option)?

Hi, the MDO-s seem to have a dedicated button for bus decoding, guess it's already enabled? Or it seems that way, at least :)
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19649
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #162 on: May 07, 2020, 01:03:00 pm »
Did you also try to enable protocol decoding (serial decode option)?

Hi, the MDO-s seem to have a dedicated button for bus decoding, guess it's already enabled? Or it seems that way, at least :)
You can try to press it... AFAIK decoding is not available on the MDO2000 series but it could be GW Instek has enabled it anyway.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline 77algernon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ro
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #163 on: May 07, 2020, 01:24:25 pm »
I have the MDO-2074EG and pressing the "Bus" button shows the following:
985884-0

I have no experience with any other GWInstek scope, so I don't know if it's the same feature as the one that serial bus decoding unlocks on the DSO models.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19649
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #164 on: May 07, 2020, 02:33:13 pm »
OK, the MDO series seems to have decoding as well. Thanks for trying!
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Online paul002

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: nl
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #165 on: May 27, 2020, 10:49:46 am »
Sorry for late reply, but I think it serial decoding is already enabled. I could decode SPI as in attached picture.
 

Offline robohead

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #166 on: June 09, 2020, 12:38:56 am »
Has anyone come up with a solution to the "To install this option you must use the GW USB key." error?

I just got a 1054B and wanted to install the 100MHz upgrade.

In case it helps I'm using firmware v1.12 and the safe mode screen says I have FPGA version 77
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf