Author Topic: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack  (Read 14145 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Gazmon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: gb
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #75 on: March 12, 2019, 11:35:18 am »
What about the 200mhz bandwidth

 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #76 on: March 12, 2019, 08:37:10 pm »
If the scope says now it's 200MHz you can start to be confident that it is.

But you could check that if, for instance, you have access to a know source that achieves the 200MHz, or to a fast pulse generator, with a rise time of at least 1.75ns

RiseTime (nS) = 0.35 / Bandwidth (GHz) so for a BW of 0.2GHz (or 200MHz), the RT = 0.35/0.2 = 1.75 nS

Just for reference see the specs of the 2000E series, and observe the relationship between BW and RT

There's a TDR pulse generator video that is very popular, from a forum member w2aew, but I think it may be not fast enough to test the 200MHz


But don't forget what oscilloscope probes (or test leads) you are using, because they must be suited for those 200MHz. Try to find intel on your probes, since there's cases were they say they'r good up to 100MHz but they are fine even above 200MHz. The probes must not be the limiting factor.


Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline Gazmon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: gb
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #77 on: March 12, 2019, 09:52:07 pm »
Ok cheers , I only have a feeltech 3200 24 mhz Sig gen , so  don't think I can test it fully
And my  probes are 100mhz  I might need to upgrade them  to be sure?
« Last Edit: March 13, 2019, 03:13:43 am by Gazmon »
 

Offline Gazmon

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: gb
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #78 on: March 13, 2019, 03:12:41 am »
Just a note on the 200mhz upgrade

It could be just the software telling me this, and the hardware may not support anything above 100mhz?  as I cannot fully test it at present I cant confirm its really gone 200mhz, but be nice if it was confirmed

In Bandwidth options I now have `20mhz 100mhz+Full`


Where before it was only 20mhz and full
« Last Edit: March 13, 2019, 03:16:07 am by Gazmon »
 
The following users thanked this post: Mortymore

Offline slodat

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #79 on: March 24, 2019, 01:32:13 pm »
Does anyone have 1.12 they would be willing to share with me? I have a GDS-1054B.

Thanks in advance!
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #80 on: March 24, 2019, 09:04:06 pm »
Does anyone have 1.12 they would be willing to share with me? I have a GDS-1054B.

Thanks in advance!

Hi slodat

I believe you still can get it following the provided link on the 1st post of this thread.
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16941
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #81 on: March 24, 2019, 09:33:47 pm »
Does anyone have 1.12 they would be willing to share with me? I have a GDS-1054B.

Thanks in advance!
A few pages back there is a new key generator so you don;t have to downgrade.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline slodat

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #82 on: March 25, 2019, 01:43:44 am »
I’ve read the thread about thirty times. I can’t get the first lis.html to produce a license file on any browser I have. It just says failed to download.

And, I don’t know where the post 47 code snippet would be used. I’m not following. Anyone up for helping a guy out?
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #83 on: March 25, 2019, 02:18:57 am »
You probably are not actually changing the extension file from TXT to HTML. If using Windows you need to enable to show file extensions on folder options.

Don't downgrade the firmware and try to generate licences with the attached file DS1KB.txt, after rename it's extension from txt to html.

Hope I get it right. This should work for firmware above v1.18 of the 1000B, but you must expect that some of the licences won't probably work, like Power Analysis or BW300. You are free to try them all, though. If they don't work, no harm done.

You will need to know the serial number of your oscilloscope to generate licences.
Copy the files with the individual licences to a USB pen drive and install them on scope.
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline slodat

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #84 on: March 25, 2019, 04:26:23 am »
Thank you for the file. Looks like it's my web browser was causing me problems. I've generated the *.lis files and the scope says the license isn't the right version. hmm.. My GDS-1054B is v1.23. I get the same error on all of the .lis files. I double checked my serial number.

« Last Edit: March 25, 2019, 04:39:08 am by slodat »
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #85 on: March 25, 2019, 05:11:05 am »
According to this piece of code provided by tv48 on Reply #47...

            uint[] ClearCode = { 0x11111111, 0xABABABAB, 0x22222222, 0xCDCDCDCD };  // OLD -- GDS1000B (up to v1.18) and GDS2000E (up to v1.28)
            uint[] ClearCode = { 0x74B0DC51, 0x46E87CCD, 0x25E45D32, 0x515F007C };  // NEW

... for new firmware one should use the data from the 2nd string. For older (GDS1000B up to v1.18), the 1st string data.

In the file I previously provided, the data from 2nd string was used (for newer versions of firmware).

I think you might have missed something (or I went wrong somewhere in the file for 1000B), but if you want, you can try downgrade the firmware (to 1.12) and having modified the file replacing the data from one string with the other, generate new licences for old firmware. (see file attached)

All I can say is that the file I modified for the 2000E worked for me.
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16941
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #86 on: March 25, 2019, 05:24:36 am »
It is also possible the serial number was entered incorrectly (letter O instead of number 0 or vice versa).
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline frogblender

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 33
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #87 on: March 25, 2019, 02:27:04 pm »
ANYONE with a GDS-1054B:   after applying the hack, what is the actual BW?
 

Offline slodat

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #88 on: March 25, 2019, 03:22:33 pm »
It won’t unlock any of the features.

I’m having a problem with the filter app. It installed fine. When I go to use it sometimes the settings on the vertical menu are grayed out. Then, out of now where after using the scope they will be there, then another time I look they are greyed out..
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16941
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #89 on: March 25, 2019, 09:12:26 pm »
It won’t unlock any of the features.

I’m having a problem with the filter app. It installed fine. When I go to use it sometimes the settings on the vertical menu are grayed out. Then, out of now where after using the scope they will be there, then another time I look they are greyed out..
The filtering works for 1Mpts and shorter memory lengths.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline slodat

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #90 on: March 26, 2019, 01:25:59 am »
It won’t unlock any of the features.

I’m having a problem with the filter app. It installed fine. When I go to use it sometimes the settings on the vertical menu are grayed out. Then, out of now where after using the scope they will be there, then another time I look they are greyed out..
The filtering works for 1Mpts and shorter memory lengths.

I had it set at 1Mpts and three channels active. Controls were greyed out.  Hmm
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #91 on: March 26, 2019, 06:07:18 am »
I think I see what you're saying...

The "problem" is with the digitalfilter APP. In the screen capture attached I had a 4.1Mhz square signal with a record length of 10M pts and the filter setup is enabled.
Once enabled, it will continue enable above the 4.1 MHz if I don't hit the "autoset" button, but above that frequency (got it by trial and error), if I press the "autoset" the filter menu will be disabled. The actual filter settings seemed that have no effect. On the screen showed is set 60MHz, but I had it in the KHz range with the same result.

The parameters here may be different for you. I didn't bother to change amplitude or shape of the wave, but i tried different frequencies and record length, but in this the fast test I done seemed to me that the limitation was in frequency. If set 4.2MHz the menu was off. There may be a limit related with frequency vs record length but I have not done thorough tests. Just tried to get an idea of what might be going on.
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline Vytautas

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #92 on: March 26, 2019, 10:38:07 pm »
Hi, guys,
Thank you all for contributing. I just updated my GDS-2072E to 300MHz plus Spectrum Analizer, using the lis2 file (don't remember, on which page it was). Brilliant! Now it almost became MDO-2302 (official version does not exist, only 2202), except for the AWG hardware, naturally.
I have a question. The scope shows input impedance of 1M in a way that suggests as if there was an option to choose also the 50Ohms. But the button under that option does not do anything. Has anybody investigated whether that is also a matter of software lincense, like kicking in of some relay or is it a hardware limitation. I had not dissasembled my unit (yet), so have not had a chance to sneek in.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16941
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #93 on: March 26, 2019, 11:32:07 pm »
AFAIK the hardware doesn't support 50 Ohm. GW Instek seems to be using a very generic firmware base for their oscilloscopes so some disabled buttons may show up in some places.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2823
  • Country: de
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #94 on: March 26, 2019, 11:38:21 pm »
ANYONE with a GDS-1054B:   after applying the hack, what is the actual BW?
Msg #58

No, not really.  ???
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16941
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #95 on: March 26, 2019, 11:53:34 pm »
My GDS2204E goes over 300MHz with the 300MHz uphack. I'd expect the GDS1054B to also achieve the extra bandwidth.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: ebastler

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #96 on: March 27, 2019, 05:56:16 am »
After Vytautas stated that he updated his GDS-2072E to 300MHz, I start thinking about why was my IDS-2074E stuck to 200MHz.

I start playing with the most recent licences, because I updated my scope some time ago, before the latest code released by tv84. Messing around with them, the scope kept stating that the licenses were already installed, until... i tried the 100MHz. Result: my scope downgraded form 200 to 100. Nice!  :palm:
Trying to reinstall 200 or 300 licences didn't work. Scope "said" that they were already installed, but didn't get me there. It was stuck in 100MHz.   |O
OK! Time to play with the scope once again, to fix my mistake.  :box:

Solution:

I think it is sufficient to restore the /home/dso/OptionConf file if you want to remove the installed licenses.

1) Downgraded the firmware to 1.21b6 and establishing an SSL connection to the scope deleted the file OptionConf. EDIT: Be very careful not to delete all files or the folder
2) After that, just a quick check to system info, and the bandwidth info was gone (as expected).
3) Upgraded the firmware to the latest 1.38.
4) Installed licences (2nd version - tv84), among them the 300MHz BW and it was accepted this time.  :-+

I realise now that I certainly did the mistake of install the 200MHz the first time I upgraded my scope and that disabled the possibility to reach the 300MHz back then.
So... avoid playing with lower bandwidth licences if you don't want to restart the hack process again. 

But in the end, if it wasn't for my mistake, my scope would still be stuck in the 200MHz. Another lesson learned. I think   ::)

PS: Now I realize... the TEK P2220 and P2200 probes I was using with the scope, became "short". Any advise for some 300MHz probes?
« Last Edit: March 27, 2019, 07:52:18 am by Mortymore »
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #97 on: April 28, 2019, 07:59:48 pm »
Not to good input 2 replies in a row but this one has nothing to do with the previous.

Thing now is... casually found that Voltcraft has a series DSO-1000D that is for sure a rebranded  GW-Instek GDS-1000B

In the Conrad website found 2 versions:
VOLTCRAFT DSO-1074D Digital 70 MHz 4-channel 250 MSa/s 10 Mpts 8 Bit Digital storage (DSO), Spectrum analyzer
VOLTCRAFT DSO-1104D Digital 100 MHz 4-channel 250 MSa/s 10 Mpts 8 Bit Digital storage (DSO), Spectrum analyzer

The "title" is curious.
1st advertised as being "4-channel 250 MSa/s", an honest way to put things, since it will be what you get with 4 channels active, but the usual way is more like "4ch and 1GSa/s", being 1GSa/s attained with only 1 channel active.
2nd the Spectrum Analyzer. Was this option available on any of the GW-Instek 1000B variants? Or only by hack added?

Decided to share this information since it could be of interest to someone that has one of this Voltcraft scopes, and through Google may end up here in Eevblog forum.

PS: As far as I know, we have as rebranded GW-Instek 1000B or 2000E the following: Iso-Tech, RS Pro and Voltcraft
« Last Edit: April 29, 2019, 03:13:50 am by Mortymore »
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline Herbertl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: at
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #98 on: April 29, 2019, 01:24:19 am »
It seems like the options and bandwidth upgrades (up to 300 MHz) can be unlocked using a file in a USB drive. I was wondering if someone is willing to share the newer firmware update (in case the unlock feature is removed) and possibly test the unlock files.

Interesting.

Is GwInstek recommendable? The specs sound good, the price too.
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #99 on: April 29, 2019, 03:27:39 am »
...
Is GwInstek recommendable? The specs sound good, the price too.

Recommendable as a scope in the $500 range, yes. If it's the best for you, depends on what you are looking for and your preferences.
There are a few threads in the forum about GW-Instek vs Rigol vs Siglent, mostly, since they are probably the brands in this price range that are most searched.
Take a look at them, but don't get scared by some passionate opinions you may find in the way.  :rant: It's all Eevblog family affairs.  :popcorn:
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf