Author Topic: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack  (Read 13963 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tonywood

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #100 on: April 30, 2019, 07:36:26 am »
Can someone send me an unhacked OptionConf file? I need to undo the hack for testing. Thank you
Or if anyone knows a way to undo the bandwidth option?

Thanks again
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #101 on: April 30, 2019, 07:49:24 am »
...
Or if anyone knows a way to undo the bandwidth option?
...

See 4 posts back (Reply #96)

Basically, install a firmware that enables you to establishing an SSL connection to the scope and then delete the file OptionConf
Be very careful not to delete all files or the folder
« Last Edit: April 30, 2019, 07:53:01 am by Mortymore »
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #102 on: April 30, 2019, 07:57:14 am »
I received my GDS1054B today with firmware 1.23.  License generated by the latest script gives invalid license error.  Trying to downgrade to 1.12 but scope says I need to use SAFE MODE, but there is no documentation about it.  Does anyone know how to downgrade from 1.23 or what SAFE MODE means?

 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 691
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #103 on: April 30, 2019, 08:02:32 am »
I received my GDS1054B today with firmware 1.23.  License generated by the latest script gives invalid license error.  Trying to downgrade to 1.12 but scope says I need to use SAFE MODE, but there is no documentation about it.  Does anyone know how to downgrade from 1.23 or what SAFE MODE means?

RTFM

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/possible-gw-instek-gds-1000b-hack/msg2007089/#msg2007089
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #104 on: April 30, 2019, 09:09:33 am »
The new code does not work for firmware 1.23.  I managed to downgrade to FW 1.12 by using SAFE MODE:

(SAFE MODE Documentation): http://www.gwinstek.com.cn/upload/file/20181119051939962.pdf

0) Clear content of USB Drive
1) Copy firmware to root directory of USB Drive
2) Insert USB Drive to scope (when it is turned off)
3) Turn on scope and immediately start rotating the VARIABLE knob until SAFE MODE shows up.  It will recognize the firmware file and ask user to start installing it.  If there are multiple .upg files, it will show the first one, then ask if user wants to install current one or find next firmware
4) The manual says the scope will reboot automatically, but on mine, it just stopped after showing that NAND flash was completed.
5) Reboot scope and it should boot with the firmware version you copied to the USB Drive

This process is supposed to works also for bricked scopes.

After I downgraded to 1.12, I was able to use the code to enable all the options. 

Now the scope is bricked again when I tried to upgrade to latest firmware 1.23

Will try to unbrick it using the SAFE MODE with 1.12 and try again.

EDIT: Using SAFE MODE I was able to reinstall FW 1.12.  Previously activated licenses are still valid.
EDIT2: upgrading to 1.23 does not work using the Utility option.  It works from SAFE Mode.
EDIT3: SAFE MODE allows you to select different firmware files to use for recovery.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2019, 09:52:57 am by TK »
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9648
  • Country: 00
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #105 on: April 30, 2019, 05:57:44 pm »
My GDS2204E goes over 300MHz with the 300MHz uphack. I'd expect the GDS1054B to also achieve the extra bandwidth.

Is that a good thing when you have such limited sample rate?

With 4 channels on the bandwidth will be higher than the sample rate.
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #106 on: April 30, 2019, 06:32:39 pm »
... I need to use SAFE MODE, but there is no documentation about it.  Does anyone know how to downgrade from 1.23 or what SAFE MODE means?

...
(SAFE MODE Documentation): http://www.gwinstek.com.cn/upload/file/20181119051939962.pdf
...

You don't need to "go to China" to find manuals, firmware, software... just go to Download area @:

https://www.gwinstek.com/en-global/products/detail/GDS-1000B

The documentation for upgrading firmware is there, has everything else

Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 
The following users thanked this post: TK

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 691
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #107 on: April 30, 2019, 08:16:45 pm »
The new code does not work for firmware 1.23.

If anyone confirms this I could try to give it another look.
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #108 on: April 30, 2019, 08:43:21 pm »
The new code does not work for firmware 1.23.

If anyone confirms this I could try to give it another look.
It was reported one month or so ago, but I don't know what was the outcome

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/possible-gw-instek-gds-1000b-hack/msg2293365/#msg2293365
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 691
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #109 on: April 30, 2019, 08:59:05 pm »
It was reported one month or so ago, but I don't know what was the outcome

"don't know what was the outcome" <- that was the reason why I didn't pay attention
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #110 on: April 30, 2019, 11:42:41 pm »
I tested the BW after applying the 300MHz hack.

Test setup:

Signal Generator (Marconi 2024) --> SMA cable --> SMA_BNC --> 50ohm passthrough --> Scope input Channel 1 (1X attenuation)

Measured Frequency and Vpp

10MHz 1.2Vpp
100MHz 900mVpp (-3dB)
200MHz 280mVpp
250MHz 110mVpp
300MHz 48mVpp
350MHz 20mVpp (5mV vertical division setting)

Cannot measure reliable frequency at 400MHz and up.  I think officially it is a 100MHz front end.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2019, 11:56:21 pm by TK »
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #111 on: May 01, 2019, 01:41:45 am »
@TK

What are the bandwidth limit options with the 300MHz BW hack?

For the 200MHz, options are 20,100,Full.
Note that GW-Instek has the 1000B with 50/70/100MHz bandwidth selections.
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #112 on: May 01, 2019, 04:41:12 am »
@TK

What are the bandwidth limit options with the 300MHz BW hack?

For the 200MHz, options are 20,100,Full.
Note that GW-Instek has the 1000B with 50/70/100MHz bandwidth selections.
For 300MHz, BW limitation options are 20, 100, 200, Full.
 
The following users thanked this post: Mortymore

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #113 on: May 01, 2019, 10:01:15 am »
I am not liking the refresh rate of the GDS1054B.  I am feeding an AM modulated signal and on both the Keysight 1000X and Rigol DS1054Z I can see a nice AM modulated waveform but on the GDS1054B I see single traces or at most 3-4 traces, but not the nice area filled trace like the other scopes.

The scope UI is very responsive like the Keysight, but I suspect the refresh rate is not near 50,000 wfm/s
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16934
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #114 on: May 01, 2019, 06:20:31 pm »
The update rate depends on the memory depth setting. But don't expect a very graded signal. The GW Instek goes from like 50% to 100% in order not to hide any rare signal occurence.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3043
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #115 on: May 01, 2019, 06:56:28 pm »
I am not liking the refresh rate of the GDS1054B.  I am feeding an AM modulated signal and on both the Keysight 1000X and Rigol DS1054Z I can see a nice AM modulated waveform but on the GDS1054B I see single traces or at most 3-4 traces, but not the nice area filled trace like the other scopes.

The scope UI is very responsive like the Keysight, but I suspect the refresh rate is not near 50,000 wfm/s

Do you mean using time base setting for look AM modulated RF carrier waveform or for look signal LF modulating envelope. Bit different cases.
Then, what ever scope,  these up to wfm/s speeds are mostly valid only with some special settings and signals (including also Keysight).  Very easy true is 50, or 500 or 5000 instead of 50kwfm/s or what ever.

Other question is that how important is beautiful image vs image what still give enough  information about signal under test.

Also in many scopes need some "know your equipment" before can find most optimal settings. (as can see example in tens or hundreds of junktube  nonsense "reviews" when the author's self-criticism and knowledge is not enough to assess whether it is published for the whole world or not. The world is drowning in a shit and in "tube" a small good "golden" part need find from huge amount of waste.)



« Last Edit: May 01, 2019, 07:15:01 pm by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #116 on: May 03, 2019, 07:45:24 am »
After the hack my GDS1054B is freezing when I try to execute Self Cal.  I connect the BNC cable from the CAL output on the back to CH1, press VERTICAL and it hangs.  Is anyone else experiencing a similar behavior?  My unit came with 1.23, downgraded to 1.12, hacked, then upgraded to 1.23

Signal Path Compensation runs perfectly.
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #117 on: May 03, 2019, 08:40:02 am »
The calibration process will take some 5 minutes per channel, or so, and probably during calibration the scope may not respond to buttons pressed (just guessing here).
Have you waited longer than 5 or 6 minutes for him to finish calibrating one of the channels?
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #118 on: May 03, 2019, 10:01:54 am »
Yes, I waited for 20-30 minutes or more

EDIT: Downgraded to 1.12.  Still not working.  It might be the 300MHz uphack.  Is there any way to remove the licenses?
« Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 11:10:44 pm by TK »
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16934
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: TK

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #120 on: May 04, 2019, 01:46:34 am »
False Alarm... it was a bad BNC cable   |O |O |O.  Self Calibration works OK on firmware 1.23 (and 1.12 as well).
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16934
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #121 on: May 04, 2019, 01:48:12 am »
Cut the cable in half and throw it away. BNC cables are plentyful and cheap on Ebay.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Mortymore

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #122 on: May 04, 2019, 03:25:32 am »
If I recall correctly, I think Bob Pease once said that he marked bad components with a hammer.
If left lying around unmarked, they tend to be inserted again on a circuit.
Because I'm only human... A mistake is not the problem. Not learn from it and not trying to correct it, is.
Don't be afraid to make mistakes, or you will end up doing nothing, being scared to even try to do something.
Don't search for excuses for your mistakes. Find solutions.
 
The following users thanked this post: rf-loop

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3043
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #123 on: May 04, 2019, 03:29:12 am »
Cut the cable in half and throw it away. BNC cables are plentyful and cheap on Ebay.

Oh you want more bad crap BNC cables.  :-DD
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16934
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #124 on: May 04, 2019, 04:02:47 am »
Cut the cable in half and throw it away. BNC cables are plentyful and cheap on Ebay.
Oh you want more bad crap BNC cables.  :-DD
Well the cables I get from Ebay are way better then what I bought locally (unless you go for the utterly cheap ones on Ebay). Cables are consumables anyway.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf