Author Topic: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack  (Read 15521 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Herbertl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: at
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #125 on: May 05, 2019, 09:28:52 pm »
Is there a chance to configure the GwInstek? Like you can do with other scope?
Would like to configure it individually.
The offers in the store have features I do not need and are missing features I do want.
 

Offline ttyridal

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: no
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #126 on: May 06, 2019, 04:22:34 pm »
It was reported one month or so ago, but I don't know what was the outcome

"don't know what was the outcome" <- that was the reason why I didn't pay attention

I can confirm that firmware 1.23 does not like the latest codes.   

Downgrading to 1.12, apply desired licenses and upgrading works fine.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17419
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #127 on: May 06, 2019, 05:09:09 pm »
Hmmm... that proves that GW Instek is monitoring EEVblog  ;D
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 796
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #128 on: May 07, 2019, 06:52:16 pm »
Hmmm... that proves that GW Instek is monitoring EEVblog  ;D

The new codes were released after 1.23 release date...

Edit: But it seems I overlooked another code combination...
« Last Edit: May 07, 2019, 08:15:49 pm by tv84 »
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17419
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #129 on: May 07, 2019, 07:02:44 pm »
Hmmm... that proves that GW Instek is monitoring EEVblog  ;D
The new codes were released after 1.23 release date...
Well then it seems people are doing things wrong. I was assuming 1.23 was a new firmware version but appearantly it is not.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline ttyridal

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: no
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #130 on: May 07, 2019, 07:32:18 pm »
It's possible I overlooked something of course.

I just replaced the four numbers in lis.txt (reply #3) with the ones given in reply #47

Reasonably sure I had the serial number correct both times (no homoglyphs in it)
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1098
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #131 on: May 07, 2019, 08:04:38 pm »
It did not work on my GDS-1054B with firmware 1.23 

I had to downgrade it to 1.12, apply the hack and upgrade to 1.23

And upgrade does not work when executed from the utility menu, it only works when using SAFE MODE.

But fortunately using SAFE MODE you can downgrade and upgrade from any version to any other version.

I also tested SSH on 1.12 to remove the options file and it works OK.
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 796
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #132 on: May 07, 2019, 08:11:00 pm »
Sorry guys, maybe I overlooked something and there is another combination...   ::)

uint[] ClearCode = { 0x3D1B58BA, 0x74B0DC51, 0x19495CFF, 0x257130A3 };

Can anyone test this with a v1.23 ?

Edit1:

Thanks wgoeo for the test. It seems i mixed the order...  :palm:  Endianess stuff...

So the correct order is:

uint[] ClearCode = { 0x19495CFF, 0x257130A3, 0x3D1B58BA, 0x74B0DC51 };
« Last Edit: July 21, 2019, 11:11:50 am by tv84 »
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1098
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #133 on: May 07, 2019, 09:31:15 pm »
Sorry guys, maybe I overlooked something and there is another combination...   ::)

uint[] ClearCode = { 0x3D1B58BA, 0x74B0DC51, 0x19495CFF, 0x257130A3 };

Can anyone test this with a v1.23 ?
It doesn't work.  I downgraded to 1.12, connected using ssh, removed OptionsConf file to remove previous licenses, upgraded to 1.23 using SAFE MODE, tried applying new license code but it gives the same error.
 
The following users thanked this post: tv84

Offline frogblender

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #134 on: May 23, 2019, 05:41:00 pm »
Quote from: TK
TK....  what's the latest with your GDS-1054B?   Is the hack working, and if so, what is your BW?
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1098
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #135 on: May 23, 2019, 07:38:33 pm »
Quote from: TK
TK....  what's the latest with your GDS-1054B?   Is the hack working, and if so, what is your BW?
The last time I checked, I was able to measure frequency up to 300-350MHz, highly attenuated.  I don't have it anymore to continue the tests.
 

Offline wgoeo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: 00
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #136 on: July 20, 2019, 10:56:41 pm »
I think the correct order is

{0x19495cff, 0x257130a3, 0x3d1b58ba, 0x74b0dc51}

I checked with 1.24 (but not with a real scope), maybe it also works with 1.23.
 
The following users thanked this post: tv84

Offline wgoeo

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: 00
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #137 on: July 21, 2019, 02:03:33 am »
It seems you can get SSH back. Rename the attached file to debug.dbg, copy to a USB drive then do the same procedure. The password may have changed but you can probably add a command in the script to change it.

Edit: It's a startup script so you should reboot.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2019, 02:17:58 am by wgoeo »
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 796
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #138 on: July 21, 2019, 11:13:06 am »
Thankx! I corrected the initial post.
 

Offline frogblender

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #139 on: August 21, 2019, 03:04:33 pm »
I got my unit today GDS-1054b, it came with firmware 1.19 so I downgraded to 1.18 and installed the *.lis files and verified they were working. I then upgraded to firmware 1.22 and all the options were still installed and work. Thanks to all for the help on this. Looks like you keep the added features with a firmware update.

@tonywood ... after modding your GDS-1054B...  is it still a 50Mhz scope?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf