Author Topic: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack  (Read 13960 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Herbertl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: at
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #125 on: May 06, 2019, 07:28:52 am »
Is there a chance to configure the GwInstek? Like you can do with other scope?
Would like to configure it individually.
The offers in the store have features I do not need and are missing features I do want.
 

Offline ttyridal

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: no
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #126 on: May 07, 2019, 02:22:34 am »
It was reported one month or so ago, but I don't know what was the outcome

"don't know what was the outcome" <- that was the reason why I didn't pay attention

I can confirm that firmware 1.23 does not like the latest codes.   

Downgrading to 1.12, apply desired licenses and upgrading works fine.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16933
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #127 on: May 07, 2019, 03:09:09 am »
Hmmm... that proves that GW Instek is monitoring EEVblog  ;D
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 691
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #128 on: May 08, 2019, 04:52:16 am »
Hmmm... that proves that GW Instek is monitoring EEVblog  ;D

The new codes were released after 1.23 release date...

Edit: But it seems I overlooked another code combination...
« Last Edit: May 08, 2019, 06:15:49 am by tv84 »
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16933
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #129 on: May 08, 2019, 05:02:44 am »
Hmmm... that proves that GW Instek is monitoring EEVblog  ;D
The new codes were released after 1.23 release date...
Well then it seems people are doing things wrong. I was assuming 1.23 was a new firmware version but appearantly it is not.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline ttyridal

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: no
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #130 on: May 08, 2019, 05:32:18 am »
It's possible I overlooked something of course.

I just replaced the four numbers in lis.txt (reply #3) with the ones given in reply #47

Reasonably sure I had the serial number correct both times (no homoglyphs in it)
 

Online TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #131 on: May 08, 2019, 06:04:38 am »
It did not work on my GDS-1054B with firmware 1.23 

I had to downgrade it to 1.12, apply the hack and upgrade to 1.23

And upgrade does not work when executed from the utility menu, it only works when using SAFE MODE.

But fortunately using SAFE MODE you can downgrade and upgrade from any version to any other version.

I also tested SSH on 1.12 to remove the options file and it works OK.
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 691
  • Country: pt
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #132 on: May 08, 2019, 06:11:00 am »
Sorry guys, maybe I overlooked something and there is another combination...   ::)

uint[] ClearCode = { 0x3D1B58BA, 0x74B0DC51, 0x19495CFF, 0x257130A3 };

Can anyone test this with a v1.23 ?
 

Online TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #133 on: May 08, 2019, 07:31:15 am »
Sorry guys, maybe I overlooked something and there is another combination...   ::)

uint[] ClearCode = { 0x3D1B58BA, 0x74B0DC51, 0x19495CFF, 0x257130A3 };

Can anyone test this with a v1.23 ?
It doesn't work.  I downgraded to 1.12, connected using ssh, removed OptionsConf file to remove previous licenses, upgraded to 1.23 using SAFE MODE, tried applying new license code but it gives the same error.
 
The following users thanked this post: tv84

Offline frogblender

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 33
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #134 on: May 24, 2019, 03:41:00 am »
Quote from: TK
TK....  what's the latest with your GDS-1054B?   Is the hack working, and if so, what is your BW?
 

Online TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1057
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Possible GW Instek GDS-1000B hack
« Reply #135 on: May 24, 2019, 05:38:33 am »
Quote from: TK
TK....  what's the latest with your GDS-1054B?   Is the hack working, and if so, what is your BW?
The last time I checked, I was able to measure frequency up to 300-350MHz, highly attenuated.  I don't have it anymore to continue the tests.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf