Author Topic: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz  (Read 40023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9541
  • Country: gb
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #25 on: August 30, 2016, 11:06:52 pm »
Sorry I have not provided any feedback on this software yet. I am buried in thermal camera repairs so have not had time to play with it yet.

I will provide feedback as soon as I get some spare time.

Many thanks for your hard work on this

Fraser
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2016, 09:35:49 am »
Sorry I have not provided any feedback on this software yet. I am buried in thermal camera repairs so have not had time to play with it yet.

I will provide feedback as soon as I get some spare time.

Many thanks for your hard work on this

Fraser

I read your post about the thermal imaging repair... Now THAT seemed to me like hard work! I found it particularily cool that you have acess to X-ray machine.  :-+

Regards,
Vitor

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9541
  • Country: gb
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2016, 10:00:53 am »
If you like my use of X-Ray, I produced a thread full of pictures that I have taken with both my original and newer Faxitron MX-20 machines.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/the-x-ray-image-thread-by-aurora-various-electronics-via-x-ray-imaging/msg748531/#msg748531

Fraser
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19838
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #28 on: September 08, 2016, 10:40:52 pm »
I tried to run the software but Windows says it isn't a valid .EXE file! Also the .exe is only 35kB and that seems a bit low. I'd expect an exe of several MB at least.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #29 on: September 11, 2016, 11:50:46 am »
Hi,

The executable inside the ZIP Archive is indeed only 35kB! It was done in Visual Studio .net 2012 using VB .net. It does not require any installation or additional files. The little data it needs to store (currently just the activation code and the serial port) resides in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\SMA Simple Spectrum.

You do need to have a modern Windows version with .net Runtime installed. I have not tested the executable in older Windows releases! Not sure if it runs in Windows XP.

If you get an invalid *.EXE file error, you are either using an older Windows version, don't have .net installed or have a corrupt download.

Regards,
Vitor

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19838
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #30 on: September 11, 2016, 01:07:28 pm »
Aha, ofcourse I tried to run it in XP! Does it run out of the box on Windows 10 (32 bit)? If not what .net installer do I need to install first?
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #31 on: September 11, 2016, 01:14:24 pm »
It certainly run out of the box on my Windows 10 @ 32bit tablet (x86).

It is actually nice to use the software on a tablet with an OTG-adapter, as you get a really small setup. It's what I use when travelling.

Regards,
Vitor

Offline R005T3r

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 387
  • Country: it
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #32 on: September 11, 2016, 01:43:13 pm »
The link on filedropper.com don't redirect correctly.

Anyway, thanks....
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #33 on: September 11, 2016, 03:17:17 pm »
The link on my blog (last post) works OK: http://www.filedropper.com/smasimplespectrumanalyzer-2016-08-31

Just tested it myself and the zip contains an executable which opens fine.

Regards,
Vitor

Offline R005T3r

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 387
  • Country: it
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #34 on: September 11, 2016, 04:51:15 pm »
Confirmed. It works.  :) :-+
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19838
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #35 on: September 11, 2016, 06:05:47 pm »
Unfortunately my SMA SA does absolutely nothing with the software  :'( There is no signal output at all when used as a generator.
There is also no indication whether if it has the right firmware, whether it is communicating OK and so on.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2016, 06:11:27 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #36 on: September 11, 2016, 06:09:04 pm »
As far as I know, there is only one firmware, or, to be correct: all FW version identify themselves as "119" (literally sending one Byte &D119)...

Which device do you have? Did you configure the correct COM-port? Did you connect a signal in the IN-port?

With my software there is literally nothing to install or configure: just start it and select the correct COM-port. Hit the START button on the first tab and you should see something.

Send me a screenshot!

Regards,
Vitor

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19838
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #37 on: September 11, 2016, 06:12:00 pm »
I want to use it as a generator.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19838
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #38 on: September 11, 2016, 07:38:22 pm »
I tried a signal from an RF generator connected to the input as well but still no-go.

Edit: I think my unit is broken. The original software shows nothing as well. I'm going to resurrect my own signal generator board; this is turning into a time sink and all I want to do is do a quick sweep to see if my spectrum analyser is working.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2016, 08:02:32 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #39 on: September 11, 2016, 07:50:33 pm »
The signal output doesn't show anything on the screen: you just activate it with the SET button and that's it.
Even without a signal present on the input connecter, the spectrum should show the noise floor.

Perhaps your device is seriously broken? Does it work with WinNWT?

Regards,
Vitor

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19838
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #40 on: September 11, 2016, 08:03:14 pm »
The original software (which is an utter mess indeed) does nothing as well.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #41 on: September 11, 2016, 08:05:54 pm »
Sounds like a broken device.

If you go to the Device Manager, do you see the COM-port?

Does the green LED turn on, when you connect the device to the USB port?

Do you get an error message with my software? Did you select the correct COM-port?

Regards,
Vitor

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19838
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #42 on: September 11, 2016, 08:31:11 pm »
Yes, yes and yes. The original software (running on Linux) also shows the firmware version so I guess the communication is working. I'm going to return it.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #43 on: October 02, 2016, 03:29:35 pm »
Hi,

Just updated my software with a new function: it now shows the RWB value.

Download link on my blog, together with a small explanation of why you select Samples instead of RWB.

Regards,
Vitor

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8596
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #44 on: October 03, 2016, 10:47:56 pm »
Thanks for the update, Vitor. You meant RBW, correct?
I TEA.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #45 on: October 04, 2016, 06:16:05 am »
Yes.  :palm:
 
The following users thanked this post: Heartbreaker

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #46 on: October 04, 2016, 11:22:32 pm »
Today I made some major improvements with the graphics.

Download available at http://www.filedropper.com/smasimplespectrumanalyzer-2016-10-04

Regards,
Vitor
 
The following users thanked this post: bitseeker

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #47 on: October 05, 2016, 11:57:03 am »
Here is a video showing of the latest software release. The video shows the ASTRA 19.2E satellite spectrum.

https://youtu.be/4edLLw_7NRg

Regards,
Vitor

Offline vordme

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: es
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #48 on: October 09, 2016, 05:11:26 pm »
Hi Vitor,
congratulations for this nice job..
here testing 430 Mhz antenna
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 994
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Presenting my new software for the SMA Spectrum Analyzer 138MHz-4.4GHz
« Reply #49 on: October 09, 2016, 06:24:05 pm »
 :-+

Thanks for sharing!

Nice to see some use for the SMA Simple Spectrum Analyzer!

Question: is the software easy enough to understand the different functionality or is a manual required?

Regards,
Vitor


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf