Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 467736 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #100 on: April 10, 2020, 07:28:16 am »
Has anybody managed to use a "Keysight U1273A" so far? I use version 0.24.

I have no problem to use a "Fluke 289" or "Agilent U1272A" - anything works fine. The "Keysight U1273A" is also detected immediately, however, when trying to log anything, the table only shows:

 index | time | minute | dateTime ...but no measured value at all? All DMMs are also in the "Remap handles" list with their SN and there is only one DMM enabled.

It is not that essential, but for curiosity I would like to know the reason - any hint is appreciated.


Best wishes.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #101 on: April 10, 2020, 10:40:27 am »
Has anybody managed to use a "Keysight U1273A" so far? I use version 0.24.

I have no problem to use a "Fluke 289" or "Agilent U1272A" - anything works fine. The "Keysight U1273A" is also detected immediately, however, when trying to log anything, the table only shows:

 index | time | minute | dateTime ...but no measured value at all?

It is not that essential, but for curiosity I would like to know the reason - any hint is appreciated.

I added it because I have it working with Agilent U1272A and I assumed the full series used exactly the same protocol.
I have tested with: U1233A, U1272A*, U1281A, U1282A, U1461A and found two different protocols.

When I upload the next version later today try starting it in debug mode and send me the result.

All DMMs are also in the "Remap handles" list with their SN and there is only one DMM enabled.
The remap is only needed when you do not like my handle names. This may happen if you have multiple devices of the same type.

 
The following users thanked this post: PushUp

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #102 on: April 10, 2020, 12:06:10 pm »
V0.29 is up.
It got a new way to make the interface wait for devices to process their commands: [*OPC], it can be used between SCPI commands and will wait until all commands before it is processed.
The startup debug mode has been improved a bit, it did not log all communication before.
I have been looking a bit on the interface section and added a test form for them, it is on the "Popups" button. The test form can also generate a configuration script for a device.
I have explained the #interfaceType in the documentation.
 
The following users thanked this post: PushUp, tubularnut, MikeLud

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 478
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #103 on: April 10, 2020, 12:37:56 pm »
Whoa! Really nice software!
When i have time i check how to interface it with my fluke 87, korad 3305p, kel103 dc load and maybe other things
 

Offline Jester

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 859
  • Country: ca
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #104 on: April 10, 2020, 02:20:07 pm »
Kudos to you  :-+ :-+

Up and running in a blink with a 34401A

The last time I used the Keysight equivalent I needed to install umpteen giga bytes of bloatware and had to call support to get it working.

Thank You
 

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 478
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #105 on: April 10, 2020, 08:12:50 pm »
For Fluke 87 (and i think 89) is sufficient to copy the section of the 187 on FlukeDMM18x28x.txt and change the 187 (or 189) with 87 (or 89). Tested working perfectly
 
The following users thanked this post: jord4231

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #106 on: April 10, 2020, 08:25:08 pm »
For Fluke 87 (and i think 89) is sufficient to copy the section of the 187 on FlukeDMM18x28x.txt and change the 187 (or 189) with 87 (or 89). Tested working perfectly

I need somebody to say it works and I will add it to the definition.
I suppose you tested the 87, i.e. added these lines:

#metadef
#idString Fluke,Fluke 87,
#name Fluke 87
#handle F87
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 218
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #107 on: April 10, 2020, 08:56:37 pm »
HKJ,

Any luck getting the Brymen meters working


Hmm. That either means I had a different version of the documentation, or I screwed up, or that the command doesn't actually matter as long as the meter receives something...  :-\

I was not aware the code changes between the meters. I was working with the 525 and looking in that document, now I will have to dig out the 869 before I test more (They use the same USB interface).
« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 09:00:11 pm by MikeLud »
 

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 478
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #108 on: April 10, 2020, 08:58:20 pm »
This is what i've added:
Code: [Select]
#metadef

#idString Fluke,Fluke 87,
#name Fluke 87
#handle F87
#subDriver 1
#baudrate 9600

100% working on Fluke 87. The 89 is almost the same device so i think that can work only changing to "89" like in 187/189
« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 09:15:18 pm by masterx81 »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #109 on: April 10, 2020, 09:10:18 pm »
HKJ,

Any luck getting the Brymen meters working

I have not looked at them again with the new information, I will first have time after Easter.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #110 on: April 10, 2020, 09:11:13 pm »
100% working on Fluke 87. The 89 is almost the same device so i think that can work only changing to "89" like in 187/187

I will include this in the next release.
 
The following users thanked this post: masterx81

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #111 on: April 11, 2020, 01:26:29 am »
Quote from: HKJ

When I upload the next version later today try starting it in debug mode and send me the result.


As I have never done a debug before, this is what I have got with version 0.29...
I turned the rotary switch in both directions, logging any third second (maybe some values are duplicated).

pic.1 = before

During this procedure it suddenly worked (pic.2) and I also had the trendchart graph, so that I also got the measured items in the "Scales for chart" list (pic.3), however, I couldn't repeat this anymore...

;; Found Keysight U1273A on USB-Serial Controller (COM4) sn: MY...

#debug k1273
;; +modeComm +valueComm +otherComm +commHex
;; K1273: Tx <CONF?> 43 4F 4E 46 3F
;; K1273: Rx <"VOLT:AC +3.00000000E+00,+1.00000000E-04"> 22 56 4F 4C 54 3A 41 43 20 2B 33 2E 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2B 30 30 2C 2B 31 2E 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2D 30 34 22
;; K1273: Rx after :readmath: (value=="\"RES,8\"")?"nS":getElement(unQuote(value),0,",")+getElement(unQuote(value),2,","); <VOLT:AC +3.00000000E+00>

***Unfortunately "SPOILER" does not work?!***  :(

[SPOILER]
;; K1273: Tx <CONF?> 43 4F 4E 46 3F
;; K1273: Rx Timeout
;; K1273: Rx after :readmath: (value=="\"RES,8\"")?"nS":getElement(unQuote(value),0,",")+getElement(unQuote(value),2,","); <>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx Timeout
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <NaN>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx Timeout
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <NaN>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+7.73711000E-03> 2B 37 2E 37 33 37 31 31 30 30 30 45 2D 30 33
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <0.00773711>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+7.15034000E-03> 2B 37 2E 31 35 30 33 34 30 30 30 45 2D 30 33
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <0.00715034>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+2.41845000E-03> 2B 32 2E 34 31 38 34 35 30 30 30 45 2D 30 33
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <0.00241845>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <-1.03337000E-03> 2D 31 2E 30 33 33 33 37 30 30 30 45 2D 30 33
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <-0.00103337>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+3.65669000E-04> 2B 33 2E 36 35 36 36 39 30 30 30 45 2D 30 34
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <3.65669E-4>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+9.90000000E+37> 2B 39 2E 39 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2B 33 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <9.9E37>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+9.90000000E+37> 2B 39 2E 39 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2B 33 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <9.9E37>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+9.90000000E+37> 2B 39 2E 39 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2B 33 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <9.9E37>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+9.90000000E+37> 2B 39 2E 39 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2B 33 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <9.9E37>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+4.13511000E-12> 2B 34 2E 31 33 35 31 31 30 30 30 45 2D 31 32
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <4.13511E-12>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <-6.36479000E-07> 2D 36 2E 33 36 34 37 39 30 30 30 45 2D 30 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <-6.36479E-7>
;; *10
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <-6.10228000E-09> 2D 36 2E 31 30 32 32 38 30 30 30 45 2D 30 39
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <-6.10228E-9>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <-6.79764000E-09> 2D 36 2E 37 39 37 36 34 30 30 30 45 2D 30 39
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <-6.79764E-9>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <-6.16485000E-07> 2D 36 2E 31 36 34 38 35 30 30 30 45 2D 30 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <-6.16485E-7>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+7.30545000E-12> 2B 37 2E 33 30 35 34 35 30 30 30 45 2D 31 32
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <7.30545E-12>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+9.90000000E+37> 2B 39 2E 39 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2B 33 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <9.9E37>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+9.90000000E+37> 2B 39 2E 39 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 45 2B 33 37
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <9.9E37>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+4.04093000E-04> 2B 34 2E 30 34 30 39 33 30 30 30 45 2D 30 34
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <4.04093E-4>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <-6.42135000E-04> 2D 36 2E 34 32 31 33 35 30 30 30 45 2D 30 34
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <-6.42135E-4>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+2.25822000E-03> 2B 32 2E 32 35 38 32 32 30 30 30 45 2D 30 33
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <0.00225822>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx <+7.26917000E-03> 2B 37 2E 32 36 39 31 37 30 30 30 45 2D 30 33
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <0.00726917>
;; K1273: Tx <FETC?> 46 45 54 43 3F
;; K1273: Rx Timeout
;; K1273: Rx as numbers <NaN>

[/SPOILER]
« Last Edit: April 11, 2020, 01:31:49 am by PushUp »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #112 on: April 11, 2020, 04:12:07 pm »
I believe it is fixed now, it was a very simple problem and it exist in more Keysight/Agilent meters.

Each meter is based on one of two definitions:
#metadef Keysight U1461A
#metadef Agilent U1272A
And I had used the wrong one, because I believed that 1272 & 1273 would use the same protocol.

I did get some time to add a function more, it is in the "Popups" and is a readout of a value that can be placed anywhere on the screen.

In the above I have placed two of them. It is possible to adjust size, colors, transparency and what value to show. Click and drag on them to move, right click to adjust settings.

Current version is now 0.30.

 
The following users thanked this post: enut11

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #113 on: April 11, 2020, 05:32:42 pm »
Absolutely brilliant!  :-+ Now, anything is perfect with the Keysight model U1273A.

Due to "TestController" the devices achieve another dimension, which the original software from Fluke for example couldn't ever reach!!!
When the quarantine is over, I will send you a paysafecard as a little "Thank you!".

Thank you very much!  :D
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #114 on: April 11, 2020, 06:02:45 pm »
Absolutely brilliant!  :-+ Now, anything is perfect with the Keysight model U1273A.

Due to "TestController" the devices achieve another dimension, which the original software from Fluke for example couldn't ever reach!!!

My purpose with the software is to test devices, using my collection of equipment. The software is not ready for that yet, I need to do more with scripting and direct logging to disk.
But I enjoy added functionality, especially when I can do it fairly easy like the last "Readouts" function. If I get more ideas for useful popups I will add them if feasible.

I do not like the Fluke software. I bought it and tried it, then I wrote my own (Fluke software is designed to write reports, not to log). And with Keysight I hate having a licensing server that is always running in the background (It also installs a lot of software).

When the quarantine is over, I will send you a paysafecard as a little "Thank you!".

The easiest way to donate something to me it with paypal. Anyway around her we do not have a hard lock down, but it is effective enough and will start to be relaxed after Easter.

 

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 478
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #115 on: April 12, 2020, 12:10:42 am »
Sorry for the question, but for multimeters not using scpi commands, there is the need to write a custom driver built into the program?
I was trying to understand how create a config file for a protek 506 but i not fully understand if there is a "programmable parser" for non scpi devices.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #116 on: April 12, 2020, 04:45:50 am »
Sorry for the question, but for multimeters not using scpi commands, there is the need to write a custom driver built into the program?

Correct.

I was trying to understand how create a config file for a protek 506 but i not fully understand if there is a "programmable parser" for non scpi devices.

These drivers are fairly specialized for each protocol, the only chance is if the meter uses the same protocol as some meter I have already implemented and there is only a few (See Devices/SimpleDMM.txt). If I get USBHID to work there will be a couple more.
 

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 478
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #117 on: April 12, 2020, 09:36:16 am »
I've checked some meters on the SimpleDMM file and to me seem that no one is compatible.
I've tought that as the scheme is almost always the same (query/answer, plus some commands specific like Fluke ID) there was the ability to have a "programmable parser" (define fileds, fields positions, eventual math for have the result, measuring units, etc) so that every one can write it's own driver without bothering you. This obviously for 232 devices. Hid devices are totally a different beast.
In any case i attach the photo of the protocol. I've double checked it on actual device.
1200bps 7data bit, 2 stop bit, no parity.
The meter answer the request by a simple chr 13.
The device is a Protek 506
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #118 on: April 12, 2020, 09:48:31 am »
I've checked some meters on the SimpleDMM file and to me seem that no one is compatible.
I've tought that as the scheme is almost always the same (query/answer, plus some commands specific like Fluke ID) there was the ability to have a "programmable parser" (define fileds, fields positions, eventual math for have the result, measuring units, etc) so that every one can write it's own driver without bothering you. This obviously for 232 devices. Hid devices are totally a different beast.
In any case i attach the photo of the protocol. I've double checked it on actual device.
1200bps 7data bit, 2 stop bit, no parity.
The meter answer the request by a simple chr 13.
The device is a Protek 506

It would not be hard to make a parameter controlled protocol for that type of message (A version of the SCPI code that did not use/require the *IDN? would probably do it), but many meters uses a much worse format. They send the display in binary format, i.e. exactly what segments are turned on in the display, this include the numbers that are send as segments in a 7-segment display.

 
The following users thanked this post: masterx81

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 478
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #119 on: April 12, 2020, 10:00:21 am »
Whaaaat  :palm: that's a very strage method of sending data. Maybe for save some processing power of the cpu to not generate the ascii character.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #120 on: April 12, 2020, 10:09:05 am »
Whaaaat  :palm: that's a very strage method of sending data. Maybe for save some processing power of the cpu to not generate the ascii character.

It is typically meters without a dedicated processor, but with nearly everything in a DMM chip. It is a very cheap way to add a communication option to a DMM chip, no requirement for any extra processing, just a long shift register.
 

Offline masterx81

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 478
  • Country: it
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #121 on: April 12, 2020, 10:38:00 am »
Those obviously require a dedicated driver. Like the hid ones...
 

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #122 on: April 12, 2020, 04:30:39 pm »
Is it possible to have a (maybe additional) popup window for the "Commands", to put it on a second monitor while watching the "Chart" or "Histogram" on the first one?

Respectively, when having only one monitor, it is probably better to clone the "Commands" at the bottom of "Chart" and "Histogram", so that it is easier to observe the measurement without switching tabs, or even more minimalistically only an additional "Log"-Button would be very nice within the "Chart" and "Histogram" tabs, perhaps somewhere at the bottom behind the "Save" button?!  ;)
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #123 on: April 12, 2020, 07:44:14 pm »
Those obviously require a dedicated driver. Like the hid ones...

I hope USB/HID will just be an extra communication protocol and not something that really affect the driver or decoding.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2892
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #124 on: April 12, 2020, 07:47:05 pm »
Is it possible to have a (maybe additional) popup window for the "Commands", to put it on a second monitor while watching the "Chart" or "Histogram" on the first one?

Respectively, when having only one monitor, it is probably better to clone the "Commands" at the bottom of "Chart" and "Histogram", so that it is easier to observe the measurement without switching tabs, or even more minimalistically only an additional "Log"-Button would be very nice within the "Chart" and "Histogram" tabs, perhaps somewhere at the bottom behind the "Save" button?!  ;)

I am not sure why you would want that.
If you just want to see the actual measurement, the readout function I added in the last version works fine for that. I can also be used if you are a meter or two from the computer (It can show some fairly large fonts).

 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf