Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 62148 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dirkwim07

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1225 on: October 24, 2020, 12:33:38 pm »
Ive got this cheap load tester from aliexpress, named DL24P. Would this program be able to get the readings from this device? It uses a CH340/341 chip . So probably it's a no go , but maybe someone know a way to get the log into a excel file :)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2020, 12:43:21 pm by dirkwim07 »
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1226 on: October 24, 2020, 01:26:17 pm »
Ive got this cheap load tester from aliexpress, named DL24P. Would this program be able to get the readings from this device? It uses a CH340/341 chip . So probably it's a no go , but maybe someone know a way to get the log into a excel file :)

CH340 is a standard serial port, you just have to find a driver.
Next issue is the protocol, if somebody can find a description of it, it is very likely TC can handle the DL24P.
 

Offline gby

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 170
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1227 on: October 24, 2020, 01:30:05 pm »
CH340/341 chips are USB to serial interface chips.  That means if you plug the DL24P into your PC you should end up with a serial COM port added.  If you do get the serial port and you have documentation for commands, then it should be fairly easy to write a DL24P device file and get logged information from it into TestController.

Per listings for DL24P it has Bluetooth.  If your PC has Bluetooth you can connect with that and there should be a serial COM port added.  TestController could talk over that link.

The difficult part is to find documentation for the communications commands.  In my short look neither Banggood nor a couple of ebay listings gave the documentation.  I did see one Aliexpress  listing that gave:
   http://www.mediafire.com/folder/m09i9bjv8703d/DL24-DL24P
to download the documentation.  You can try that.

Good luck and if you need help ask questions when you get stuck.
 

Offline Tjuurko

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1228 on: October 24, 2020, 02:48:00 pm »
Here is a description of the Atorch AC/DC/USB device protocol.
https://github.com/NiceLabs/atorch-console/blob/master/docs/protocol-design.md
« Last Edit: October 24, 2020, 02:50:56 pm by Tjuurko »
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1229 on: October 24, 2020, 03:43:54 pm »
Look like something I will have to implement.
Can somebody capture a hexdump from the serial port (Use a program like termite)
 

Offline dirkwim07

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1230 on: October 25, 2020, 02:38:16 pm »
I've installed Termite but don't know if Im doing it right to obtain the hexdata. I see stuff like this refreshing every second:

35: ÿU[01][02][00][00][0C][00][00][00][00][00][15][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][12][00][00][19]
<[00][00][00][00]ÜÿU[01][02][00][00][0C][00][00][00][00][00][15][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][12][00][00][19]
<[00]
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1231 on: October 25, 2020, 03:02:25 pm »
I've installed Termite but don't know if Im doing it right to obtain the hexdata. I see stuff like this refreshing every second:

35: ÿU[01][02][00][00][0C][00][00][00][00][00][15][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][12][00][00][19]
<[00][00][00][00]ÜÿU[01][02][00][00][0C][00][00][00][00][00][15][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][12][00][00][19]
<[00]

You need to open Settings and check mark "Hex view" in the "Plug-ins" section.
 

Offline dirkwim07

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1232 on: October 25, 2020, 07:27:09 pm »
I've installed Termite but don't know if Im doing it right to obtain the hexdata. I see stuff like this refreshing every second:

35: ÿU[01][02][00][00][0C][00][00][00][00][00][15][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][12][00][00][19]
<[00][00][00][00]ÜÿU[01][02][00][00][0C][00][00][00][00][00][15][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][00][12][00][00][19]
<[00]

You need to open Settings and check mark "Hex view" in the "Plug-ins" section.

The output  I see is:

ff 55 01 02 00 00 0c 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  ÿU..............
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 15 00 00 00 28 3c 00  .............(<.
00 00 00 cc                                      ...Ì           

It's repeating the above message. I think I Need to figure out how I can get an unique message for different parts of data.

Edit: I found an article where someone else analysed the hex output of this device https://auto-scripting.com/2020/05/03/atorch-dl24-hack-1/
below in the article he posts some hex codes. Is this some data what is usefull?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2020, 07:51:36 pm by dirkwim07 »
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1233 on: October 25, 2020, 10:05:19 pm »
The output  I see is:

ff 55 01 02 00 00 0c 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  ÿU..............
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 15 00 00 00 28 3c 00  .............(<.
00 00 00 cc                                      ...Ì           

It's repeating the above message. I think I Need to figure out how I can get an unique message for different parts of data.

Edit: I found an article where someone else analysed the hex output of this device https://auto-scripting.com/2020/05/03/atorch-dl24-hack-1/
below in the article he posts some hex codes. Is this some data what is usefull?

That looks fine and if the link posted by Thuurko is correct (I believe it is), it will not be hard to implement.
It will get started on it tomorrow.

One question: What baudrate are you using (See Setting menu)?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2020, 10:18:34 pm by HKJ »
 

Offline Tjuurko

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1234 on: October 26, 2020, 04:12:05 am »
This is an example of data from Atorch AC power meters (AT3010 and AT24).
Data (FF 55 ...) goes in a continuous stream 1 time per second.
[attachurl=1]
 

Offline Bad_Driver

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1235 on: October 26, 2020, 11:14:19 am »
Hi Friends!

Luckily I found this software last Friday. It works from beginning with my HP34401A and my SDG2122 and I got also my SDS2504X+ connected but this needs further investigations.

So I tried to setup a config for my old but reliable Fluke 45, with a very simple config. The Fluke 45 is from the time before SCPI but the interface is well documented and the commands are comparable.

I got it  running but only with VDC - sometimes values are logged sometimes I found only the time stamp in the table. Switching between modes worked well.

After some tries to improve the config the device is now recognized but than a Java-Error shows up in the console window, not in the log (attached) and the process stops.
But the HP is still working.

#1 How can the content of the console be saved? I did it in this case with a screenshot.
#2 Has someone an idea what my mistake can be? Or has someone a running config for the Fluke 45?
#3 Has someone worked on a config for an HP53131A counter?

Thanks for any help!
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1236 on: October 26, 2020, 11:26:43 am »
Luckily I found this software last Friday. It works from beginning with my HP34401A and my SDG2122 and I got also my SDS2504X+ connected but this needs further investigations.

To start a new SCPI definition right click in the combobox on the "Load devices" page and select "Create new SCPI definition", this will make a skeleton definition for the device.


So I tried to setup a config for my old but reliable Fluke 45, with a very simple config. The Fluke 45 is from the time before SCPI but the interface is well documented and the commands are comparable.

If not running a clean SCPI protocol you may want to use SCPIx or Ascii device driver (HP3478A is defined with Ascii driver).


#1 How can the content of the console be saved? I did it in this case with a screenshot.

By using a > when starting the program, this is done by editing the .bat file and add it to the starting line:

java -jar TestController.jar debug %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9 >mylogfile.log



 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1237 on: October 26, 2020, 11:48:28 am »
Thanks for any help!

When testing/logging a device, only enabled one device at a time or the log get way to large and confusing.
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1238 on: October 26, 2020, 12:00:15 pm »
With ATorch

I have basically implemented all 3 categories AC, DC & USB
But I need to know if my scaling is correct, the problem is Ah & Wh, they do not match the examples on the post linked earlier, but I uses the divide factor specified. Please post hex dump in ascii format, I have programmed a Arduino where I can simply dump an hex ascii string into and it will transmit it each second. I.e. get soma Ah or Wh readout and post it together with a hex dump, then I can verify.

I need some baudrates, are they fixed at 9600 or something else or are they adjustable?

I ignore temperature, time and price values and I do see any purpose in them (They are decoded, but I do not fill them into any columns).

I also need some device names, just now I have:
ATorch DL24P -> DC
ATorch AT3010 -> AC
ATorch USB -> USB

I would like to have some more model numbers and what category (AC/DC/USB) they are in


 

Offline Bad_Driver

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1239 on: October 26, 2020, 12:49:02 pm »
Hi HKJ

thanks for coming back to me so fast!
I started with a skeleton config and I went through the whole topic here to understand and learn more. With the help of other config files I developed the simple Fluke45-config. (only for display1)
As mentioned above I had a working communication with the device, all functions and readings worked from the command line and I tried to improve the config file (also attached above).
The device popup worked as well. Then I run into this java error.

What about the java error message from my screenshot?
I tried several USB-RS232 adaptors and different USB ports but this error messages comes back at every new start of TestController.
Also without the HP DMM, this was only connected to show that TestController works with it.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1240 on: October 26, 2020, 01:08:30 pm »
What about the java error message from my screenshot?

It is due to #initialMode, it must list a valid mode name (The last parameter in the #value columns)
Mostly there is no reason to use #initialMode
 

Offline Bad_Driver

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1241 on: October 26, 2020, 04:39:10 pm »
Hi HKJ,

seems more to be a OS/HW problem. I switched to another Laptop and the JAVA error is gone. I'm now again with my first problem with the readings.
Sometimes VDC works sometimes not. But I will do further tests and come back with a working config (I'm very optimistic)

Thanks for your patience!

B.D.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2020, 04:40:44 pm by Bad_Driver »
 

Offline dirkwim07

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1242 on: October 26, 2020, 08:07:06 pm »
I have the dl24p, should I use the termite program to get the ascci info? But for some reason I don't see any changes in data when running a load/batterytest
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1243 on: October 26, 2020, 08:36:13 pm »
I have the dl24p, should I use the termite program to get the ascci info? But for some reason I don't see any changes in data when running a load/batterytest

Yes, using the hex option as I explained above.
There is supposed to be change in data, but it takes a bit time to accumulate some Ah and Wh.
 

Offline Bad_Driver

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1244 on: October 27, 2020, 02:01:27 pm »
After getting the Fluke45 connected and running I can see the measurements in the log window and also the by
TC calculated numbers but nothing is shown in the table/chart, only the time stamp. (log attached)

Can I get some advice what can be wrong here?
Thanks in advance!
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1245 on: October 27, 2020, 02:13:30 pm »
After getting the Fluke45 connected and running I can see the measurements in the log window and also the by
TC calculated numbers but nothing is shown in the table/chart, only the time stamp. (log attached)

Can I get some advice what can be wrong here?
Thanks in advance!

My guess would be that you do not have the modes and columns (#value) correctly defined.
Look in the "AgilentHP34401A.txt" file for a bench meter definition without a lot of extra stuff.
 

Offline Bad_Driver

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1246 on: October 27, 2020, 02:39:05 pm »
I used the HP34401A as template for my config. All works, mode switching from the popup and starting a measurement as you see in the attached log from my previous post.
Here my config, it is really simple and should be ok.

If the numbers are recognized by TC, how are they than transferred to the table/chart??
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1247 on: October 27, 2020, 02:58:33 pm »
If the numbers are recognized by TC, how are they than transferred to the table/chart??

They need to be matched to one or more columns, for multimeters it is one column. Without a column TC do not know what to do with the value.
TC uses #askmode to get the actual mode of the meter, then matches the returned string to the 5 parameter in the #value column. All columns that matches are included.
Try using func1? from the command line and see if you get the exact string used in the #value definitions back
If the value is in quotes you will have to add #askModeMathFormat unQuote(value);

You can always check the "Current values" page, it must show one row of the meter with the correct value type.


Looking in your log I see:
;; Fluke45: Tx <func1?>
;; Fluke45: Rx <=>>
;;VDC
;;=>

Here TC sees => as the mode and VDC & the second => is just extra stuff it ignores.

Can you disable the => prompt?
« Last Edit: October 27, 2020, 03:02:28 pm by HKJ »
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1248 on: October 27, 2020, 03:23:56 pm »
I downloaded the manual for the Fluke 45 and it do not look like you can disable the => prompt, this means it will not work with a SCPI driver.

The solution is to use the SCPIx driver and redefine all the commands:

#scpiCmd VDC txrx VDC
; Using the txrx will absorbe the answer without returning it

#scpiCmd func1? txrx2? func1?
:readmath: getElement(value,0,"[\\n]")
; Using rxrx2? will expect two answering lines, the :readmath: function will return the first of these lines.

You are not supposed to get any values in the log window, except if you type a command. TC is very depend on this works correctly or it will get confuse when multiple sources inside it send command to the same device.
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1518
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1249 on: October 27, 2020, 03:34:30 pm »
Another detail:

Use "VAL?" to read value, then the answer it not delayed to after the next measurement, but return immediately. This makes TC more responsive and works better when running multiple devices at the same time.

And do something like this for rate:
#cmdSetup radio Rate
:write: RATE
:read: RATE?
:string:
Slow S
Medium M
Fast F

You have to redefine rate for this to work.
 
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf